Chapter 6 - Specific Areas

6.5 - Discoveries

Introduction

One of the issues deferred to our Supplemental and Final Report was that of the discovery process. As discussed in the First Report, the stage of a lawsuit between the delivery of the pleadings and the pre-trial or settlement conference is commonly referred to as the "discovery phase" of litigation. During this phase, the parties have an opportunity to learn more about each other's case through the mandatory disclosure of relevant documents and the pre-trial examination under oath of parties adverse in interest. The primary goal of the discovery process is to ensure open and full disclosure in order to facilitate settlement efforts and to make the trial process more effective and fair.

While the oral examination part of the discovery process is considered by the Bar and others to be a critical component in the conduct of litigation, concerns have been raised that it has become too time-consuming and costly to continue without new controls. During the consultation phase of the Review, the length and cost of discoveries were concerns raised in every centre we visited. We heard many accounts of the growing length of oral examinations and serious doubts were expressed about their value relative to what was at issue in the litigation.

In the First Report, the Review noted that the cost of discovery to each litigant who participates in an average 3-day trial is approximately $7,000 in legal fees [1] . This calculation was based on a two day examination for discovery, including preparation time and documentary disclosure. It did not include, however, the costs associated with discovery-related motions that are often brought. While there is no reliable data on the percentage of such motions, we noted in our First Report that Toronto Masters estimate that 25% of all motions brought before them involve discovery issues [2] . As well, there are other costs involved -- for example, in responding to undertakings, reporting to clients, and purchasing and reviewing transcripts of discovery evidence.

We also noted in the First Report that a significant contributing factor to the growing length of examinations, and the corresponding increase in cost, is the current broad scope of pre-trial discovery. When the Rules of Practice were amended in 1985, a primary focus of the revisions was to broaden the scope of examinations for discovery by allowing a much wider range of questioning and cross-examination. In addition, as a result of the growth in technology, there has been a marked increase in information sources and available data which in turn has lead to a substantial increase in the material available for discovery purposes.

We have concluded that it is becoming increasingly difficult to cope economically with the present scope and form of discovery and, accordingly, made the following recommendation, namely [3] :

That consideration be given, by the Rules Working Group of the Implementation Team, to methods of improving the examination for discovery process in ways that will make it more economically effective while at the same time preserving its essential disclosure principles. Some areas to be considered in this exercise are:
  • The possible re-entrenchment of the scope of discovery to pre-1985 limits
  • Removal of the right to cross-examine at discovery
  • Time parameters for the conduct of oral examinations

We also invited comments, pending our final Report, on other possible measures for streamlining the discovery process.

The Need for Further Study

Since the release of the First Report, the General Division has initiated a four-year pilot project pursuant to which Simplified Rules will be applicable to claims under $25,000. The pilot project took effect on a province-wide basis on March 11, 1996. A key feature of the new simplified rules is the elimination of examinations for discovery for claims under $25,000.

Concerns about discovery are still relevant, however, to those cases that do not fall within the Simplified Rules initiative. While the proposed Working Group was not constituted, the Task Force did invite the Honourable S.G.M. Grange, a retired Justice of the Ontario Court of Appeal, to consider this issue, and he has provided the Review with his preliminary observations. For instance, he observed [4] :

The First Report expresses the widespread concern of the Bar and others that it [discovery] is now out of hand, that it adds unnecessary delay and cost to the process and thus hinders rather than helps the resolution of the dispute. The process takes time and effort to arrange, to conduct and to evaluate. Not only the time expended is costly but the process itself costs money. The disbursements and the motions relating to Discovery can add immeasurably to the costs of the litigation. It is very doubtful that the money is always or even generally well spent. Some way must be found to make Discovery worth that expense or at least to discourage the present trend to excessive use and unnecessary expense. In the Court of Appeal it was put in Ontario v. Stavro, 26 O.R.(3d) at p.48:
The discovery process must also be kept within reasonable bounds. Lengthy, some might say interminable, discoveries are far from rare in the present litigation environment. We are told that discovery of these defendants has already occupied some 18 days and is not yet complete. Unless production from and discovery of non-parties is subject to firm controls and recognized as the exception rather than the rule, the discovery process, like Topsy, will just grow and grow. The effective and efficient resolution of civil lawsuits is not served if the discovery process takes on dimensions more akin to a public inquiry than a specific lawsuit.

