Chapter 5 - Management of Cases

5.3 - Venue

Introduction

In our First Report, [1] we noted that the demand for courtroom facilities and resources is inconsistent across the province. Certain court centres are faced with backlogs of civil cases when, within reasonably short distances, there exist facilities and resources which are being under-utilized. In order to address this issue, we recommended that the Rules of Civil Procedure be amended to provide Regional Senior Justices with the discretionary authority to order, on their own initiative or at the request of one or more of the parties, that a proceeding be transferred from one court centre to another within the same Region. [2]

We further recommended that this authority extend to the transfer of a proceeding between Regions with the concurrence of the Regional Senior Justices of each Region in question. [3]

The Review decided to defer any further recommendations with respect to venue until the report of the Joint Committee on the Distribution of Civil Cases in Ontario had been completed.

Background: History of Civil Venue and Former Rule 245

Prior to 1985, "situs" provisions required that proceedings take place in a specified locale and limited the plaintiff's freedom to choose where to initiate a lawsuit. These provisions were found in individual statutes and in the Rules of Procedure. Where statutes or the rules were silent on the issue of venue, Rule 245 [4] prescribed generally that the proceeding should be commenced in the county where the cause of action arose and where the parties resided, subject to specific provisions governing mortgage and matrimonial actions.

In the sweeping changes which were made to the rules with the promulgation of the new Rules of Civil Procedure in 1985, the situs requirements of former Rule 245 were removed, and other statutes were amended to delete such constraints. There may have been differing rationales for such a change. The general organization of the courts in the Province along county and district lines had been eroding for some time. There was a sense that parties should be free to choose where to start their proceedings, and there may have been a feeling that "market forces" would prevail in the end and that, for the majority of proceedings, individuals would launch their cases in their respective vicinities, following the maxim that justice is local.

Whatever the rationale, however, the change has not worked. Many major centres have excessively disproportionate caseloads and, not surprisingly therefore, excessively disproportionate backlogs.

Joint Committee on the Distribution of Civil Cases in Ontario

The Joint Committee on the Distribution of Civil Cases in Ontario was formed in January 1994 by agreement between the former Deputy Attorney General, George Thomson, and the late Chief Justice of the Ontario Court, the Honourable F.W. Callaghan. The Committee was comprised of representatives from the Ministry, the Bar and the Judiciary.

The Committee was asked to consider:

  1. whether the civil venue provisions in Ontario law were contributing to the backlog of civil cases; and
  2. better ways to apportion the civil caseload throughout the province to ensure a speedier and more efficient civil judicial process.

The Committee has prepared a draft Report [5] which the Task Force has had an opportunity to review. The Committee's preliminary findings and conclusions are generally consistent with our own. For instance, we are aware of no other jurisdiction which allows a plaintiff such complete freedom in initiating litigation anywhere in the province, and that freedom and the current civil venue provisions which permits it in Ontario have contributed significantly to the backlog at certain court locations. Moreover, all other common law jurisdictions, including other provinces, maintain some form of check on the location of filing and hearing of civil cases which allows for appropriate planning and allocation of resources.

Reform of the Current Venue Provisions

As discussed in our First Report, the subject of venue raises a number of important and difficult issues concerning the ability of litigants to determine where their proceedings should be dealt with, and about the allocation of judicial and court resources in the province generally. [6] Concerns have been expressed that parties and witnesses are being inconvenienced by the lack of venue rules, as many actions are being commenced in the province's major centres simply because the originating party's lawyer practices in the area. [7] It has been suggested that, with the return of venue rules, a more efficient use of the court system could be managed. [8]

It is estimated that upward of a third of cases in Toronto have no legal or factual connection with the Toronto Region. This makes it difficult to plan an efficient use of courts and staffing.

It is clear that Ontario stands alone among common law countries in allowing plaintiffs near carte blanche in determining the place an action will be commenced, often to the detriment of other parties to the action. This freedom is bolstered by the heavy onus placed on defendants who wish to challenge the plaintiff's choice of venue and an inability on the part of the court to unilaterally order a change in venue. [9]

The Task Force is of the view that situs provisions should be reintroduced either in specific legislation or in the Rules of Civil Procedure, in conjunction with a general venue provision which would apply where specific legislation or rules were not applicable. We believe that the administration of justice would be greatly enhanced and the public better served if venue rules were in place which required a connection between where the litigation arose, the parties' residence and the place of hearing. It is our view that reinstatement of comprehensive venue provisions will result in a fairer and more appropriate allocation of caseload across the province, provide for greater caseload predictability, and eliminate the practice of "forum shopping".

