Chapter 8 - Cost Of Civil Justice

8.1 - Cost Research

As discussed in our First Report [1] , the civil justice system costs money. There are both institutional and individual litigant costs of civil justice. Institutional costs include those necessary to keep the civil justice system operating: the cost of facilities; judicial and administrative personnel; the salaries, benefits and support networks necessary for them to perform their functions; and services, equipment and technology. There are also costs to litigants. As users of the civil justice system, litigants have to pay the direct costs relating to their litigation, including legal fees and disbursements, such as administrative and witness fees.

At present, there is insufficient data available on these costs and little analysis. This is true not only for Ontario but for most other jurisdictions. Without this information, it is difficult to assess what is a reasonable and acceptable "cost" of civil justice and whether the public and litigants are receiving the best value for their expenditure on civil justice. Moreover, it is important to have such information available to guide and inform future reform choices.

In our First Report, [2] we recommended:
[T]hat a research project be commissioned to examine and analyze the question of the "cost" of justice, both from an institutional or systemic perspective and from the perspective of individual litigants.

The Review feels strongly that this research be undertaken and wishes to reiterate its recommendation that such a project proceed. It had been proposed that this research project be undertaken by the Ontario Law Reform Commission. Prior to beginning the study, however, the Commission received news of its discontinuance. In light of these circumstances, we propose that the Ministry of the Attorney General be charged with the responsibility for setting up an appropriate Task Force or Working Group, with representation from the Judiciary, Bar, Ministry and Public to conduct this study.

RECOMMENDATION

We recommend that the Ministry of the Attorney General, in conjunction with the Judiciary, the Bar, and the Public, establish a Working Group to study the question of the "cost" of justice, both from an institutional perspective and from the perspective of individual litigants, with a view to completing a report within one year of the creation of the Working Group.

In making this recommendation, we would like to stress the importance of addressing the issue of the cost of lawyers' fees and, in particular, how those fees are arrived at. This was also discussed in our First Report. [3] Clearly, these costs can be a barrier to individual litigants in accessing the civil justice system. Many of our recommendations, both in our First Report, as well as this Supplemental and Final Report, will help to lessen the amount of legal fees borne by litigants through the earlier resolution of litigation and more streamlined procedures. Nonetheless, we continue to believe that the way legal fees are arrived at requires examination. The "billable hour", which currently appears to be the cornerstone of legal billing practises, is seen by many as resulting in legal fees that are unreasonably high. The Task Force suggests there are other alternatives, such as "results based" or overall value for services based billing, that should be considered by the legal profession. Accordingly, the Task Force makes the following recommendation.

RECOMMENDATION

We further recommend that the Working Group include in its study, in particular, the question of alternatives to the billable hour as a mechanism for establishing lawyers' fees, including the concept of "results based" or overall value for services based billing.

8.2 - CONTINGENCY FEES

Introduction

One of the sentiments we heard repeatedly, and which we reiterated throughout our First Report, is that civil justice costs too much money. For many members of the public it is unaffordable; unaffordability breeds inaccessibility. While we believe the implementation of our vision will reduce costs -- as both case management and alternative dispute resolution (ADR) have the potential to save parties money -- access to justice may still be a problem, particularly in the context of the current legal aid situation.

The public believes that the high costs of civil justice are due to a number of factors including the legal profession's billable hour approach to fees for service. During our consultations we heard both dismay and frustration expressed over the apparent lack of alternatives to this approach. One alternative billing practice frequently recommended to us was contingency fees.

In our First Report we described the results of a survey of the private bar which we commissioned in order to gain information on the costs to individual litigants. Based on the results of this survey, we concluded that lawyers' fees can be a barrier to access. This conclusion, coupled with the public's overall frustration, led us to determine that the profession needs to re-examine the way in which it charges its clients. In particular, we feel that consideration should be given to:

  • examining alternatives to the billable hour; and
  • whether contingency fees should be permitted.

