The Emergency Management Program

In an effort to minimize the impact of disasters and emergencies, Ontario passed the Emergency Management Act. This legislation requires the provincial government to establish detailed Emergency Management Programs. Further, Order-in-Council 1157/2009 assigns 13 ministries with special responsibilities for emergencies. The Ministry of the Attorney General (MAG) has been assigned the responsibility of responding to "any emergency related to the administration of justice including operation of the courts; and provision of legal services to government in any emergency".

The Ministry Emergency Management Program is composed of four primary components:

1.  Hazard Identification & Risk Assessment (HIRA)

The Ministry Emergency Management Program takes a comprehensive approach to identifying hazards and risks that are most likely to impact the Ministry.

In 2005, 22 workshops were delivered to over 200 MAG staff across the province to assist them in understanding and completing the HIRA. The HIRA forms the foundation of the Ministry's efforts to develop practical business continuity plans and improve Ministry and Government of Ontario emergency preparedness.

2.  Business Continuity Plan (BCP)

The Ministry Business Continuity Plan is an essential component of the Ministry Emergency Management Program and helps ensure that the Ministry is able to deliver critical services during an emergency and resume full operations quickly after an emergency.

Based on management's understanding of past occurrence and future likelihood of incidents, and based on the results of the HIRA Report, the Ministry developed its Business Continuity Plan to formally establish what services will be delivered during an emergency and how services will resume after an emergency. It lays out the Ministry priorities with respect to the use of Ministry resources and staff. This risk-based approach outlines the steps necessary to get the right people and resources effectively and efficiently directed towards responding to incidents that affect the administration of justice including the operation of the courts; and MAG's provision of legal services to government in any emergency.

Critical services in an emergency include:

  • Providing uninterrupted access to justice (bail, remand, search warrants, child protection matters, etc.);
  • Assisting vulnerable persons (Office of the Children's Lawyer, Public Guardian & Trustee, Victim Services);
  • Overseeing the 23 seconded Legal Services Branches; and
  • Acting as legal advisor to government.

3.  Ministry Emergency Response Plan (MERP)

Section 6 of Emergency Management Act and its associated Order-in-Council, O.C. 1157/2009 explicitly directs provincial ministers who have been assigned responsibilities for specific types of emergencies to formulate emergency plans governing the provision of necessary services during an emergency and the procedures under and the manner in which Crown employees and other persons will respond to an emergency.

The Ministry has developed its Ministry Emergency Response Plan (MERP) that describes the arrangements and measures that may be taken in any emergency related to the administration of justice including the operation of the courts; and provision of legal services to government in any emergency. The plan sets out the basic mechanisms, organizational structures, responsibilities, and procedures to guide the Attorney General and MAG staff in responding to emergencies in Ontario.

4.  Reviews, Training & Exercises

Reviews: The Ministry will conduct an annual review of the Ministry Emergency Management Program.

Training: The Ministry will conduct annual emergency management training for the Ministry Action Group.

Exercises: The Ministry Action Group will conduct an annual practice exercise for a simulated emergency incident in order to evaluate our emergency response plan and procedures.

For More Information

E-mail the Ministry of the Attorney General with any questions or comments about our Emergency Management Program.

If you would like to call or write a letter, see our Contact Us page.

Programme de gestion des situations d’urgence

Dans le but de minimiser l’impact des catastrophes et situations d’urgence, l’Ontario a adopté la Loi sur la gestion des situations d’urgence . En vertu de cette loi, le gouvernement provincial doit établir des programmes détaillés de gestion des situations d’urgences. De plus, le décret 1157/2009 attribue à 13 ministères des responsabilités spéciales en cas de situations d’urgence. Le Ministère du Procureur général (MPG) s’est vu attribuer la responsabilité d’intervenir dans « toute situation d’urgence relative à l’administration de justice, y compris le fonctionnement des tribunaux et la prestation de services juridiques au gouvernement dans toute situation d’urgence. »

Le Programme de gestion des situations d’urgence du ministère est composé de quatre éléments principaux :

1.  Identification du danger et évaluation des risques (IDER)

Le Programme de gestion des situations d’urgence du ministère adopte une approche globale pour identifier les dangers et les risques qui auront probablement le plus d’impact sur le ministère.