Among other things, Mr. Grange has suggested that a modified version of elective discoveries be considered, with a series of checks and balances to ensure fairness and the fullest of disclosure where necessary, but not necessarily the fullest of disclosure if unwarranted in the circumstances.

We have also received a number of other suggestions for addressing the problems associated with the discovery process. For example, it has been proposed that the scope and length of discovery should be controlled through the case management process, whereby a Case Management Master or Judge would set parameters around the oral discovery process at a case conference. We agree that the case management process is an important vehicle for streamlining the discovery process. Other proposals include having in place informal processes, such as teleconferencing, for dealing expeditiously with discovery-related issues.

The Canadian Bar Association's Systems of Civil Justice Task Force also acknowledged the problems with the current oral discovery process and recommended that Canadian jurisdictions consider specific reform measures directed at imposing limits on discovery. Examples of such reform measures include limiting discovery through strict timelines or limits on the number of examinations, mandatory discovery conferences between counsel and/or before a judge, and using sanctions to penalize duplicative or cumulative discovery [5] .

All of these suggestions are worthy of further consideration and point to the need for a more indepth study of this issue. There is a need to consider not only options for limiting the current discovery process, but more fundamentally to consider whether the rules governing this process should be amended, for example, to restrict the current scope of discovery. Accordingly, the Task Force makes the following recommendation.

RECOMMENDATION

We recommend that the Civil Rules Committee constitute a Working Group to consider and make recommendations concerning the current Rules of Civil Procedure governing the discovery process with the objectives of preserving its essential disclosure principles while improving its economic effectiveness.


Footnotes:

[1] First Report of the Civil Justice Review ( Toronto: Ontario Civil Justice Review, March 1995), at p.235.
[2] Id., at p.234.
[3] Id., at p.238.
[4] Report from the Honourable S.G.M. Grange to the Honourable Mr. Justice Robert A. Blair (July 16, 1996), at p.2.
[5] Systems of Civil Justice Task Force Report (The Canadian Bar Association, August 1996), at p. 43.

Table of Contents
Back to Top

Chapitre 6 - Domaines Particuliers

6.5 - Enquêtes Préalables

Introduction

L'une des questions que nous avions reportée à notre Rapport complémentaire et final était celle des enquêtes préalables. Comme nous l'avions déclaré dans notre Premier rapport, l'étape d'instruction qui se situe entre la remise des actes de procédure et la conférence préparatoire au procès ou la conférence de transaction est largement connue sous le nom de "phase de découverte des faits" du litige. Durant cette étape, chaque partie a l'occasion d'apprendre davantage sur les arguments de l'autre par le biais d'une divulgation obligatoire des documents pertinents et d'un interrogatoire préalable, sous la foi du serment, des parties ayant un intérêt opposé. Le but principal de l'enquête préalable est de garantir la divulgation sans restriction et complète pour faciliter les efforts de règlement et rendre la procédure qui régit le procès plus efficace et plus juste.

Bien que les avocats et d'autres considèrent l'étape de l'interrogatoire oral de l'enquête préalable comme essentielle dans la conduite du litige, certains s'inquiètent qu'elle prend trop de temps et d'argent et estiment qu'elle devrait faire l'objet d'un nouveau contrôle. Au cours de la phase de consultations menées par l'équipe de révision, la longueur et le coût des enquêtes préalables étaient des points de préoccupation soulevés dans chaque centre que nous avons visité. Nous avons entendu de nombreuses anecdotes sur la longueur croissante des interrogatoires oraux et de sérieuses réserves ont été exprimées quant à leur valeur par rapport à l'objet en litige.

