Chapter 4 - Implementation Plan, Structure and Working Groups

4.1  The Plan

Implementation

Implementation was, and remains, the imperative foremost in the minds of the Civil Justice Review team after the release of our First Report. [1] We recognized that in order to translate the Report's recommendations into concrete results it was important to map out a process for implementation and to act as a catalyst in moving that process forward. Thus, in our transmittal letter to the Chief Justice and the Attorney General we urged that the implementation process begin immediately, and stated that: [2]

In our view, it will not be necessary to await the results of our Final Report before initiating action. The task ahead of us is enormous. We need to get on with the plan for implementation while the window of change remains open.

With that in mind, we set out in Chapter 23 of the First Report some preliminary thoughts with regard to the implementation process and issues.

Support for early implementation was quickly forthcoming from the Offices of the Chief Justice and the Attorney General. As early as the second Civil Justice Review conference at Cranberry Village in May, 1995, they bolstered the implementation concept with these assurances:

Chief Justice R. Roy McMurtry: [3]
It is essential that plans for implementation be carried out quickly in order to take advantage of and build on the momentum generated by the Civil Justice Review.
(Then) Attorney General Marion Boyd: [4]
I hope everyone here today will support the contract for change and lead the change process. As we build on the momentum begun by the Civil Justice Review, we must be prepared to challenge those who try to prevent change by appealing to tradition or to standard practices of the past.

The newly appointed Chief Justice of the Ontario Court of Justice (General Division), the Honourable Patrick Lesage, has continued the support of his predecessor in this regard. [5]

The commitment of our court to the recommendations of the Civil Justice Review remains strong. It is imperative that implementation of the recommendations proceed as expeditiously as possible. Delay will further erode public confidence in the justice system.

At the same time, the new Attorney General, the Honourable Charles Harnick, was also quick to endorse the need for action: [6]

I believe that in light of the challenges currently facing the administration of the courts in Ontario, the collaboration and cooperation among the Bench, the Ministry of the Attorney General, the Bar and the Public enabled our committee to develop a viable plan, and one that is capable of taking our courts into the next century.

At the present time, implementation initiatives have focused on the recommendations in the First Report specifically relating to:

  • province-wide caseflow management;
  • the technology necessary to sustain the recommendations;
  • a new process for family law matters; and
  • backlog.

4.2   The Structure and Working Groups

Implementation is proceeding with the joint support of the Chief Justice and the Attorney General. The Task Force continues to provide general guidance and it is intended that the Civil Justice Review, for the time being at least, will remain a collaborative vehicle whereby the Ministry, the Judiciary, the Bar and the Public together will develop ways to implement its recommendations and find the resources to do so. We have been assisted in that regard by a dedicated project team consisting of a Project Director, Ann Merritt, and a small support staff.

As envisaged in the First Report, four Working Groups were established to develop implementation plans relating to "caseflow management processes", "technology", "family law", and "backlog". The members of the Working Groups are listed in Appendix 4. Incorporated into the responsibilities of each of these Working Groups was a "rules" proposing function. As discussed later in this Chapter, it has not been necessary for the backlog Working Group to become active because of the great success of the backlog initiatives undertaken in the Regions at the instance of the Chief Justice, the Regional Senior Justices, the Bar and Courts Administration. The Case Management and Family Law Working Groups have been very active, however.

4.3   Case Management

Co-chaired by Madam Justice Gladys Pardu [7] and by Ms. Mary Lou Benotto [8] , the Case Management Working Group is responsible for developing the form of caseflow management system to be introduced across the province and for overseeing its implementation on a province-wide basis.

A Final Report and a set of proposed province-wide Case Management Rules have been prepared by the Working Group, which the Civil Justice Review endorses in principle. The Report is discussed in Chapter 5.1 and the full text of the proposed Rules included as Appendix 2.

It is anticipated that, based on these proposed Rules, case management will be expanded to Ottawa for 100% of civil cases and from 10% to 25% in Toronto early in 1997.

4.4   Legislation

Also in keeping with the Civil Justice Review's case management recommendations and the proposed "team" approach to the processing of cases, amendments to the Courts of Justice Act were introduced recently to create the position of Case Management Master (called a "Judicial Support Officer" in the First Report [9] ). The Courts Improvement Act, (Bill 79) received Third Reading on October 29, 1996.