En 2005, 22 ateliers ont été donnés à plus de 200 membres du personnel du MPG dans la province pour les aider à comprendre et à compléter le processus IDER. L’IDER constitue la fondation des efforts du ministère pour élaborer des plans pratiques de continuité des opérations et améliorer la protection civile des ministères et du gouvernement de l’Ontario.

2.  Plan de continuité des opérations (PCO)

Le Plan de continuité des opérations du ministère est un élément essentiel du Programme de gestion des situations d’urgence du ministère. Il garantit que le ministère est en mesure de fournir les services critiques durant une situation d’urgence et de reprendre entièrement et rapidement les opérations après une situation d’urgence.

Compte tenu de la compréhension par la direction des événements passés et de la probabilité future d’incidents et en se fondant sur les résultats du rapport de l’IDER, le ministère a élaboré son Plan de continuité des opérations pour établir officiellement les services qui seront offerts durant une situation d’urgence et la manière dont les services reprendront après une situation d’urgence. Le plan établit les priorités du ministère en ce qui concerne l’utilisation des ressources et du personnel du ministère. Cette démarche axée sur le risque souligne les étapes nécessaires pour affecter les bonnes personnes et les bonnes ressources de manière efficace et efficiente en réponse aux incidents qui ont une incidence sur l’administration de la justice, notamment le fonctionnement des tribunaux et la prestation par le MPG de services juridiques au gouvernement dans toute situation d’urgence.

Les services critiques dans une situation d’urgence comprennent notamment les responsabilités suivantes :

  • Fournir un accès continu à la justice (mise en liberté sous caution, renvois, mandats de perquisition, protection de l’enfance, etc.).
  • Aider les personnes vulnérables (Bureau de l’avocat des enfants, Tuteur et curateur public, services aux victimes).
  • Surveiller les 23 directions de services juridiques détachés.
  • Agir comme conseiller juridique du gouvernement.

3.  Plan provincial d’intervention en cas d’urgence (PPIU)

L’article 6 de la Loi sur la gestion des situations d’urgence et le décret connexe, O.C. 1157/2009 ordonnent explicitement aux ministres provinciaux à qui des responsabilités ont été attribuées dans certaines situations d’urgence particulière de formuler des plans d’intervention en cas d’urgence régissant la prestation des services nécessaires durant une urgence et les procédures et la manière selon lesquelles les employés de la Couronne et d’autres personnes doivent intervenir dans une situation d’urgence.

Le ministère a élaboré son Plan ministériel d’intervention en cas d’urgence (PMIU) qui décrit les arrangements et mesures qui peuvent être pris dans toute situation d’urgence relative à l’administration de la justice, y compris le fonctionnement des tribunaux et la prestation de services juridiques au gouvernement dans toute situation d’urgence. Le plan établit les mécanismes de base, les structures organisationnelles, les responsabilités et les procédures pour guider le procureur général et le personnel du MPG à intervenir dans des situations d’urgence en Ontario.

4.  Examen, formation et exercices

Examens : Le ministère procédera à un examen annuel du Programme de gestion des situations d’urgence du ministère.

Formation : Le ministère tiendra une séance annuelle de formation à la gestion des situations d’urgence à l’intention du groupe d’action du ministère.

Exercices : Le groupe d’action du ministère tiendra chaque année un exercice pratique pour simuler un incident créant une situation d’urgence dans le but d’évaluer le plan et procédures d’intervention en cas d’urgence.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Envoyez par courrier électronique au ministère du Procureur général les questions ou commentaires sur le Programme de gestion des situations d’urgence.

Si vous désirez appeler ou écrire une lettre, veuillez consulter la page intitulée Contactez-nous.