RECOMMENDATION

We recommend that situs provisions be reintroduced into Ontario law. These situs provisions should be of both general and specific application and apply to both actions and applications. There should be a venue provision of general application such as former Rule 245 for proceedings not subject to specific situs provisions.

Judicial Transfer of Civil Cases

While there has been general support for the Review's recommendation that the law of venue requires reform, some concerns have been expressed with respect to our recommendation that the judiciary be given the authority to transfer cases.

The Bar, for example, has expressed some apprehension concerning the potential cost implications for litigants who could be required to travel to a new centre, as well as the impact on the ability of lawyers to plan effectively for hearings and trials. Concerns were also raised that cases might be assigned a lower priority on the list at the new court centre.

Notwithstanding these concerns, the Task Force is of the view that judicial transfer of cases is an important tool in the efficient management of the civil justice system. We recommend, however, that guidelines should be in place to govern such transfers. For example, we would suggest that, in making an order transferring a case, Regional Senior Justices be required to take into consideration all relevant factors. Further, the Task Force recommends that transfers between regions should only be ordered in exceptional cases, and provided the Regional Senior Justice of the region to which it is proposed the case be transferred has consented.

RECOMMENDATION

We recommend that the Regional Senior Justices should be given the authority to transfer cases to a different location for hearing or for trial, subject to the following considerations:

  1. An order transferring a case to another location should not be made without notice to the parties and without an opportunity for them to be heard. In making an order for change of venue, the judge should take into consideration the following factors:
    • cost to the parties;
    • the parties' place of residence;
    • where the cause of action arose;
    • the availability of judges or trial dates at the proposed transfer location; the witnesses' place of residence;
    • the need for special facilities;
    • the distance to the proposed transfer location;
    • the length of the proposed trial or hearing; and
    • any other relevant factor.
  2. Transfers between regions should be ordered only in exceptional cases, and provided the Regional Senior Justice of the region to which it is proposed the case be transferred has consented.

Footnotes:

[1] First Report of the Civil Justice Review(Toronto: Ontario Civil Justice Review, March 1995) [hereinafter "First Report"].
[2] Id., at pp. 248 - 249.
[3] Id.
[4] Rules of Civil Procedure, O.Reg. 560/84.
[5] Draft Report of the Joint Committee on the Distribution of Civil Cases in Ontario(October, 1995) [hereinafter "Joint Committee Draft Report"].
[6] First Report, supra, note 1, at p.249.
[7] Submission to the Civil Justice Review: Canadian Bar Association - Ontario, Civil Litigation Section(December 19, 1995), at p. 4.
[8] Id., at p.5; see, also, Joint Committee Draft Report, supra, note 5, at pp. 5 - 6.
[9] Joint Committee Draft Report, supra, note 5, at p.3.

Table of Contents
Back to Top

Partie III - Chapitre 5: La Gestion des Causes

5.3 - Lieu D'Instruction

Introduction

Dans notre Premier rapport [1] , nous avons noté que la demande des installations et des ressources judiciaires à l'échelle de la province n'était pas la même. Certains centres judiciaires font face à un arriéré des causes civiles alors que d'autres installations, à une distance relativement courte, sont sous-utilisées. Pour tenter de régler ce problème, nous avions recommandé la modification des règles de procédure civile afin que les juges principaux régionaux aient le pouvoir discrétionnaire d'ordonner, de leur propre chef ou à la demande d'une partie ou plus, le transfert d'une instance d'un centre judiciaire à un autre dans la même région [2] .

Nous avions aussi recommandé que ce pouvoir vise le transfert d'une instance entre des régions, sur consentement du juge principal régional de chaque région concernée [3] .

L'équipe de révision a décidé de reporter toute autre recommandation en ce qui concerne le lieu d'instruction jusqu'à ce que le Comité mixte de distribution des causes civiles en Ontario ait terminé son rapport.