4.5   Technology

For the purpose of devising specific implementation proposals relating to an appropriate technological infrastructure for the civil justice system, we thought it necessary to call upon the expertise of individuals from all constituencies within the system -- including the technology community. Much co-ordination and careful planning was called for and, accordingly, we recommended the creation of a Technology Working Group.

The broad mandate of the Technology Working Group, as proposed in the First Report, [10] is to develop specific proposals for the implementation of technology solutions for the civil justice system. The proposed Terms of Reference focused on determining optimum solutions for developing the technology foundation necessary for Ontario's civil justice system, having regard to:

  • cost effectiveness;
  • support of caseflow management;
  • the need for a new management information system;
  • appropriate training opportunities and facilities for users of the system;
  • enhanced public access to the system;
  • secured integrity of the court record;
  • compliance with the unique needs of the judiciary;
  • viability into the 21st century; and
  • integration of data and processing of information from all parts of the justice system -- bar, bench, ministry, police, corrections and others -- while ensuring the principles of an independent judiciary.

Our view of the importance of meeting these criteria in designing and implementing a technology infrastructure has not changed, and we reiterate them here for that reason.

Civil Justice Technology Advisory Committee

In conjunction with technology implementation, a Civil Justice Technology Advisory Committee has been struck. It is co-chaired by Madam Justice Bonnie Wein of the Ontario Court of Justice (General Division) and by Angela Longo, Assistant Deputy Attorney General, Business Improvement Division. Its members are drawn from the Bench, Bar, Ministry and the Public. They include the systems manager from a large law firm, a senior representative from Interac, a bank vice-president, a public member of one of the Regional Courts Management Advisory Committees and knowledgeable technology delegates from the Ministry.

The mandate of the Advisory Committee is to provide advice and guidance to the Civil Justice Review and to the Senior Management Committee of the Ministry of the Attorney General regarding the implementation of both short and long term information technology initiatives for the civil justice system. These initiatives are summarized as follows:

  1. Interim "1996/97 Initiatives"

    • by early 1997, Case Management is to be expanded to 25% in Toronto and introduced on a 100% basis in Ottawa, using the SUSTAIN for Windows software;
    • an Electronic Filing Pilot Project involving a limited number of participants in Toronto is also to be launched in early 1997;
    • a software program known as the Computer Assisted Case Tracking and Information System (CACTIS) is to be put in place to automate and standardize all General Division trial coordination offices with respect to case information retrieval, case scheduling, case tracking and statistical retrieval; and
    • a Business Process Re-engineering initiative is being conducted in all court offices with a view to identifying the most streamlined and efficient operational practices for those offices, in order to ensure that automation is carried out in the most effective manner.
  2. Longer Term Initiatives: Partnering with the Private Sector

    • a Common Purpose Procurement Process ("CPP") has been issued in order to select a private sector partner that will work closely with government and the courts to identify, develop and implement longer term technology solutions for the justice system.
    A full time project manager has been recruited to support the implementation of technology initiatives. To initiate the deliberations of the Civil Justice Technology Advisory Committee, a well-attended Technology Conference was held on May 30th, 1996. Among the items discussed at the Conference were:
    • current and planned technology initiatives and infrastructure for the civil court system, including the importance of business process re-engineering as a precursor to technology implementation; and
    • the experience of others in partnering technology initiatives with the private sector.

Video Conferencing

With regard to video technology, pilot projects have been established in North Bay, Ottawa, London and Sudbury. While these pilot projects were initially set up in cooperation with the Ministry of Solicitor General and Corrections and focused on criminal remands, the equipment has also been used to test the technology in civil matters. In Ottawa, for example, video technology has been successfully utilized in a number of innovative ways. In several civil matters, including a civil jury trial, witnesses have been examined and cross-examined by video with positive results -- and in the process, saving substantial travel costs to the parties and allowing scheduled trials to proceed as planned. The potential benefits of this form of technology are only now being realized.

4.6   Family Law

A "focus on family law" was the subject of a separate Chapter in the First Report, [11] and in response to the call for implementation a Family Law Working Group has been established.

Family Law Working Group

This Working Group is chaired by Regional Senior Justice B.T. Granger, assisted by Ms. Debra Paulseth, [12] the Regional Director for Toronto Region. It is responsible for developing and implementing the Civil Justice Review's proposals for a "resolution-focused" process for family law in Ontario.