With respect to the latter, we concluded in our First Report that "it is time to re-visit the concept of contingency fees as a possible means of improving access to justice". [4] We noted, however, that there are a number of issues which need to be addressed, including: [5]

  • whether contingency fees would increase access to civil justice;
  • whether they would result in an overall cost saving;
  • whether matrimonial and criminal matters should be excluded;
  • what safeguards need to be put in place for clients, with respect to the reasonableness of the fee; and
  • whether there should be limits on the percentage or recovery that may be agreed to as a fee.

In order to address these issues, as well as others with respect to legal fees, we recommended in our First Report that: [6]

[A] working group be established, in conjunction with the Law Society of Upper Canada, for the purpose of addressing the issues involving legal fees and making recommendations to the Civil Justice Review in that regard for the purposes of its Final Report.

This Working Group has not yet been established. However, we would urge that these general issues regarding legal fees be included in the research project on the larger issue of costs recommended earlier.

History of the Debate on Contingency Fees

The issue of contingency fees has been considered on numerous occasions with a general consensus in favour of them. In 1988, the Canadian Bar Association - Ontario released a report on contingency fees in which it concluded that, on balance, such an arrangement should be available in Ontario. [7] The Special Committee on Contingency Fees of the Law Society of Upper Canada also released a report in 1988 in which it recommended that contingency fees be approved in principle. [8] Convocation, which is the governing body of the Law Society and the legal profession, approved this recommendation. In 1992 the Special Committee released another report recommending a particular contingency fee scheme. [9]

In October, 1995, a Private Member's Bill was introduced in the Ontario Legislature which, if enacted, would permit contingency fee agreements for civil, non-family proceedings. [10]

Other Jurisdictions

At present, Ontario is the only provincial jurisdiction which does not allow contingency fees, although a form of contingency fee is available to representative parties in class actions. [11] The Canadian Bar Association of Ontario commented on this anomalous situation: [12]

[I]s there not some equality right that is being infringed in terms of access to justice for members of the public in Ontario. Simply living in Ontario denies a client the right to retain a lawyer on a contingent fee basis. The Ontario resident is, therefore, denied an available access to justice option that exists for residents of all other jurisdictions in Canada.

Context of the Debate

The arguments often articulated in favour of contingency fees are:

  • they will increase access to justice;
  • they will save clients money;
  • Ontarians should have the same right to enter into such arrangements as other Canadians; and
  • legal aid expenditures may decrease.

The arguments against contingency fees focus on the potential for abuse. They include the contentions:

  • that the lawyer will become an "interested" party with an attendant motivation to win at all costs;
  • that contingency fees may lead to undue influence and excessive fees;
  • that they will lead to less incentive to settle;
  • that damage awards will be unduly inflated; and
  • that there may be an increase in frivolous litigation.

Both sides of this debate have ardent supporters and it is difficult to decide conclusively which approach is the correct one. As stated in the C.B.A.O. Report: [13]

In approaching this subject the reader of this report should appreciate, as this committee has, that to a great extent 'the whole subject of contingent fee contracts approaches the theological'....
There is a lack of systematic studies and empirical data to support either side of the debate. Perhaps the majority concrete fact that this province has to deal with is that all of the other Provinces and Territories in Canada permit contingent fee contracts in varying forms and with varying controls. Their experiences would certainly seem to indicate that many of the fears and concerns that gave rise to the original prohibition of contingent fees in Canada are unrealistic in terms of modern Canadian society and the practice of law in that society.

Despite the concerns, the current opinion appears to be in favour of allowing contingency fees so long as there are safeguards in place to protect the public.

