Chapter 7 - Family Law

Introduction

In our First Report, we proposed a "resolution focused process" for family law to address the many concerns we heard during the consultation stage of the Review with respect to family law proceedings. [1] Key components of the proposed new process include:

  • early education in schools, combined with community-based information services, designed to inform members of the public about their rights and responsibilities in relationships and their responsibilities towards their children, and to provide resource information about the types of circumstances in which relationships break down;
  • an information video respecting family law matters, prepared for distribution through community resource centres, shelters, legal aid clinics, the courts and law offices; and mandatory viewing (except in emergencies) of that video by parties contemplating family law litigation prior to the institution of any court proceedings;
  • alternative dispute resolution (ADR) techniques, to be considered before the commencement of a family law proceeding;
  • an early evaluation session involving the early intervention of judges, preferably before the return of a first motion;
  • a streamlined process and case management regime for all family law matters in all courts;
  • local and regional family law committees, to be established, with representatives from the Public, the Judiciary, Courts Administration and the Bar, to enhance communication, knowledge, and the quality of the process in family law matters; and a parallel provincial committee to assist in providing a communication and co-ordination function across the province;
  • legal education programs for lawyers who provide family law services, to be developed by the Legal Aid Plan in co-operation with the Law Society of Upper Canada and other professional organizations, with a view to requiring participation in such programs, or some other such form of accreditation, as a condition of the issuance of legal aid certificates in such matters; and,
  • a low-cost administrative option for the disposition of uncontested divorces (excluding issues respecting children) free of judicial involvement.

The Family Law Working Group

As noted in Chapter 4, dealing with matters of implementation, a Family Law Working Group has been constituted since the release of the First Report for the purpose of developing and implementing the Review's proposed "resolution focused" family law process. The Working Group is chaired by Regional Senior Justice B.T. Granger, and assisted by Ms. Debra Paulseth, the Ministry's Regional Director for Toronto Region. [2]

The composition of the Working Group is widely diverse and representative on a province-wide basis. There are 15 members. Two are General Division Justices; one is a Family Division Justice; two are Provincial Division Judges; six are members of the Bar (three from outside of Toronto); one is a Public representative; another a law professor; and three are Ministry representatives.

At its first meeting in early Fall 1995, the Working Group divided its tasks by subcommittee, formed for the purposes of:

  • establishing regional and local family law committees;
  • creating an information services plan;
  • developing a simpler process for uncontested divorces;
  • proposing one set of family case management rules for the province;
  • developing proposals for improving the curricula for schools and the Bar Admission Course, and to set standards for obtaining Legal Aid certificates; and
  • developing specific suggestions to save litigants costs and to recommend ways in which the use of "costs" as a deterrent to frivolous steps might be introduced.

The full group has met on three occasions altogether, on each occasion for two days, and at least one further meeting is planned. Significant progress has been made in developing suggestions for building upon the initial recommendations of the Civil Justice Review and putting into place various of the "key components" to the new resolution focused process, outlined above. A summary of the Working Group's proposals which the Civil Justice Review endorses is set out below.

a.   Case Management

In terms of a province-wide approach to case management timeframes in family matters, the Working Group supports the adoption for family law cases of the timetable recommended by the Civil Case Management Working Group for standard track civil cases, [3] subject to the statutory exceptions set out in the Children's Law Reform Act [4] and the Child and Family Services Act. [5] It is unanimously of the view that no local or regional timetables should be prescribed.

Further, the Working Group agrees with the Review's earlier recommendation [6] that a mandatory case conference in family matters take place before interim relief is sought, subject to emergency applications, and that individual timelines be established at such conference by the case management judge. The first case conference would feature:

  • compulsory attendance of the parties;
  • completion of memoranda of agreements and identification of outstanding issues;
  • establishment of individual timelines where appropriate;
  • scheduling of all future events; and
  • consideration of referral to ADR.