The Working Group is composed of 15 members: two are General Division Justices; one is a Family Division Justice; two are Provincial Division Judges; six are members of the bar (three from outside Toronto); one is a public representative; another a law professor; and three are Ministry representatives. The full group has met on three occasions for two days and at least one further meeting is planned. The progress of the Working Group is discussed in Chapter 7 where family law issues are discussed at greater length.

4.7   Backlog

Elimination of the civil backlog has been recognized as a prerequisite to the introduction and integration of caseflow management. This imperative was emphasized in the First Report. [13]

With this in mind, backlog reduction plans were prepared for each Region by the Regional Senior Justice, at the instance of the Chief Justice and in conjunction with administrative personnel. The plans entail the movement of designated "backlog" judges between Regions, whereby seven judges in each Region are assigned for a four week period to backlog teams in order to attack the existing backlog in that Region. This initiative has been underway since March of this year, building upon earlier preparatory efforts.

The results have been very encouraging.

In the East Region -- Ottawa, in particular -- backlog reduction efforts began in earnest in early 1995. By mid-Summer of that year, phase one of the Ottawa reduction plan had been completed, resulting in the elimination of over 1,000 cases from the trial list. Phase two commenced in late August 1995 and, by the conclusion of the court sittings at the end of June 1996, virtually all cases listed for trial prior to January 1, 1995 had been heard.

In Toronto, as of June 1995, 6093 civil cases remained on the list of cases ready for trial after an initial "shaking out" [14] . A series of purge courts, and a concentrated pre-trial program, reduced this number even further. By the end of May 1996, only 735 cases remained on the list.

These results have required a massive mobilization of effort, organizational skills, and good will on the part of the Regional Senior Justices and the judiciary in general, the members of the Bar who devoted enormous amounts of time and energy to the conduct of pre-trials and to readying their own cases to be dealt with, and Courts Administration personnel who spent hours of organizational time making the scheme work. In addition to the travelling teams of judges, senior members of the Bar devoted thousands of hours to pre-trial settlement meetings, so that judicial resources could be made available for trials. Trial coordination staff supported the process through innumerable calls to "shake out" trial lists and by advising lawyers of when to be ready for trial.

Throughout the Civil Justice Review's initial period of consultation, lawyers indicated their disapproval of the trial "blitz" as a means of attacking the backlog, but were prepared to make a contribution with the expectation that case management would be implemented, that trial delays would be reduced and that future backlogs would be eliminated. As a result of these efforts, and having regard to the results achieved, case management will be expanded to Ottawa for 100% of civil cases and to 25% in Toronto in early 1997, as we have mentioned previously.


Footnotes:

[1] First Report of the Civil Justice Review (Toronto: Ontario Civil Justice Review, March 1995) [hereinafter "First Report"].
[2] Id., at pp. 1 - 2.
[3] R. Roy McMurtry, former Chief Justice of the Ontario Court of Justice, General Division, and current Chief Justice of Ontario, Address (Cranberry Conference, Collingwood, Ontario, May 1, 1995) [unpublished].
[4] Marion Boyd, former Attorney General, Address (Cranberry Conference, Collingwood, Ontario, May 1, 1995) [unpublished].
[5] The Honourable Patrick J. LeSage, Chief Justice of the Ontario Court of Justice, General Division, Address (Council of Regional Senior Justices, May 23, 1996) [unpublished].
[6] Charles Harnick, Attorney General, Address (Dinner in Honour of Lord Woolf, Osgoode Hall, September 6, 1995) [unpublished].
[7] Madam Justice G. Pardu is assigned to Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, and has been responsible for the case management pilot project in that area, one of three in the province where case management has been successfully modelled.
[8] Madam Justice M. L. Benotto was appointed to the Ontario Court of Justice (General Division) in May, 1996. Prior to her appointment, and while an active member of the Bar, she was Vice-chair of the Joint Committee on Court Reform with particular involvement in case management initiatives.
[9] First Report, supra, note 1, at p.182.
[10] Id., at pp. 362 - 363.
[11] Id., c.16.
[12] Ms. Paulseth was formerly Counsel to the Civil Justice Review during its First Report phase.
[13] First Report, supra, note 1, at p.155.
[14] "Shaking out" is a procedure to determine which cases on the list are actually waiting to be pre-tried or tried, as opposed to cases, for example, that have already been settled or discontinued: see id., at p.157.