Necessary Safeguards

While we accept that, on balance, contingency fees have merit, we are aware of the potential for abuse and the need for adequate safeguards. A review of the legislative schemes in other provinces reveals that there are a number of options, including:

  • imposing a standard form contract;
  • granting a right of review for all contracts;
  • requiring all contingency fee agreements to be filed with the court;
  • stipulating the form the agreement must take -- for instance, that it be in writing and signed by the client and the lawyer; that it describe the contingency on which payment is to be made; and that there be notice to the client of their right of review;
  • prohibiting contingency fees in certain types of actions, such as criminal and matrimonial cases;
  • imposing a cap on the percentage allowed; and
  • having review mechanisms in place to ensure the reasonableness of the fee.

As illustrated in the chart included as Appendix 3 to our Report, provincial jurisdictions take differing approaches in this area. Based on our consideration of this information, the Review makes the following general recommendation.

RECOMMENDATION

We recommend that contingency fee agreements be permitted in Ontario in all matters except criminal and family proceedings. We further recommend that a standard form agreement be used, which includes notice to the client of their right to have the agreement reviewed by the Court.


Footnotes:
[1] First Report of the Civil Justice Review (Toronto: Ontario Civil Justice Review, March 1995), Chapter 11 [hereinafter "First Report"].
[2] Id., at p.131.
[3] Id., at pp. 145 - 149.
[4] Id., at p.148.
[5] Id.
[6] Id., at p.149.
[7] Canadian Bar Association - Ontario, Opening Doors or Stirring Up Strife - The Implementation of Contingent Fees in Ontario (March 15, 1988) [hereinafter "CBAO Report"].
[8] Law Society of Upper Canada, Report of the Special Committee on Contingency Fees (May 27, 1988).
[9] Law Society of Upper Canada, Report of the Special Committee on Contingency Fees (February 28, 1992).
[10] Bill 3, An Act to amend the Solicitors Act, 1st Sess., 36th Leg. Ont., 1995 (1st Reading October 2, 1995).
[11] See the Class Proceedings Act, S.O. 1992, c.6, s. 32.
[12] CBAO Report, supra, note 7, at pp. 33 - 34.
[13] Id., at pp. 11 - 12.

Table of Contents
Back to Top

CHAPITRE 8 - COÛT DE LA JUSTICE CIVILE

8.1 RECHERCHE SUR LE COÛT

Comme nous l'avions déclaré dans notre Premier rapport [1] , le système de justice civile coûte de l'argent. Il y a les coûts institutionnels, d'une part, et les coûts du justiciable individuel d'autre part. Les coûts institutionnels comprennent les frais nécessaires pour faire fonctionner le système de justice civile : les coûts relatifs aux installations, au personnel judiciaire et administratif, aux salaires, avantages et réseaux de soutien nécessaires pour que l'effectif remplisse ses fonctions, aux services, à l'équipement et la technologie. Il y a aussi les coûts pour les justiciables. En tant qu'usagers du système de justice civile, les justiciables doivent payer les coûts directs relatifs à leurs litiges, notamment les frais de justice et les débours, comme les frais administratifs et les indemnités de témoins.

Il existe à l'heure actuelle peu de données disponibles et d'analyses sur ces coûts. Cela est vrai non seulement pour l'Ontario mais pour la plupart des ressorts. Sans ces données, il est difficile d'évaluer le "coût" raisonnable et acceptable de la justice civile et de déterminer si le public et les justiciables reçoivent la meilleure valeur pour l'argent qu'ils dépensent sur la justice civile. De plus, il est important de disposer de telles données pour pouvoir orienter et décider des choix futurs en matière de réforme.

Dans notre Premier rapport [2] nous recommandions :
qu'un projet de recherche soit parrainé pour examiner et analyser la question du "coût" de la justice, tant d'un point de vue institutionnel que systémique, et dans la perspective des parties individuelles.

L'équipe de révision est profondément convaincue du bien-fondé de cette étude et réitère sa recommandation d'entreprendre un tel projet. Il semble que ce projet de recherche ait été à l'ordre du jour de la Commission de réforme du droit de l'Ontario. Malheureusement, toutefois, la Commission a reçu la nouvelle de sa dissolution avant de procéder à l'étude. Étant donné cette situation, nous proposons que le ministère du Procureur général assume la responsabilité de mettre sur pied un groupe de travail approprié composé de représentants de la magistrature, du barreau, du ministère et du public pour mener cette étude.