While the Group is unanimous that the expansion of case management is dependent on adequate systems' support and competent trained staff, no unanimity has been reached regarding the potential role of Case Management Masters in family law proceedings.

b.   Family Law Committees

The Working Group has pursued the Review's recommendation that local and regional family law committees be established. Through correspondence with the Regional Senior Justices and Judges and the County and District Law Presidents' Association, a comprehensive database of all existing Family Law Committees has been created by the Working Group. The Group has also encouraged the creation of these committees for each local family court. Over the past year, in Metro Toronto, three Family Bench and Bar Committees were created, in addition to the two existing committees. On June 20th 1996, the first regional meeting of all five committees was held.

To assist with ongoing communications between the different family committees, the Working Group recommends that a Web Site for Family Law Committees be established.

c.   Streamlined Processes

As it would appear there are constitutional impediments to granting uncontested divorces using a purely administrative mechanism, the Working Group is considering other options for streamlining this process and making it more accessible and less costly. The Working Group believes that the total court fees in relation to an uncontested divorce are excessive and has noted the discrepancy in the fee structure between the General Division and the Family Court. It suggests that the current tariffs be amended to eliminate the fee for "setting down" uncontested divorces and that, to ensure consistency, the tariff for both courts be set at $150.

The development of standard, simplified court documents, including a standard form of affidavit, recommended in the First Report [7] , was deferred by the Working Group in light of the work undertaken in this regard by the Family Rules Committee. The Rules Committee is in the process of finalizing a set of uniform family rules which will be released this Fall.

d.   Information Services

North American research considered by the Working Group supports the Review's recommendation that the viewing of an information video dealing with family law matters be a mandatory pre-condition to entering the family law court process, with an exception for emergency applications. An approved outline for the video has been prepared. The Working Group has recommended that the viewing of the video be accompanied by verbal presentations from both legal and mental health professionals.

An index of family law information pamphlets and other relevant materials has also been prepared, together with the names of suppliers and corresponding cost, which has been forwarded to all Family Law Committees in the province.

e.   Expansion of the Family Court

The Unified Family Court in Ontario was expanded in the Spring of 1995 from one to five courts. This branch of the General Division is now located in Hamilton, London, Barrie, Kingston and Napanee, as previously noted. The Family Law Group urges the continued expansion of the Unified Family Court across the Province.

f.   Mediation

The primary focus of the Working Group has been on early intervention in family law cases through mandatory information services. The Group has not reached a consensus regarding the concept of mandatory referral to mediation in the family law area, although it has agreed that mediation services currently provided in the expanded Family Courts should be generally available.

The Civil Justice Review supports the availability of mediation and other forms of alternate dispute resolution for family law matters. In this regard, it is important to note the extent to which ADR is currently used in family law disputes and the fact that many of these techniques were pioneered in this area. The issue of ADR and Family Law is discussed in greater detail in Chapter 5.2 of this Supplemental and Final Report.

g.   Legal Aid

Legal Aid for family law matters has changed dramatically since the release of the First Report. Three years ago, 61,704 certificates were issued in relation to family law matters. Within the next year, this number is expected to drop to 15,000. Certificates will have capped hourly limits.

The Working Group intends to pursue issues related to the changing legal aid environment and to make recommendations with respect to unrepresented litigants. Preliminary suggestions include:

  • legal aid duty counsel in the General Division;
  • no court attendances unless it is absolutely necessary; and
  • increased use of telephone motions and conferences.

Clearly legal aid in family law matters is important and must be addressed. However, as discussed in our First Report, legal aid issues are being actively considered in a number of forums. [8] The Civil Justice Review does not wish to duplicate these efforts and feels that it cannot add productively to the debate at this time.

The Need for a Family Law Review

While the Family Law Working Group has made considerable progress, both in developing new ideas and in pursuing implementation of the Review's earlier recommendations, its deliberations have been bedeviled by the same difficulties which bedevil Family Law generally in the diverse and populace Province of Ontario -- overlapping federal/provincial jurisdiction, multiple levels of courts with jurisdiction in the area (and the existence of differing rules of procedure and practices within those courts) [9] , regional differences, urban/non-urban differences, deeply held convictions and the simple enormity and complexity of a subject that is voracious in its demands on the resources and energies of modern society. Matters of divorce, custody, support, child protection and care, family property, and the civil aspects of domestic disputes and violence -- octopus-like in the reach of their tentacles throughout society in general -- touch all of us in one fashion or another.