Table of Contents
Back to Top

Consultation

4.1 LE PLAN


Mise en oeuvre

Les modalités de mise en oeuvre ont toujours figuré au premier rang des préoccupations fondamentales de l'équipe de révision de la justice civile depuis le dépôt de notre Premier rapport . Nous y indiquions qu'il importait, afin d'assurer la mise en oeuvre concrète des recommandations du rapport, d'élaborer un processus de mise en oeuvre et de jouer un rôle de catalyseur pour faire avancer ce processus. C'est ainsi que dans la lettre d'envoi adressée au juge en chef et au procureur général, nous insistions, en termes suivants, pour que le processus de mise en oeuvre soit déclenché sans tarder :

À notre avis, il ne sera pas nécessaire d'attendre les résultats de notre rapport définitif pour prendre des mesures. La tâche qui nous attend est écrasante. Il nous faut lancer cette initiative, en profitant d'une conjoncture propice au changement.

Suite à ces observations, nous avons formulé au chapitre 23 du Premier rapport quelques impressions préliminaires au sujet du processus de mise en oeuvre et des questions afférentes.

Le juge en chef et le procureur général n'ont pas tardé à manifester leur appui à la proposition de mise en oeuvre anticipée. En effet, dès la deuxième conférence de la Révision de la justice civile tenue en mai 1995 à Cranberry Village, ils ont démontré le bien-fondé de l'approche proposée en ces termes :

Le juge en chef, M. Roy McMurtry :

Il est essentiel que des plans de mise en oeuvre soient établis rapidement pour tirer avantage de la révision de la justice civile et de l'élan qu'elle crée.

L'ancienne procureure générale, M me Marion Boyd :

[TRADUCTION] J'ai bon espoir que les personnes présentes aujourd'hui se montreront toutes favorables à ce contrat de changements et prendront même les devants pour que ces changements se produisent. Si nous voulons tirer profit de l'élan donné par la Révision de la justice civile, il faut nous préparer à raisonner avec les personnes qui chercheront, en invoquant les traditions ou les pratiques établies, à s'opposer aux changements.

Le nouveau juge en chef de la Cour de justice de l'Ontario (Division générale), M. Patrick LeSage, a emboîté le pas en donnant son appui, lui aussi, à son prédécesseur .

[TRADUCTION] L'engagement de notre Cour à l'égard des recommandations de l'équipe de révision de la justice civile demeure solide. Il est essentiel que la mise en oeuvre des recommandations ait lieu aussi vite que possible. Les retards nuiront davantage à la confiance du public dans le système de justice.

Dans le même temps, le nouveau procureur général de l'Ontario, M. Charles Harnick, n'a pas hésité à cautionner la proposition selon laquelle il est temps de passer à l'action :

[TRADUCTION] À mon avis, étant donné les défis qu'a à relever l'administration judiciaire en Ontario, la collaboration entre la magistrature, le ministère du Procureur général, le barreau et le public a permis à notre comité de mettre au point un plan non seulement réalisable mais qui servira aussi à guider nos tribunaux dans le XXI e siècle.

Les activités de mise en oeuvre étaient axées jusqu'à présent sur les recommandations du Premier rapport portant précisément sur les questions suivantes :

  • la gestion des causes à l'échelle de la province;
  • les moyens techniques nécessaires pour appliquer ces recommandations;
  • la nouvelle procédure à suivre dans les affaires relatives au droit de la famille;
  • l'arriéré des causes.

4.2 LA STRUCTURE ET LES GROUPES D'ÉTUDE

Les activités de mise en oeuvre se poursuivent avec la collaboration du juge en chef et du procureur général. L'équipe de révision s'occupe toujours d'encadrer ces activités et, dans l'état actuel des choses, la révision de la justice civile devrait continuer à servir de point de convergence au ministère, à la magistrature, au barreau et au public pour leurs travaux d'élaboration des modalités de mise en oeuvre des recommandations issues de la Révision, et devrait continuer à repérer les ressources nécessaires à leur mise en oeuvre. Nous avons bénéficié à cet égard de l'apport d'une équipe dévouée composée d'une directrice de projet, M me Ann Merritt, et d'un petit groupe de soutien.