RECOMMANDATION

Nous recommandons que le ministère du Procureur général, en collaboration avec la magistrature, le barreau et le public, établisse un groupe de travail pour examiner la question du "coût" de la justice du point de vue institutionnel et individuel dans le but de préparer un rapport dans un an suivant la création du groupe de travail.

En faisant cette recommandation, nous aimerions insister sur l'importance d'examiner la question des honoraires d'avocats et, notamment, le mode de calcul de ces honoraires. Nous avions abordé ce point dans notre Premier rapport [3] . Il est évident que pour une partie individuelle, de tels frais peuvent constituer un obstacle à l'accès à la justice civile. Nombre des recommandations que nous avions faites dans notre Premier rapport ainsi que dans le présent Rapport complémentaire et final aideront à réduire l'impact du paiement des frais de justice par le biais du règlement anticipé du litige et la simplification des procédures. Néanmoins, nous continuons de croire qu'il faut examiner la méthode de calcul des honoraires d'avocats. La notion d'"heure facturable", qui semble être la pierre angulaire de la facturation par les avocats, se traduit, selon de nombreux justiciables, par des honoraires excessivement élevés. L'équipe de révision suggère que les membres de la profession juridique devraient songer à offrir des solutions de rechange comme la facturation selon les résultats obtenus ou à la valeur globale. Par conséquent, l'équipe de la révision fait la recommandation suivante :

RECOMMANDATION

Nous recommandons que le groupe de travail examine aussi dans son étude la question des solutions de rechange à l'heure facturable comme moyen de déterminer les honoraires des avocats, notamment le principe des honoraires fondés sur les résultats obtenus ou celui de la valeur globale.

8.2 HONORAIRES CONDITIONNELS

Introduction

L'une des préoccupations souvent exprimée, et que nous avons réitérée tout au long de notre Premier rapport, est que la justice civile est trop coûteuse. Pour de nombreux justiciables, l'accès à la justice civile est hors de portée; ce caractère inabordable engendre l'inaccessibilité. Tout en croyant que la mise en oeuvre de nos recommandations réduira les coûts -- puisque la gestion des causes et le règlement extrajudiciaire des différends (RED) peuvent économiser des frais aux parties -- l'accès à la justice risque de demeurer un problème, notamment dans le contexte de la situation actuelle de l'aide juridique.

Le public croit que le coût élevé de la justice civile est attribuable à un certain nombre de facteurs, notamment la méthode adoptée par les avocats de facturer leurs honoraires à l'heure. Durant nos consultations, les citoyens nous ont fait savoir leur consternation et leur frustration quant à l'absence apparente de solutions de rechange à cette approche. L'une des solutions de facturation qui nous a été souvent recommandée est celle des honoraires conditionnels.

Dans notre Premier rapport, nous avons indiqué les résultats d'une enquête que nous avons parrainée et menée auprès des avocats pour obtenir des renseignements sur le coût que les justiciables particuliers devront assumer. Compte tenu des résultats de cette enquête, nous avions conclu que les honoraires des avocats peuvent être un obstacle à l'accès. Cette conclusion, ainsi que la frustration générale du public, nous ont menés à déterminer que les membres de la profession doivent réexaminer la façon dont ils facturent leurs clients. Nous croyons qu'une attention particulière devrait être portée aux points suivants :

  • examen des solutions de rechange à l'heure facturable;
  • pertinence de l'imposition des droits conditionnels.