Contexte : historique du lieu d'instruction civile et l'ancienne règle 245

Avant 1985, les dispositions relatives au lieu d'instruction exigeaient que les poursuites se tiennent dans un lieu spécifié et limitaient la liberté du demandeur à choisir l'endroit d'où il pouvait engager des poursuites. Nous avons trouvé ces dispositions dans les lois et les règles de procédure. Là où les lois ou les règles ne prévoyaient rien sur la question du lieu d'instruction, la règle 245 [4] prescrivait généralement que les poursuites devaient être intentées dans le comté où la cause d'action est née et où les parties résidaient, sous réserve des dispositions spécifiques régissant les actions hypothécaires et matrimoniales.

La promulgation des règles de procédure civile en 1985 et les profonds changements aux règles qui ont suivi ont supprimé les exigences relatives au lieu d'instruction prévues par la règle 245; d'autres lois ont été modifiées pour annuler de telles restrictions. Plusieurs raisons ont peut-être justifié ce changement. L'organisation générale des tribunaux de la province entre tribunaux de comté et tribunaux de district perdait progressivement de son importance. On avait le sentiment que les parties devaient être libres de choisir le lieu où elles voulaient engager les procédures. On avait pensé, toutefois, que "les forces du marché" l'emporteraient et que, dans la majorité des procédures, les justiciables intenteraient leurs poursuites dans leurs régions respectives suivant le dicton la justice est locale.

Quelle que soit la raison, toutefois, ce changement ne s'est pas produit puisque les principaux centres urbains ont un volume de travail excessivement disproportionné et, partant, des arriérés excessivement disproportionnés.

Comité mixte de distribution des causes civiles en Ontario

Le Comité mixte de distribution des causes civiles en Ontario a été établi en janvier 1994 suite à une entente entre l'ancien sous-procureur général, M. George Thomson, et feu le juge en chef de la Cour de l'Ontario, F.W. Callaghan. Le comité était composé de représentants du ministère, du barreau et de la magistrature.

Le mandat du comité consistait à :

  1. déterminer si les dispositions relatives au lieu d'instruction dans les lois de l'Ontario contribuaient à l'arriéré des causes civiles; et
  2. trouver de meilleures façons de répartir la charge de travail à l'échelle de la province pour assurer un processus judiciaire plus rapide et plus efficace.

Le comité a préparé un rapport préliminaire [5] que le groupe de travail a eu l'occasion d'examiner. Dans l'ensemble, les conclusions et recommandations du comité sont conformes aux nôtres. Par exemple, nous ne connaissons aucune autre juridiction territoriale qui accorde au demandeur une si grande liberté pour engager des procédures n'importe où dans la province. La liberté et les dispositions actuelles régissant le lieu d'instruction en Ontario ont contribué dans une large mesure à l'arriéré dans certaines localités judiciaires. En outre, tous les ressorts de common law, notamment les autres provinces, gardent une certaine forme de vérification quant au lieu de dépôt et d'audition des causes civiles, ce qui permet la planification et la répartition adéquates des ressources.

Réforme des dispositions actuelles relatives au lieu d'instruction

Comme nous l'avions indiqué dans notre Premier rapport, le sujet du lieu d'instruction soulève un certain nombre de questions importantes et difficiles concernant la compétence des justiciables à déterminer le lieu d'instruction de leurs poursuites et l'affectation des ressources judiciaires dans la province en général [6] . Des objections ont été soulevées, à savoir que les parties et les témoins se trouvaient dans une situation peu commode en raison du manque de règles régissant le lieu d'instruction, de nombreuses actions étant introduites dans les principaux centres de la province pour la simple raison que l'avocat de l'initiateur y a établi son cabinet [7] . Il a été suggéré qu'avec la nouvelle application des règles portant sur le lieu d'instruction, il était possible de gérer l'appareil judiciaire de manière plus efficace [8] .

Plus du tiers des causes instruites à Toronto n'auraient pas de lien juridique ou factuel avec la région de Toronto. Cette situation rend difficile la planification d'une exploitation efficace des tribunaux et de l'effectif.

Il est évident que l'Ontario fait cavalier seul, dans la communauté des pays de common law, en donnant presque carte blanche aux demandeurs pour qu'ils décident du lieu d'introduction d'une action, souvent au détriment des autres parties au litige. Cette liberté est renforcée par le lourd fardeau imposé sur les défendeurs qui désirent contester le choix du lieu d'instruction par le demandeur et par l'incapacité du tribunal d'ordonner unilatéralement le changement du lieu d'instruction [9] .