It is little wonder, then, that the Family Law Working Group has not been able to solve all of the difficulties relating to family law at this point in time and that it has been unable to reach a consensus in several difficult areas. These include such concerns as the ultimate shape of case management in family law cases; the application of ADR techniques and, in particular, whether mediation should be mandatory; the role of Case Management Masters as opposed to Judges in family law matters and whether, indeed, there should be such a role at all.

We have no doubt these problems can be sorted out in the long run, but the very process of dealing with them in the context of attempting to implement the recommendations of the Civil Justice Review has caused us to focus on something that has been flitting around the edges of our deliberations since the beginning of our mandate. Family law is a subject far too complex and controversial to be dealt completely and adequately within the context of a civil justice review itself. Just as "Family Law" is in a sense a world of its own, it requires -- and deserves -- a study of its own.

What is needed, in our view, is a "Family Justice Review" which endeavours to do for family law what the Civil Justice Review has been able to do for the balance of the civil justice system -- a "royal commission" on Family Law, if you will.

The area is vitally in need of reform. During our consultations around the province, the most frequent concerns raised related to family law issues.

As the Civil Justice Review, we have made a number of recommendations which we believe will improve the quality of family law services provided in Ontario. The Family Law Working Group has made considerable progress in certain areas in advancing the process further. We feel, however, that as a Task Force mandated to consider all aspects of the civil justice system, we have taken reform of the family law process as far as we can at this time. The complexity of the issues and the divergence of views impedes us from proceeding further in this field, without turning the Civil Justice Review into something which it was not intended to be. There is much more work that needs to be done, but it is work that cannot effectively be done without the benefit of further consultation and reflection, and a totally family-law focused mandate.

Accordingly, the Task Force makes the following recommendation:

RECOMMENDATION

We recommend that a Family Justice Review be undertaken to consider all family law issues, building upon the work of the Civil Justice Review and the Family Law Working Group, and involving consultation with representatives of all constituencies in this area including the family law Bench and Bar, representatives of the Ministry, and members of the Public who have participated in family law proceedings.


Footnotes:

[1] First Report of the Civil Justice Review (Toronto: Ontario Civil Justice Review, March 1995), at pp. 275 - 283 [hereinafter "First Report"].
[2] Ms. Paulseth was formerly Counsel to the Civil Justice Review during its First Report phase.
[3] See supra, Chapter 5.1.
[4] R.S.O. 1990, c.C.12.
[5] R.S.O. 1990, c.C.11.
[6] See First Report, supra, note 1, at p.277.
[7] Id.
[8] Id., at p.131.
[9] The Ontario Court of Justice (General Division) has general jurisdiction in family law matters, but procedures vary between the concentrated high volume practice in Toronto Region and elsewhere in the Province. The Ontario Court of Justice (Provincial Division) has statutory jurisdiction in some areas and concurrent jurisdiction with the General Division in other areas, with different fee structures and practices. The Unified Family Court has now been expanded to five centres across the Province -- Hamilton, London, Barrie, Kingston and Napanee -- without common procedures for each site.