Comme nous l'avions recommandé dans notre Premier rapport, quatre groupes d'étude ont été établis pour élaborer des plans de mise en oeuvre des recommandations touchant les processus de gestion des causes, la technologie, le droit de la famille et l'arriéré. Les noms des membres des groupes en question figurent à l'annexe 4. Ces groupes avaient entre autres pour mandat de proposer un ensemble de règles. Comme on l'explique plus loin dans ce chapitre, le groupe d'étude chargé de l'arriéré des causes n'a pas eu à exercer réellement ses activités étant donné la diminution étonnante de l'arriéré réalisée grâce aux mesures prises au niveau des régions à l'instigation du juge en chef, des juges régionaux principaux, du barreau et de l'administration des tribunaux. Les groupes d'étude chargés respectivement de la gestion des causes et du droit de la famille ont eu, pour leur part, les mains pleines.

4.3 GESTION DES CAUSES

Sous la présidence conjointe de la juge Gladys Pardu et de M me Mary Lou Benotto , le groupe d'étude chargé de la gestion des causes a pour rôle de concevoir le système de gestion des causes à implanter à l'échelle de la province et de voir à la bonne mise en oeuvre du système.

Ce groupe d'étude a donc préparé un rapport final ainsi qu'un ensemble de règles relatives à la gestion des causes à l'échelle de la province. La révision de la justice civile a d'ailleurs avalisé les règles proposées. Plus de détails sur le rapport en question figurent au chapitre 5.1. Le texte intégral des règles proposées figure, quant à lui, à l'Annexe 2.

On prévoit que, compte tenu des règles proposées, la gestion des causes civiles sera élargie à 100 % à Ottawa et passera de 10 % à 25 % à Toronto au début de 1997.

4.4 MESURES LÉGISLATIVES

Pour donner suite aux recommandations de la révision de la justice civile en matière de gestion des causes, notamment à la proposition visant à faire adopter une méthode de concertation pour le traitement des causes, le gouvernement a déposé récemment un projet de loi modifiant la Loi sur l'administration judiciaire. Ce projet de loi intitulé Loi de 1996 sur l'amélioration des tribunaux (Projet de loi 79), a été déposé en troisième lecture.

4.5 MOYENS TECHNOLOGIQUES

Dans le but de mettre au point des propositions spécifiques relatives à une infrastructure technologique qui conviendrait au système de justice civile, nous avons jugé nécessaire de faire appel aux compétences de personnes représentant les différents éléments du système, y compris le milieu de la technologie. La situation nécessitait beaucoup de coordination et de planification et c'est la raison pour laquelle nous avons recommandé la création du groupe d'étude sur la technologie.

Conformément aux recommandations du Premier rapport , le groupe d'étude sur la technologie a reçu un mandat qui consiste, dans ses grandes lignes, à formuler des propositions précises quant à l'application de solutions technologiques au système de justice civile. De façon plus particulière, le mandat proposé devrait permettre au groupe d'étude de déterminer les solutions les plus propices à l'établissement de l'infrastructure technologique nécessaire au système de justice civile en tenant compte des critères suivants :

  • rentabilité du système;
  • soutien de la gestion des causes;
  • besoin de mettre en place un nouveau système d'information de gestion;
  • possibilités de formation et installations connexes appropriées aux utilisateurs du système;
  • accès accru du public au système;
  • intégrité garantie des dossiers du tribunal;
  • observation des exigences uniques de la magistrature;
  • viabilité au XXI e siècle;
  • intégration des données et traitement de l'information provenant de toutes les parties de l'appareil judiciaire -- les avocats, les juges, le ministère, la police, le secteur correctionnel et autres -- tout en assurant les principes d'une magistrature indépendante.

Ces critères n'ont, à nos yeux, rien perdu de leur importance pour ce qui est de la conception et la mise en oeuvre d'une infrastructure technologique. C'est pourquoi nous avons cru bon de les répéter ici.

Comité consultatif de la justice civile en matière de technologie

Parallèlement à la mise en oeuvre des solutions technologiques, un comité consultatif de la justice civile en matière de technologie a été établi. Le comité est présidé par la juge Bonnie Wein, de la Cour de justice de l'Ontario (Division générale), et par M me Angela Longo, sous-procureure générale adjointe, Division de l'amélioration opérationnelle. Les membres du comité ont été choisis parmi la magistrature, le barreau, le ministère et le public. On y retrouve également le directeur des systèmes informatiques à l'emploi d'un important cabinet juridique, un cadre de la société Interac, le vice-président d'une banque, un membre du public siégeant à l'un des comités consultatifs régionaux de gestion des tribunaux ainsi que des représentants du ministère spécialisés en technologie.