Dans le Premier rapport, nous faisions remarquer que le coût d'une enquête préalable pour un plaideur qui est partie à un procès d'une durée moyenne de trois jours est d'environ 7 000 $ au seul titre des honoraires des avocats. [1] Le calcul était fondé sur un interrogatoire préalable de deux jours, y compris le temps de préparation et la communication des documents. Ce montant n'englobe pas toutefois les coûts des motions portant sur l'enquête préalable, qui sont souvent déposées. Malgré l'absence de données fiables sur le pourcentage de telles motions, nous notions dans le Premier rapport que les protonotaires de Toronto estiment que 25 % de toutes les motions dont ils sont saisis sont liées à une enquête préalable [2] . Par ailleurs, il ne faut pas oublier les frais dépensés pour répondre aux engagements, préparer les comptes rendus aux clients, payer et examiner les transcriptions des témoignages.

Nous notions aussi dans le Premier rapport que l'un des facteurs qui contribue à la durée de plus en plus longue des interrogatoires et au coût élevé correspondant est la portée élargie de la divulgation et des enquêtes préalables. Lorsque les Règles de pratique ont été modifiées en 1985, on a cherché d'abord et avant tout à élargir la portée de l'enquête préalable en permettant un éventail beaucoup plus large de questions et en poussant les limites du contre-interrogatoire. En outre, le développement des moyens techniques a entraîné une augmentation considérable des sources d'information et des données disponibles qui, à leur tour, ont engendré une hausse marquée du matériel disponible aux fins de l'enquête préalable.

Nous avions conclu qu'en raison de cette évolution et de la portée élargie des enquêtes préalables, il devenait de plus en plus difficile de faire face aux exigences de la situation sur le plan économique. Nous avions alors fait la recommandation suivante [3] :

Nous recommandons que le groupe de travail des règles, qui fait partie de l'équipe de mise en oeuvre, examine les méthodes visant à améliorer l'interrogatoire préalable de manière à ce qu'il soit plus rentable, tout en préservant les principes essentiels de la divulgation. Certains aspects méritent une attention particulière :
  • le retour à la situation qui existait avant 1985 quant à la portée de l'enquête préalable;
  • l'élimination du droit de contre-interroger lors de l'enquête préalable;
  • les délais à respecter pour la tenue des interrogatoires oraux.

Nous avions aussi invité les lecteurs à nous faire part de leurs commentaires, en attendant la publication de notre rapport final, sur d'autres mesures possibles pour simplifier l'interrogatoire préalable.

Besoin d'une étude plus approfondie

Depuis la publication du Premier rapport, la Division générale a lancé un projet pilote de quatre ans selon lequel les règles simplifiées s'appliqueront aux demandes de moins de 25 000 $. Le projet pilote a été appliqué à l'ensemble de la province le 11 mars 1996. Un aspect essentiel des nouvelles règles simplifiées est l'élimination des interrogatoires préalables pour les demandes inférieures à 25 000 $.

Les inquiétudes exprimées à l'égard des enquêtes préalables demeurent toutefois pertinentes pour les causes qui ne relèvent pas du cadre du projet des règles simplifiées. Bien que le groupe de travail proposé n'ait pas été constitué, l'équipe de révision a invité M. le juge S.G.M. Grange, ancien juge de la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario, maintenant à la retraite, à examiner cette question. Le juge Grange a communiqué à l'équipe de révision ses observations préliminaires. Voici certaines de ses remarques [4] :