En ce qui concerne ce dernier point, nous avions conclu dans notre Premier rapport que "il est temps de revoir la notion d'honoraires conditionnels en tant que moyen éventuel d'améliorer l'accès à la justice" [4] . Nous avons noté, toutefois, qu'il existe un certain nombre de questions à traiter, notamment [5] :

  • si les honoraires conditionnels améliorent l'accès à la justice civile;
  • s'ils entraînent une réduction globale des coûts;
  • si les questions matrimoniales et pénales doivent être exclues de cette notion;
  • quelles sont les mesures de protection qu'il faut instaurer pour les clients, en ce qui concerne le caractère raisonnable des honoraires;
  • s'il doit exister des limites au pourcentage ou au recouvrement qui peut être convenu à titre d'honoraires.

Pour examiner ces questions et d'autres qui touchent les frais de justice, nous avions recommandé dans notre Premier rapport [6] :

la création d'un groupe de travail, en collaboration avec le Barreau du Haut-Canada, afin de régler la question des frais de justice et de faire des recommandations au barreau à cet égard dans son rapport final.

Ce groupe de travail n'a pas encore été créé. Toutefois, nous insistons pour que ces questions générales concernant les frais de justice soient incluses dans le projet de recherche sur la question plus large des coûts, recommandé plus tôt.

Historique du débat sur les honoraires conditionnels

La question des honoraires conditionnels a été examinée à maintes reprises avec un consensus général en leur faveur. En 1988, l'Association du Barreau canadien - Ontario a publié son rapport sur les honoraires conditionnels. Dans ce rapport, l'ABCO conclut que, tout compte fait, un tel arrangement devrait être offert aux clients en Ontario [7] . Le comité spécial des honoraires conditionnels du Barreau du Haut-Canada a publié un rapport en 1988 dans lequel il a recommandé que les honoraires conditionnels soient approuvés en principe [8] . Convocation, l'organisme régissant le barreau et la profession juridique, a approuvé cette recommandation. En 1992, le comité spécial a publié un autre rapport recommandant un programme particulier d'honoraires conditionnels. [9]

En octobre 1995, un projet de loi d'initiative parlementaire a été présenté à l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario. S'il est adopté, ce projet de loi permettrait l'application d'honoraires conditionnels aux poursuites civiles, autres que celles du droit de la famille [10] .

Autres ressorts

À l'heure actuelle, l'Ontario est la seule province qui ne permet pas l'imposition d'honoraires conditionnels bien qu'une forme d'honoraires conditionnels soit offerte aux parties dans un recours collectif [11] . L'Association du Barreau canadien - Ontario a fait des commentaires sur cette situation anormale [12] :

[TRADUCTION]
N'y a-t-il pas un certain droit d'égalité qui est enfreint en termes d'accès à la justice pour le public en Ontario? Le simple fait de vivre en Ontario retire au client le droit de retenir les services d'un avocat en appliquant des honoraires conditionnels. Une personne résidant en Ontario se voit ainsi refuser une option d'accès à la justice qui est disponible pour les résidents de toutes les autres juridictions territoriales du Canada.

Contexte du débat

Les arguments souvent donnés en faveur des honoraires conditionnels sont :

  • accès amélioré à la justice;
  • réduction des coûts pour les justiciables;
  • droit des Ontariens à conclure des ententes offertes aux autres Canadiens;
  • baisse possible des dépenses de l'aide juridique.

Les arguments donnés contre les honoraires conditionnels concernent notamment la possibilité d'abus. Mentionnons entre autres les points suivants :

  • l'avocat deviendra une partie "intéressée" qui le motivera à gagner la cause à n'importe quel prix;
  • l'autorisation des honoraires conditionnels pourrait entraîner une influence et des frais excessifs;
  • la motivation sera moindre pour régler l'affaire à l'amiable;
  • la hausse éventuelle des dommages-intérêts;
  • la hausse possible des affaires frivoles.