Table of Contents
Back to Top

Chapitre 7 - Droit de la Famille

Introduction

Dans notre Premier rapport, nous proposions un "processus axé sur le règlement" des causes en droit de la famille pour examiner les nombreuses préoccupations que nous avions entendues durant la période de consultation de la révision en ce qui concerne les instances en droit de la famille. [1] Les éléments essentiels de la nouvelle procédure proposée comprennent les points suivants :

  • éducation précoce dans les écoles, combinée à des centres de services communautaires, dans le but d'informer les citoyens sur leurs droits et devoirs envers leur conjoint et leurs enfants et fournir de l'information sur les services disponibles en cas de séparation;
  • préparation et distribution d'une bande vidéo présentant de l'information sur les affaires en droit de la famille par l'entremise des centres de ressources communautaires, des refuges, des cliniques d'aide juridique, des tribunaux et des cabinets d'avocats; sauf en cas d'urgence, les parties qui envisagent de porter un litige devant les tribunaux sont tenues de visionner la bande vidéo avant le début de l'instance;
  • les techniques de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends (RED) doivent être examinées avant d'entreprendre des procédures judiciaires en droit de la famille;
  • une séance d'évaluation préliminaire avec intervention judiciaire anticipée devrait avoir lieu, de préférence avant la présentation de la première motion;
  • procédure simplifiée et gestion des causes pour toutes les causes en droit de la famille dans tous les tribunaux;
  • création de comités locaux ou régionaux de droit de la famille qui compteraient des représentants du public, de la magistrature, du personnel administratif et du barreau afin d'améliorer la communication, les connaissances et la qualité de la procédure dans les affaires relevant du droit de la famille; création en outre d'un comité provincial parallèle qui favoriserait et coordonnerait la communication entre toutes les régions de la province;
  • conception par le Régime d'aide juridique de programmes de formation juridique à l'intention des avocats qui oeuvrent dans le domaine du droit de la famille, en collaboration avec le Barreau du Haut-Canada et d'autres organismes professionnels, et que les avocats représentant des personnes qui désirent obtenir des services en droit de la famille ne puissent obtenir de certificats d'aide juridique que s'ils participent à ces programmes de formation ou obtiennent une autre forme d'accréditation;
  • mise en place de mesures administratives économiques qui ne fassent pas appel au système judiciaire pour le règlement des divorces non contestés (sauf dans le cas des questions qui concernent les enfants).

Le groupe de travail en droit de la famille

Comme nous l'avons indiqué au chapitre 4, un groupe de travail en droit de la famille a été établi depuis la publication du Premier rapport dans le but d'élaborer et de mettre en oeuvre le processus de droit de la famille "axé sur le règlement" proposé par l'équipe de révision. Le groupe de travail est présidé par le juge régional principal B.T. Granger, assisté par M me Debra Paulseth, directrice régionale du ministère pour la région de Toronto. [2]

La composition du groupe de travail est très diversifiée et représente toutes les régions de la province. Le groupe est composé de 15 membres : deux juges de la Division générale, un juge de la Division du droit de la famille, deux de la Division provinciale, six avocats (dont trois de l'extérieur de Toronto), un représentant du public, un professeur de droit et trois fonctionnaires du ministère.

Lors de sa première réunion au début de l'automne 1995, le groupe de travail a divisé ses tâches par sous-comité dont chacun a été créé dans le but :

  • d'établir des comités régionaux et locaux de droit de la famille;
  • de créer un plan de services d'information;
  • de mettre en place une procédure plus simple relativement aux divorces incontestés;
  • de proposer un ensemble de règles en matière de gestion des causes pour la province;
  • d'élaborer des propositions pour améliorer les programmes scolaires et le cours d'admission au barreau et établir des normes pour l'obtention de certificats d'aide juridique;
  • de mettre au point des suggestions spécifiques pour faire économiser des frais aux justiciables et recommander des méthodes d'imposition de "frais" comme moyen dissuasif pour contrer les étapes frivoles.

Le groupe s'est réuni à trois reprises, chaque fois pendant deux jours. Une réunion au moins est prévue pour cet automne. Des progrès importants ont été réalisés dans l'élaboration de suggestions visant à appuyer les recommandations initiales de l'équipe de révision de la justice civile et mettre en place les divers "éléments essentiels" du nouveau processus axé sur le règlement indiqué ci-dessus. On trouvera ci-après un résumé des propositions du groupe de travail qui ont reçu l'appui de l'équipe de révision.

a. Gestion des causes

En termes d'une approche provinciale aux délais de gestion des cause en droit de la famille, le groupe de travail approuve l'adoption du délai recommandé par le groupe de travail sur la gestion des causes civiles [3] , sous réserve des exceptions légales prévues dans la Loi portant réforme du droit de l'enfance [4] et la Loi sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille [5] . Il a été convenu à l'unanimité qu'aucun calendrier local ou régional ne devrait être prescrit.