[TRADUCTION]
Le Premier rapport exprime l'inquiétude généralisée des avocats et autres intéressés qu'elle [l'enquête préalable] échappe actuellement à tout contrôle, qu'elle ajoute des retards et des coûts inutiles à la procédure et, partant, entrave, au lieu d'aider, le règlement du litige. Du temps et des efforts sont nécessaires pour préparer, tenir et évaluer ce processus. Non seulement le temps consacré est coûteux mais la procédure elle-même coûte de l'argent. Les débours et les motions reliés aux enquêtes préalables peuvent ajouter considérablement au coût du litige. Il est très peu probable que l'argent soit toujours ou généralement bien dépensé. Il faut trouver un moyen pour que les enquêtes préalables valent l'argent ainsi dépensé ou du moins décourager la tendance actuelle au recours excessif et aux dépenses inutiles. Dans l'affaire Ontario v. Stavro, 26, O.R. (3d) p. 48, on lit ce qui suit :
[TRADUCTION]
L'enquête préalable doit aussi être gardée dans des limites raisonnables. Les longues - certains diront interminables - enquêtes préalables sont légion dans les tribunaux à l'heure actuelle. Nous sommes informés que 18 jours ont déjà été consacrés aux enquêtes préalables de ces défendeurs sans que celles-ci soient terminées. À moins que la présentation et les enquêtes préalables relatives aux personnes qui ne sont pas des parties au litige fassent l'objet d'un contrôle rigoureux et que cette façon de procéder soit l'exception et non la règle, les enquêtes préalables ne cesseront de se multiplier. La résolution efficace et efficiente des litiges civils n'est pas bien servie si l'enquête préalable prend une dimension qui convient plus à une enquête publique qu'à un simple procès.

M. Grange a notamment suggéré l'examen d'une version modifiée d'enquêtes préalables facultatives assorties d'une série de vérifications et d'ajustements pour garantir l'équité et le plus grand détail dans la divulgation, s'il y a lieu, mais pas nécessairement le plus grand détail dans la divulgation si les circonstances ne le justifient pas.

Par ailleurs, nous avons reçu un certain nombre de suggestions pour examiner les problèmes relatifs aux enquêtes préalables. Par exemple, il a été proposé que la portée et la longueur des enquêtes préalables devraient être contrôlées par le biais du mécanisme de gestion des causes selon lequel un juge ou un protonotaire chargé de la gestion des causes établirait des paramètres pour cerner le processus de l'interrogatoire oral dans le cadre d'une conférence préparatoire. Nous convenons que la gestion des causes est un moyen important de simplifier les enquêtes préalables. D'autres propositions prévoient la mise en place de mécanismes informels, comme les services de téléconférence, pour traiter plus rapidement les questions portant sur les enquêtes préalables.

Le Groupe de travail sur les systèmes de justice civile de l'Association du Barreau canadien a aussi reconnu les problèmes propres au mécanisme actuel d'enquêtes préalables et a recommandé que les ressorts au Canada envisagent l'adoption de mesures de réforme spécifiques visant à imposer des limites aux enquêtes préalables. Des exemples de telles mesures de réforme comprennent l'imposition de limites à l'enquête préalable en l'assortissant d'échéances strictes ou en restreignant le nombre d'interrogatoires préalables; la tenue obligatoire de conférences préalables entre les avocats, en présence d'un juge et le recours à des sanctions pour pénaliser la répétition ou l'accumulation des enquêtes préalables. [5]

Toutes ces suggestions valent la peine d'être examinées davantage et indiquent la nécessité de procéder à une étude plus approfondie de la question. Il existe un besoin d'examiner non seulement les options pour limiter les enquêtes préalables mais, point plus fondamental, de déterminer si les règles régissant ce processus devraient être modifiées, par exemple, pour limiter la portée actuelle des enquêtes préalables. Par conséquent, l'équipe de révision fait la recommandation suivante.

RECOMMANDATION

Nous recommandons que le comité des règles en matière civile établisse un groupe de travail pour examiner et faire des recommandations concernant les règles de procédure civile actuelles régissant les enquêtes préalables dans le dessein de conserver les principes essentiels de la divulgation tout en améliorant son efficacité économique.


[1] Premier Rapport de la Révision de la justice civile (Toronto; Révision de la justice civile de l'Ontario, mars 1995), p. 243.
[2] Id., p. 243.
[3] Id., p. 247.
[4] Rapport du juge S.G.M. Grange au juge Robert A. Blair (16 juillet 1996), p. 2.
[5] Rapport du Groupe de travail sur les systèms de justice civile (Association du Barreau canadien, août 1996) p. 49.