Le groupe de travail estime que les dispositions relatives au lieu d'instruction devraient être réintroduites soit dans une loi précise soit dans les règles de procédure civile, de concert avec une disposition générale relative au lieu d'instruction qui s'appliquerait là où la loi spécifique ou les règles n'ont pas prévu cette question. Nous croyons que l'administration de la justice serait largement favorisée et que le public serait mieux servi si des règles sur le lieu d'instruction étaient établies et exigeaient un lien entre l'endroit où le différend est né, la résidence des parties et le lieu de l'audience. À notre avis, le rétablissement de dispositions générales sur le lieu d'instruction entraînera une répartition plus équitable et plus appropriée de la charge de travail à l'échelle de la province, permettra de mieux prévoir l'accroissement du volume de travail et éliminera la pratique de "sondage des tribunaux".

RECOMMANDATION

Nous recommandons le rétablissement de la règle sur le lieu d'instruction dans les lois de l'Ontario. Ces dispositions relatives au lieu d'instruction devraient être à la fois d'application générale et spécifique et devraient s'appliquer aux actions et requêtes. Il faudrait mettre en place une disposition sur le lieu d'instruction d'application générale comme l'ancienne règle 245 pour les poursuites qui ne sont pas assujetties aux dispositions spécifiques sur le lieu d'instruction.

Transfert judiciaire des causes civiles

Malgré le soutien général pour la recommandation visant à réformer la loi relative au lieu d'instruction, certains ont exprimé des réserves quant à notre recommandation voulant que la magistrature soit dotée du pouvoir de transférer les causes.

Le barreau, par exemple, a exprimé une certaine appréhension quant aux conséquences financières éventuelles pour les justiciables qui pourraient être obligés de se déplacer vers un nouveau centre, et les répercussions sur l'aptitude des avocats à bien planifier les audiences et procès. Des objections ont également été soulevées quant à la possibilité qu'une moindre importance soit accordée aux causes transférées à un nouveau centre judiciaire.

Malgré ces inquiétudes, l'équipe de révision estime que le transfert des causes est un mécanisme important dans la gestion efficace du système de justice civile. Nous recommandons toutefois la mise en place de lignes directrices pour régir de tels transferts. Par exemple, nous suggérons que le juge régional principal tienne compte de tous les facteurs pertinents lorsqu'il rend une ordonnance de transfert d'une cause. De plus, nous recommandons que les transferts entre régions ne doivent être ordonnés que dans des cas exceptionnels et sur consentement du juge régional principal de la région à laquelle on propose le transfert de l'affaire.

RECOMMANDATION

Nous recommandons que les juges régionaux principaux soient dotés du pouvoir de transférer les causes à un centre judiciaire différent pour audition ou instruction, sous réserve des considérations suivantes :

  1. une ordonnance de transfert d'une cause à une autre localité judiciaire ne devrait pas être rendue sans qu'un avis ne soit donné aux parties et sans qu'il leur soit donné l'occasion d'être entendues. En rendant une ordonnance de modification du lieu d'instruction, le juge devrait tenir compte des points suivants :
    • les frais à engager par les parties;
    • le lieu de résidence des parties;
    • le lieu où la cause d'action est née;
    • la disponibilité de juges ou de dates de procès au centre judiciaire où le transfert est proposé;
    • le lieu de résidence des témoins;
    • le besoin d'installations spéciales;
    • la distance jusqu'au centre où le transfert est proposé;
    • la durée du procès ou de l'audience proposé(e);
    • tout autre facteur pertinent.
  2. les transferts entre les régions ne doivent être ordonnés que dans des cas exceptionnels et sur consentement du juge régional principal de la région à laquelle on propose le transfert de la cause.

[1] Premier rapport de la révision de la justice civile (Toronto: Révision de la justice civile de l'Ontario, mars 1995) [ci-après "Premier rapport"].
[2] Id., pages 258-259.
[3] Id.
[4] Règles de procédure civile, Règlement de l'Ontario 560/84.
[5] Rapport préliminaire du Comité mixte de distribution des causes civiles en Ontario, (octobre 1995) [ci-après appelé "Rapport préliminaire du comité mixte].
[6] Premier rapport, supra, note 1, p. 259.
[7] Mémoire présenté à l'équipe de révision de la justice civile: Association du Barreau canadien - Ontario, Section des litiges civils, (19 décembre 1995) p. 4.
[8] Id., p. 5; voir aussi Rapport préliminaire du comité mixte, supra, note 5, pages 5-6.
[9] Rapport préliminaire du comité, supra, note 5, page 3.