Par ailleurs, le groupe de travail approuve la recommandation [6] antérieure de l'équipe de révision qu'une conférence préparatoire obligatoire en matière de droit de la famille ait lieu avant de chercher à obtenir des mesures de redressement provisoires, sous réserve des requêtes urgentes, et que des calendriers individuels soient établis lors de cette conférence par le juge chargé de la gestion des causes. La première conférence préparatoire se caractériserait par les éléments suivants :

  • participation obligatoire des parties;
  • achèvement des protocoles d'entente et identification des questions en litige non réglées;
  • établissement de calendriers individuels au besoin;
  • établissement du calendrier de tous les événements futurs;
  • examen de la possibilité de renvoi au RED.

Bien que le groupe soit unanime que l'expansion de la gestion des causes dépend du soutien adéquat des systèmes et d'un personnel compétent bien formé, il n'y avait pas d'unanimité entre les membres du groupe concernant le rôle potentiel des protonotaires chargés de la gestion des causes en droit de la famille.

b. Comités de droit de la famille

Le groupe de travail a poursuivi la recommandation de l'équipe de révision concernant la mise en place de comités locaux et régionaux de droit de la famille. Grâce à la correspondance avec les juges régionaux principaux, les juges et l'Association des présidents d'associations juridiques de comtés et de districts, une base de données exhaustive de tous les comités de droit de la famille existants a été mise en place. De plus, le groupe a également encouragé la création de ces comités pour chaque tribunal de la famille local. Au cours de la dernière année, dans la région métropolitaine de Toronto, trois comités de la magistrature et du barreau ont été créés en plus des deux comités existants. La première réunion régionale de tous ces comités a eu lieu le 20 juin 1996.

Pour favoriser les communications entre les différents comités de droit de la famille, le groupe de travail a recommandé l'établissement d'un site Web pour les comités de droit de la famille.

c. Processus simplifiés

Comme il semble que le fait d'accorder des divorces incontestés par le biais d'un mécanisme administratif pose des difficultés de nature constitutionnelle, le groupe de travail examine d'autres options pour simplifier ce processus et le rendre plus accessible et moins coûteux. Le groupe de travail croit que le total des frais de justice dans le cas d'un divorce incontesté est excessif et a noté la divergence dans la structure de frais entre la Division générale et la Cour de la famille. Le groupe suggère la modification du barème des frais actuel pour éliminer les frais de mise au rôle des divorces incontestés et, pour assurer l'uniformité, que le tarif total pour le traitement d'un divorce incontesté soit fixé à 150 $ dans les deux tribunaux.

Le groupe de travail a reporté l'élaboration de documents judiciaires uniformes et simplifiés, notamment une formule standard d'affidavit, que nous avions recommandée dans le Premier rapport [7] , compte tenu du travail entrepris à cet égard par le comité des règles de la famille. Le comité des règles est sur le point de finaliser un ensemble de règles uniformes en droit de la famille qui seront publiées cet automne.

d. Services d'information

Les recherches nord-américaines examinées par le groupe de travail appuient la recommandation de l'équipe de révision selon laquelle le visionnement d'un vidéo portant sur les causes en droit de la famille doit être une condition obligatoire, sous réserve des cas urgents, pour introduire une instance en droit de la famille. Un aperçu approuvé du vidéo a été préparé. Par ailleurs, le groupe de travail a recommandé que le visionnement du vidéo soit accompagné de présentations orales par des membres de la profession juridique et des membres professionnels de la santé mentale.