Les deux protagonistes dans le débat sur les mérites des honoraires conditionnels ont leurs ardents défenseurs et il est difficile de décider de manière définitive qui a raison. Comme il est indiqué dans le rapport de l'ABCO [13] :

[TRADUCTION]
En abordant ce sujet, le lecteur du présent rapport doit comprendre, tout comme le comité, que la question des contrats d'honoraires conditionnels se rapproche, dans une large mesure, du débat théologique...
Il y a un manque d'études systématiques et de données empiriques à l'appui de l'un ou l'autre des protagonistes du débat. Peut-être que le fait concret le plus important auquel cette province doit faire face est que toutes les autres provinces et tous les territoires du Canada permettent la conclusion de contrats d'honoraires conditionnels sous diverses formes et à des degrés de contrôle différents. Les expériences semblent certainement indiquer qu'un grand nombre des craintes et préoccupations qui ont donné naissance à l'interdiction initiale des honoraires conditionnels au Canada sont irréalistes en fonction de la société moderne canadienne et de la pratique du droit dans cette société.

Malgré les préoccupations, l'opinion courante semble être en faveur d'autoriser les honoraires conditionnels dans la mesure où il existe des mesures de protection pour protéger le public.

Mesures de protection nécessaires

Bien que nous acceptions que, tout compte fait, les honoraires conditionnels ont du mérite, nous sommes conscients du potentiel d'abus et du besoin de mesures de protection adéquates. Un examen des programmes législatifs dans d'autres provinces révèle qu'il n'y a pas une seule manière correcte de contrôle régulateur pour protéger le public. En fait, plusieurs options sont disponibles, notamment :

  • imposer l'utilisation d'un contrat type;
  • accorder un droit d'examen sur tous les contrats;
  • exiger que des arrangements relatifs aux honoraires conditionnels soient déposés au tribunal;
  • stipuler la forme que l'entente doit prendre, par exemple : qu'elle soit faite par écrit et signée par le client et l'avocat; qu'elle décrive les conditions à satisfaire pour que le paiement soit versé; qu'il y ait un avis au client l'informant de son droit d'examen;
  • interdire les honoraires conditionnels dans certaines catégories d'actions, comme les causes criminelles et matrimoniales;
  • imposer un plafond sur le pourcentage permis;
  • mettre en place des mécanismes de révision pour assurer le caractère raisonnable des honoraires.

Comme on peut le voir à l'annexe 3, d'autres provinces prennent des approches différentes à l'égard de cette question. Compte tenu de l'examen de ces renseignements, l'équipe de révision fait la recommandation générale suivante :

RECOMMANDATION

Nous recommandons l'autorisation des honoraires conditionnels en Ontario dans toutes les causes sauf les instances criminelles et familiales. Nous recommandons aussi l'utilisation d'un contrat type prévoyant l'envoi d'un avis au client pour l'informer de son droit de faire réviser l'entente par le tribunal.


[1] Premier rapport de la révision de la justice civile (Toronto: Révision de la justice civile de l'Ontario, mars, 1995) chapitre 11 [ci-après "Premire rapport"].
[2] Id., 138.
[3] Id., pages 150-154.
[4] Id., p. 153.
[5] Id.
[6] Id., p. 154.
[7] Association du Barreau canadien - Ontario, Opening Doors or Stirring Up Strife - The Implementation of Contengent Fees in Ontario (15 mars 1988) [ci-après "Rapport de l'ABCO"].
[8] Barreau du Haut-Canada, Rapport du comité spécial des honoraires conditionnels (27 mai 1988).
[9] Barreau du Haut-Canada, Rapport du comité spécial des honoraires conditionnels (28 février 1992).
[10] Projet de loi 3, Loi modifiant la Lor sur les procureurs, 1 re session, 36 e lég. Ont. 1995 (premièr lecture 2 octobre 1995).
[11] Voir Loi de 1992 sur les recours collectifs, L.O., c. 6, art. 32.
[12] Rapport de l'ABCO, supre, note 7, pages 33-34.
[13] Id., pages 11-12.