Chapter 2 - The Process of the Civil Justice Review since the First Report

Further Consultation And Dialogue

"Geneva II" - Collingwood, Ontario

The process of consultation, which was so much a part of our First Report, has continued. On April 30th to May 2nd, 1995, a conference was held in Collingwood so that judges, lawyers, court administrators and members of the public could meet to discuss the First Report and to formulate plans for implementing the Report's recommendations. The conference was attended by about 85 representatives from these four groups.

A number of workshops were held focusing on "Implementing the Vision", and including sessions covering such matters as "Delay and Backlog", "Technology: Possibilities, Opportunities and Pitfalls", and "The Team Concept: Making it Work". Also included on the agenda were two technology demonstrations -- one demonstrating electronic filing, and the other a motion by video conferencing. The conference was a success and provided another opportunity to further the lines of communication between the participating groups in the justice system.

Throughout the conference, Task Force members were asked to share their views on the problems facing the civil justice system which had led them to make the recommendations in the First Report. In addition, the Task Force invited participants at the conference to offer feedback both on the Review itself and on the recommendations. A 30-minute video of these conversations was prepared, which was distributed to 45 cable stations across the province.

The Review produced the video both to educate and to inform the public. In our view, the public needs to acquire -- and from our consultations appears to want to acquire -- an understanding of the civil justice system. This understanding is an important ingredient in developing public support for an agenda of change.

An informal survey of the 45 television stations has revealed a favourable response to the video. While most of the stations contacted have aired the video at least once, a large number have aired it more than three times.

Visit from The Right Honourable the Lord Woolf

In June 1995, The Right Honourable the Lord Woolf of England released his Interim Report [1] and in July 1996, his Final Report entitled "Access to Justice". [2] Lord Woolf's Report deals with the problems facing the civil justice system in England and Wales, many of which are very similar to those addressed by the Civil Justice Review. In September 1995, Lord Woolf visited Toronto.

What is remarkable about the Woolf Inquiry and the Civil Justice Review is that these two separate bodies from two different jurisdictions independently arrived at very similar conclusions. As stated by Lord Woolf: [3]

I am comforted by the fact that so many of the proposals [in the First Report] anticipated my own proposals. It recognizes that we have to look again at our traditional approach to dispute resolution and our institutions and, while retaining their strengths, modify those features where to do so, will overcome the present shortcomings. It recognizes, as I do, that we have to look again at our court structures, at our procedures, our professional practices and the priority we give to civil justice.
Like the Civil Justice Review in Ontario, Lord Woolf concludes that: [4]
[The] present system ... is too expensive in that the costs often exceed the value of the claim; too slow in bringing cases to a conclusion and too unequal: there is a lack of equality between the powerful, wealthy litigant and the under-resourced litigant. It is too uncertain: the difficulty of forecasting what litigation will cost and how long it will last induces the fear of the unknown; and it is incomprehensible to many litigants. Above all it is too fragmented in the way it is organised since there is no- one with clear overall responsibility for the administration of civil justice; and too adversarial as cases are run by the parties, not by the courts and the rules of court, all too often, are ignored by the parties and not enforced by the court.

The Woolf Report concludes that these problems make the system in the United Kingdom increasingly inaccessible. Some of the specific recommendations made in Access to Justice to address those problems are:

  • procedures should be tailored to meet the needs of the individual case;
  • for cases between £3,000 and £10,000 the type of procedures available should be limited;
  • for cases above £10,000, a new multi-track system should be created, providing for "hands-on" management by teams of judges;
  • within the multi-track system there should be consideration of cases at two stages -- a case management conference, early in the case and a pre-trial review, shortly before trial; and
  • technology should be implemented, including video and telephone conference facilities.

During his visit, Lord Woolf toured the Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Centre, and also met with case management groups and judicial team leaders.

The Canadian Bar Association Systems of Civil Justice Task Force

Coinciding with the release of our First Report, the Systems of Civil Justice Task Force was formed by the Canadian Bar Association (CBA) to inquire into the state of civil justice on a national basis and to develop mechanisms to help modernize the civil justice system. The Task Force consulted individuals and organizations across Canada with an interest in civil justice reform, including the Civil Justice Review, and on August 25, 1996, released its Report [5] .

Like the Civil Justice Review in Ontario, the CBA Task Force stressed the importance of an accessible and efficient civil justice system and noted its current shortcomings:

[C]ivil law is part of all of our lives. It follows that a fair, effective and accessible civil justice system is essential to the peaceful ordering and the economic and social well-being of our society. Yet the Task Force discovered that many Canadians feel that they cannot exercise their rights effectively because using the civil justice system takes too long, is too expensive, or is too difficult to understand.