Un index des brochures d'information en droit de la famille et d'autres documents pertinents a aussi été préparé avec les noms des fournisseurs et le coût correspondant. L'index a été envoyé à tous les comités de droit de la famille dans la province.

e. Expansion de la Cour de la famille

La Cour unifiée de la famille en Ontario a été élargie au printemps 1995 et le nombre de ses tribunaux est passé de un à cinq. Ces tribunaux, qui relèvent de la Division générale, se trouvent actuellement à Hamilton, London, Barrie, Kingston et Napanee, comme nous l'avons déjà indiqué. Le groupe de travail en droit de la famille recommande fortement la poursuite de l'expansion de la Cour unifiée de la famille dans la province.

f. Médiation

Le groupe de travail s'est principalement préoccupé d'une intervention anticipée par le biais de services d'information obligatoires. Il n'y avait pas de consensus quant au concept de la médiation obligatoire en droit de la famille bien qu'il ait été convenu que des services de médiation devraient être disponibles de manière générale comme ils le sont actuellement à la Cour unifiée de la famille élargie.

L'équipe de révision de la justice civile appuie la disponibilité des services de médiation et d'autres formes de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends en droit de la famille. À cet égard, il est important de noter la mesure dans laquelle le RED est actuellement utilisé en matière de différends en droit de la famille et le fait qu'un grand nombre de ces techniques ont été utilisées pour la première fois dans ce domaine. Nous avons d'autres commentaires au sujet du concept de RED et du droit de la famille au chapitre 5.2 du présent Rapport complémentaire et final.

g. Aide juridique

La situation de l'aide juridique par rapport au droit de la famille a considérablement changé depuis la publication du Premier rapport. Il y a trois ans, 61 704 certificats avaient été émis relativement à des causes en droit de la famille. Au cours de la prochaine année, ce nombre devrait baisser à 15 000. Par ailleurs, on prévoit l'imposition d'un plafond quant au nombre d'heures d'aide juridique pouvant être fournies.

Le groupe de travail a l'intention de poursuivre les questions relatives au changement de la situation de l'aide juridique et de faire des recommandations sur la manière dont le système peut répondre aux besoins des justiciables non représentés. Voici certaines des suggestions préliminaires :

  • avocats de service de l'aide juridique à la Division générale;
  • pas de comparution en cour à moins que cela ne soit absolument nécessaire;
  • utilisation accrue des motions et conférences au moyen du téléphone.

Il est évident que la question de l'aide juridique en droit de la famille est importante et doit être examinée. Toutefois, comme nous l'avions indiqué dans notre Premier rapport, les questions de l'aide juridique sont activement examinées à l'heure actuelle dans le cadre de plusieurs forums. [8] L'équipe de révision de la justice civile ne désire pas faire des efforts en double et estime qu'elle ne peut apporter rien de productif au débat pour le moment.

Le besoin d'une révision du droit de la famille

Bien que le groupe de travail en droit de la famille ait accompli des progrès considérables, à la fois en élaborant de nouvelles idées et en poursuivant la mise en oeuvre des recommandations antérieures de l'équipe de révision, ses délibérations ont été proie aux mêmes difficultés qui se posent au droit de la famille en général dans une province à la population diversifiée : chevauchement des compétences provinciales/fédérales, multiples paliers de tribunaux ayant compétence dans le domaine (et l'existence de différentes règles et pratiques de procédure au sein de ces tribunaux) [9] , différences régionales, différences urbaines/non urbaines, convictions profondes et la simple énormité et complexité d'un sujet qui accapare les ressources et les énergies de la société moderne. Les questions de divorce, de garde d'enfants, de pensions alimentaires, de protection et de soins des enfants, de biens familiaux et les aspects civils des litiges familiaux et de la violence au foyer sont autant de problèmes qui nous tiennent par leur complexité tout au long de notre cheminement dans la société en général, et qui nous touchent tous d'une manière ou d'une autre.