Le comité consultatif a pour mandat de fournir son opinion et des conseils à la révision de la justice civile ainsi qu'au comité de la haute direction du ministère du Procureur général en ce qui concerne la mise en oeuvre à court et à plus long termes des solutions technologiques de traitement de l'information au profit du système de justice civile. Ces solutions peuvent se résumer comme suit :

i) «SOLUTIONS 1996-1997» PROVISOIRES

  • d'ici le début de 1997, la gestion des causes augmentera à 25 % à Toronto et s'appliquera à 100 % des activités à Ottawa, grâce à l'utilisation du logiciel SUSTAIN pour Windows;
  • on pense également lancer à Toronto vers la fin de l'automne 1996 un projet pilote portant sur le dépôt électronique de documents mais en faisant appel à un nombre restreint de participants;
  • on prévoit installer un logiciel appelé Computer Assisted Case Tracking and Information System (CACTIS), de façon à informatiser tous les greffes des tribunaux de la Division générale, en vue notamment d'y uniformiser les méthodes de cueillette des renseignements, d'établissement du rôle, de contrôle du cheminement des causes et d'accès aux statistiques;
  • on est à également à appliquer dans l'ensemble des greffes des mesures de reconception des procédés administratifs visant à déterminer les pratiques les plus rationnelles et efficaces pour ces greffes, afin de s'assurer que l'informatisation s'effectue de la façon la plus rentable possible.

ii) INITIATIVES À PLUS LONG TERME : PARTENARIAT AVEC LE SECTEUR PRIVÉ

  • on envisage de recourir à un processus commun d'acquisition de services afin de choisir un partenaire du secteur privé qui sera appelé à travailler en étroite collaboration avec le gouvernement pour cerner, élaborer et mettre en oeuvre des solutions technologiques à plus long terme au profit de la justice civile.

Les services d'un directeur de projet à temps plein ont été retenus pour fournir le soutien nécessaire à la mise en oeuvre des solutions technologiques. Par ailleurs, une conférence sur la technologie a eu lieu le 30 mai 1996. Elle devait servir de point de départ aux délibérations du Comité consultatif de la technologie de la justice civile. Cette conférence a connu un franc succès. Parmi les sujets qui y ont été abordés :

  • les solutions et l'infrastructure actuelles et prévues du réseau des tribunaux judiciaires, y compris l'importance de la reconception des procédés administratifs comme condition préalable à la mise en oeuvre de solutions technologiques;
  • l'expérience acquise par d'autres organismes en ce qui concerne les formules de partenariat avec le secteur privé pour l'application e solutions technologiques.

Vidéoconférences

Des projets pilotes servant à mettre à l'essai la technologie de retransmission vidéo ont été mis sur pied à North Bay, Ottawa et London. Bien que ces projets pilotes aient été conçus à l'origine avec la collaboration du ministère du Solliciteur général et des Services correctionnels en fonction des audiences de renvoi en matière pénale, l'équipement a également servi à mettre la technologie à l'essai en matière civile. À Ottawa, par exemple, la technologie des vidéoconférences a été utilisée à profit de plusieurs façons innovatrices. Dans différents types d'affaires civiles, notamment dans le cas de procès civils avec jury, des interrogatoires et des contre-interrogatoires de témoins se sont déroulés à l'aide de cette technologie et ont donné des résultats encourageants, d'autant plus que cela a permis de réduire considérablement les frais de déplacement des parties et de faire entendre les affaires inscrites au rôle dans les délais prévus. On se rend compte maintenant des avantages possibles que recèle cette technologie.

4.6 DROIT DE LA FAMILLE

Le droit de la famille fait l'objet d'un chapitre distinct dans le Premier rapport . Un groupe d'étude sur le droit de la famille a été mis sur pied pour donner suite aux recommandations issues de ce rapport.

Le groupe d'étude sur le droit de la famille

Ce groupe d'étude est présidé par un juge régional principal, le juge B.T. Granger, assisté par M me Debra Paulseth , directrice régionale de la région de Toronto. Ce groupe est chargé d'élaborer et de mettre en oeuvre les recommandations de la révision de la justice civile voulant que, en droit de la famille, le système de justice de l'Ontario s'oriente vers le règlement amiable des différends.