Many of the recommended approaches proposed by the CBA Task Force to address these problems are similar to those found in our First Report, including, for example, the need for the courts to become dispute resolution centres, referred to in the CBA Report as a "multi-option" civil justice system, and for the judiciary to assume a greater supervisory role over the progress of cases [6] . Indeed, the vision for the civil justice system articulated in the Report [7] has many of the same elements as our framework for the modern civil justice system set out earlier in Chapter 1. [8]

Other Meetings

Since the release of our First Report, the Civil Justice Review has continued its consultative process in an effort to promote its vision and to respond to any concerns. The Task Force has met with members of the judiciary, the bar and courts administration across the province, and has also accepted invitations to meet with interested groups.


Footnotes:

[1] The Right Honourable the Lord Woolf, Access to Justice: Interim Report to the Lord Chancellor on the civil justice system in England and Wales (June, 1995).
[2] The Right Honourable the Lord Woolf, Access to Justice: Final Report to the Lord Chancellor on the civil justice system in England and Wales (July, 1996) [hereinafter "Access to Justice"].
[3] The Right Honourable the Lord Woolf, Address (Dinner in Honour of Lord Woolf, Osgoode Hall, September 6, 1995) [unpublished]. Lord Woolf has since been appointed the Master of the Rolls in England.
[4] Access to Justice, supra, note 2, at p.2.
[5] Systems of Civil Justice Task Force Report (The Canadian Bar Association, August 1996).
[6] Id., at pp. 31 - 50.
[7] Id., at p.23.
[8] See supra, Chapter 1, at p.5.

Table of Contents
Back to Top

Chapitre 2 - le Processus de Révision de la Justice Civile Depuis la Publication du Premier rapport

CONSULTATION ET DIALOGUE PLUS POUSSÉS

«Deuxième congrès de Geneva Park» - Collingwood, Ontario

Le processus de consultation qui a occupé une place prépondérante dans la rédaction de notre Premier rapport s'est poursuivi. Du 30 avril au 2 mai 1995, un congrès s'est tenu à Collingwood afin que les juges, avocats, administrateurs judiciaires et membres du public puissent se réunir pour discuter du Premier rapport et formuler des plans en vue de mettre en oeuvre les recommandations du rapport. Environ 85 personnes représentant les quatre groupes intéressés ont participé au congrès.

Un certain nombre d'ateliers ont été tenus. Ils ont porté sur «la mise en oeuvre de la vision» et ont comporté des séances qui ont couvert des sujets comme «Les retards et l'arriéré», «La technologie : possibilités, occasions et pièges» et «Le concept d'équipe : comment réussir». À l'ordre du jour figuraient aussi deux démonstrations techniques : l'une sur le dépôt électronique de documents et l'autre une motion faite par vidéoconférence. Le congrès a connu un énorme succès et a fourni une autre occasion de favoriser les voies de communication entre les groupes participant au système de justice.

Tout au long du congrès, les membres de l'équipe de révision étaient encouragés à partager leurs points de vue sur les problèmes qui se présentaient face au système de justice civile et qui les avaient entraînés à faire les recommandations dans le Premier rapport. De plus, le groupe de travail a invité les participants à faire part de leur rétroaction sur la révision elle-même et les recommandations. Un vidéo de 30 minutes portant sur ces conversations a été préparé et distribué à 45 stations de télédistribution en Ontario.

L'équipe de révision a préparé le vidéo pour sensibiliser et informer le public qui, à notre avis, a besoin de comprendre -- et qui d'après nos consultations semble vouloir comprendre -- le système de justice civile. Cette compréhension est un élément important pour forger le soutien public en vue des changements à venir.

Un sondage informel des 45 stations de télévision a révélé une réponse favorable au vidéo. Bien que la plupart des stations que nous avons contactées aient diffusé le vidéo au moins une fois, un grand nombre d'entre elles l'ont passé plus de trois fois.

Visite de Lord Woolf

En juin 1995, Lord Woolf d'Angleterre a publié son rapport provisoire intitulé Access to justice. Ce rapport traite des problèmes auxquels doit faire face le système de justice civile en Angleterre et dans le pays de Galles. Bon nombre de ces problèmes sont très similaires à ceux qu'aborde l'équipe de révision de la justice civile. En septembre 1995, Lord Woolf a visité Toronto.

Ce qui est remarquable au sujet de l'enquête Woolf et de la révision de la justice civile est que ces deux entités distinctes dans deux pays différents ont abouti de manière indépendante à des conclusions très semblables. Comme l'a déclaré Lord Woolf :

[TRADUCTION] Je suis réconforté par le fait que de si nombreuses propositions [dans le Premier rapport] aient devancé les miennes. Cela démontre que nous devons examiner à nouveau notre approche traditionnelle à l'égard du règlement des différends et de nos institutions et, tout en gardant leurs points forts, modifier les caractéristiques qui permettront de combler les lacunes actuelles. Cela démontre, et je suis de cet avis, que nous devons réexaminer nos structures judiciaires, nos procédures, nos pratiques professionnelles et la priorité que nous accordons à la justice civile.