Il ne faut pas alors s'étonner si le groupe de travail en droit de la famille n'a pas réussi à résoudre toutes les difficultés relatives au droit de la famille à ce moment-ci et qu'il n'ait pas été en mesure de parvenir à un consensus sur plusieurs points difficiles. Il s'agit notamment de questions portant sur la structure définitive de la gestion des causes en droit de la famille; l'application des techniques de RED et, plus particulièrement, le recours obligatoire à la médiation; le rôle des protonotaires chargés de la gestion des causes par rapport aux juges en droit de la famille et si, en effet, un tel rôle devrait exister.

Nous n'avons aucun doute que ces problèmes peuvent être réglés à long terme mais le fait même de les aborder dans le cadre d'une tentative de mise en oeuvre des recommandations de l'équipe de révision de la justice civile nous a portés à nous concentrer sur un point qui flottait autour de nos délibérations depuis le début de notre mandat. Le droit de la famille est un sujet beaucoup trop complexe et controversé pour qu'il puisse être examiné de façon exhaustive et adéquate dans le contexte de la révision de la justice civile elle-même. Tout comme le "droit de la famille" est d'une certaine façon un domaine à lui seul, il exige - et mérite - une étude à lui seul.

Ce qui est nécessaire, à notre avis, c'est une "révision du droit de la famille" qui ferait pour le droit de la famille ce que l'équipe de révision de la justice civile a réussi à faire pour les autres composantes du système de justice civile, une sorte de "commission royale" sur le droit de la famille si l'on veut.

Ce domaine du droit a un besoin crucial d'être réformé. Durant nos consultations dans la province, les préoccupations les plus fréquentes portaient sur des questions en droit de la famille.

Nous avons fait un certain nombre de recommandations qui, à notre avis, amélioreront la qualité des services en droit de la famille en Ontario. Le groupe de travail en droit de la famille a accompli des progrès considérables dans certains domaines pour faire progresser le processus. Toutefois, en tant que groupe de travail mandaté pour examiner tous les aspects du système de justice civile, nous croyons avoir porté la question de la réforme du droit de la famille aussi loin que nous le pouvons pour le moment. La complexité des questions et la divergence des points de vue nous empêchent d'avancer davantage dans ce domaine sans modifier le mandat de l'équipe de révision de la justice civile. Il reste encore du travail à faire, mais c'est un travail qui ne peut être bien accompli sans d'autres consultations et en l'absence d'un mandat totalement axé sur le droit de la famille.

Par conséquent, l'équipe de révision fait la recommandation suivante :

RECOMMANDATION

Nous recommandons qu'une révision du droit de la famille soit entreprise pour examiner toutes les questions en droit de la famille en s'appuyant sur les travaux de l'équipe de révision de la justice civile et du groupe de travail en droit de la famille. Cette révision tiendra des consultations avec les représentants de tous les intervenants dans ce domaine, notamment les juges et avocats en droit de la famille, des fonctionnaires du ministère et des membres du public qui ont participé à des instances en droit de la famille.


[1] Premier rapport de la révision de la justice civile (Toronto: Révision de la justice civile de l'Ontario, mars 1995) pages 286-295 [ci-après "Premier rapport"].
[2] M me Paulseth était conseillère juridique auprès de l'équipe de reévision de la justice civile durant la phase de rédaction du Premier rapport.
[3] Voir supra, chapitre 5.1.
[4] L.R.O. 1990, c. C. 12.
[5] L.R.O. 1990, c. C. 11.
[6] Voir Premier rapport, supra, note 1, p. 288.
[7] Id.
[8] Id., p. 135.
[9] La Cour de justice de l'Ontario (Division générale) a généralement compétence dans les causes en droit de la famille, mais les procédures varient entre la région à la charge de travail très élevée de Toronto et les autres régions de la province. La Cour de justice de l'Ontario (Division provinciale) a une compétence légale dans certaines régions et une compétence concurrente avec la Division généale dans d'autres domaines, avec différentes structures et pratiques de droits. La Cour unifiée de la famille a été maintenant élargie à cinq centres dans la province (Hamilton, London, Barrie, Kingston et Napanee) sans procédures communes pour chaque centre.