Le groupe d'étude se compose de 15 membres : deux juges de la Division générale, un juge de la Division du droit de la famille, deux de la Division provinciale, un professeur de droit et trois fonctionnaires du ministère. Le groupe a déjà tenu trois réunions plénières de deux jours chacune et en prévoit une quatrième. Il est question de l'état d'avancement des travaux du groupe d'étude au chapitre 7 qui est davantage consacré au droit de la famille.

4.7 ARRIÉRÉ DES CAUSES

L'élimination de l'arriéré des causes civiles se pose en condition préalable à l'introduction et à l'intégration du système de gestion des causes. Le Premier rapport insiste clairement sur le caractère essentiel de cette condition .

Cela étant, les juges régionaux principaux ont préparé des plans de diminution de l'arriéré, à l'instigation du juge en chef et avec la collaboration du personnel administratif. Les plans en question prévoient la désignation de juges chargés de l'élimination de l'arriéré et qui seront envoyés en détachement d'une région à l'autre. De façon plus précise, sept juges dans chaque région seront affectés pendant quatre semaines à des équipes chargées de l'élimination de l'arriéré afin de s'attaquer à l'arriéré des causes dans la région en question. Ce plan est en voie d'exécution depuis le mois de mars de cette année après avoir fait l'objet de certains préparatifs.

Les résultats sont très encourageants.

Dans la région de l'Est, notamment à Ottawa, les efforts de diminution de l'arriéré ont débuté de façon concrète au début de 1995. Vers le milieu de l'été de la même année, la première étape du plan d'élimination de l'arriéré à Ottawa était réalisée en ce sens que plus de mille causes avaient été rayées du rôle des procès. La deuxième étape a débuté à la fin août 1995 et, à la clôture des sessions judiciaires à la fin de juin 1996, presque toutes les causes inscrites au rôle avant le 1er janvier 1995 avaient été entendues.

À Toronto, en juin 1995, on comptait encore 6093 causes inscrites au rôle et en état d'être jugées, malgré un premier effort d'«épuration» . Une série d'audiences éliminatoires et la mise en place d'un programme intensif de conférences préparatoires au procès ont contribué à faire baisser davantage ce chiffre. À la fin mai 1996, il ne restait plus que 735 causes inscrites au rôle.

Ces résultats ont nécessité la mobilisation massive de ressources humaines, de savoir-faire administratif ainsi qu'un appel à la bonne volonté des juges régionaux principaux et d'autres membres de la magistrature en général, à celle des membres du barreau qui ont consacré une grande partie de leur temps et énergie en participant à des conférences préparatoires au procès et en mettant en état les causes qu'il leur fallait faire entendre, et à celle du personnel de l'administration judiciaire qui a passé des heures à restructurer sa méthode de travail pour que le système fonctionne. Outre le travail effectué par les équipes itinérantes de juges, des membres d'expérience du barreau ont consacré des milliers d'heures en pourparlers dans les réunions portant sur les conférences préparatoires de façon à ce que davantage de ressources judiciaires soient disponibles pour la tenue des procès. Le personnel de coordination des procès a prêté son concours en invitant à maintes reprises les intéressés à «épurer» le rôle des audiences et en faisant savoir précisément aux avocats quand ils devaient se tenir prêts à faire entendre leurs causes.

Certains avocats n'ont cessé durant la période de consultation initiale de la Révision de la justice civile de manifester leur opposition aux procès «éclairs» comme moyen de résoudre le problème de l'arriéré. C'est ce qui a amené le barreau à effectuer les efforts décrits ci-dessus, dans l'espoir que le processus de gestion des causes serait mis en oeuvre, que les retards au niveau de l'audition des causes seraient diminués et que l'arriéré des causes serait à l'avenir éliminé. Par suite de ces efforts, et compte tenu des résultats obtenus, on prévoit appliquer à Ottawa d'ici la fin de l'année le processus de gestion des causes à l'ensemble des instances civiles, tandis qu'on prévoit faire passer le pourcentage des instances auxquelles le processus s'applique à Toronto de 10 % à 25 % d'ici le début de 1997, comme nous l'avons indiqué précédemment.