Comme les membres de la révision de la justice civile en Ontario, Lord Woolf conclut que :

[TRADUCTION] Le système actuel... est trop coûteux en ce sens que les coûts dépassent souvent la valeur de la demande. Il est aussi trop lent à régler les causes et trop inégal : il y a un manque d'égalité entre le justiciable puissant et riche et le justiciable qui n'a pas accès aux ressources nécessaires. Il y a trop d'incertitude : la difficulté de prévoir le coût et le délai du litige incite la peur de l'inconnu. Par ailleurs, de nombreux justiciables ne comprennent pas le système. Mais surtout, le système est trop fragmenté dans son organisation puisqu'il n'y a personne avec une responsabilité générale et claire pour s'occuper de l'administration de la justice civile; par ailleurs, le système est trop axé sur la procédure contradictoire, les causes étant conduites par les parties et non par les tribunaux. Souvent les parties ne tiennent pas compte des règles judiciaires qui ne sont pas appliquées par le tribunal.

Le rapport Woolf conclut que ces problèmes rendent le système en Angleterre de plus en plus inaccessible. Voici certaines des recommandations spécifiques faites dans le rapport Access to Justice dans le but de régler ces problèmes :

  • les procédures doivent être adaptées pour répondre aux besoins de la cause individuelle;
  • pour les causes dont la valeur varie entre 3 000 £ et 10 000 £, il faut limiter le type de procédures disponibles;
  • pour les causes supérieures à 10 000 £, il faut créer un nouveau système à voies multiples où des équipes de juges peuvent procéder à une gestion directe des causes;
  • dans le système à voies multiples, les causes doivent être examinées à deux étapes : une conférence pour la gestion de la cause, au début de l'instance, et un examen préalable à l'instruction, peu avant le procès; et
  • des moyens techniques doivent être mis en place, notamment les conférences téléphoniques et les vidéoconférences.

Durant sa visite, Lord Woolf s'est rendu au Centre de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends (RED) et a rencontré des groupes chargés de la gestion des causes et des chefs d'équipes judiciaires.

Le groupe de travail sur les systèmes de justice civile de l'Association du Barreau canadien

Parallèlement à la publication du Premier rapport, l'Association du Barreau canadien (ABC) a créé le groupe de travail sur les systèmes de justice civile dans le but d'enquêter sur la situation de la justice civile à l'échelle nationale et de mettre au point des mécanismes pour aider à moderniser le système de justice civile. Le groupe de travail a consulté les particuliers et les organismes à travers le Canada qui se préoccupent de la réforme de la justice civile, notamment l'équipe de révision de la justice civile. Le 25 août 1996, le groupe de travail a publié son rapport final.

Comme l'équipe de révision de la justice civile, le groupe de travail de l'ABC a insisté sur l'importance d'un système de justice civile accessible et efficace et a fait les observations suivantes sur les lacunes actuelles dans le système :

[TRADUCTION] Le droit civil fait partie de notre vie à tous. Il s'ensuit qu'un système de justice civile efficace et accessible est essentiel à l'ordre et au bien-être économique et social de notre société. Pourtant, le groupe de travail a découvert que de nombreux Canadiens ont l'impression qu'ils ne peuvent exercer leurs droits de manière efficace car le système de justice civile est trop lent, trop coûteux et difficile à comprendre.

De nombreuses recommandations proposées par le groupe de travail de l'ABC en vue d'examiner ces problèmes sont similaires à celles qu'on trouve dans notre Premier rapport, notamment la nécessité que les tribunaux deviennent des centres de règlement des différends - principe que le rapport de l'ABC appelle système de justice civile «à options multiples» - et la nécessité pour les juges d'assumer un rôle de surveillance plus important concernant l'évolution des causes. En effet, les perspectives du système de justice civile énoncées dans le rapport ont de nombreux points communs avec notre propre cadre de travail d'un système de justice civile moderne dont nous avons parlé plus tôt dans le chapitre 1.

Autres réunions

Depuis la publication de notre Premier rapport, l'équipe de révision de la justice civile a poursuivi ses consultations dans le but de faire connaître ses perspectives et répondre aux préoccupations. Le groupe de travail a rencontré des juges, des avocats et des membres du personnel judiciaire administratif partout dans la province et a aussi accepté des invitations pour rencontrer des groupes intéressés.