Appendix 1

Terms of Reference for Facilitator

The Honourable George Adams, Q.C. will evaluate the success of the 1999 SIU reforms (e.g. the SIU Regulation and budget increase) after consulting with interested police and community stakeholders.

Mr. Adams will hold facilitated discussions and negotiations to determine if there is consensus on any necessary clarifications to the SIU Regulation.

If, after completing discussions on the reforms, Mr. Adams is able to identify additional SIU-related issues that are likely, in his opinion, to be resolved by a facilitated process, he will proceed to develop consensus recommendations on those issues upon the approval of the Ministry.

Mr. Adams' role is to assess views and facilitate the development of consensus recommendations and not for the purpose of giving legal advice.

Mr. Adams may conduct the process in the manner he determines to be appropriate having regard to all the circumstances.

Mr. Adams will report to the Ministry the views of the stakeholders and any consensus recommendations, if he deems it appropriate, having regard to his role and after having consulted the interested parties.

Any notes, records, recollections, statements made and documents produced by Mr. Adams or provided to him during the process would be confidential and the disclosure of such material to any person including the government would, except as required by law, be within his sole discretion.

Annexe 1

Mission de l'animateur

L'Honorable George Adams, c.r., évaluera le succès des réformes de 1999 de l'UES (règlement concernant l'UES et augmentation de son budget) après avoir consulté les parties intéressées de la police et de la collectivité.

M. Adams animera des discussions et conduira des négociations afin de déterminer s'il existe un consensus sur tout éclaircissement qu'il pourrait être nécessaire d'apporter au règlement concernant l'UES.

Si, à l'issue des discussions, M. Adams est en mesure d'identifier de nouvelles questions relatives à l'UES qu'il serait sans doute possible, à son avis, de résoudre par le biais d'une consultation dirigée, il procèdera alors à l'élaboration de recommandations basées sur le consensus pour régler ces questions, recommandations qu'il présentera au ministère.

Le rôle de M. Adams consiste à évaluer les points de vue et à faciliter le dégagement d'un consensus sur des recommandations; ce rôle n'est pas de donner un avis juridique.

M. Adams peut mener son étude de la manière qu'il juge la plus opportune compte tenu des circonstances.

M. Adams rapportera au ministère les points de vue des parties intéressées ainsi que, s'il le juge approprié, les recommandations concernant son rôle qui font l'objet d'un consensus parmi les parties intéressées.

Les notes, dossiers, souvenirs, déclarations et documents produits par M. Adams ou qui lui ont été fournis dans le cadre de son étude seront tous considérés confidentiels et la divulgation de ces pièces à quiconque, y compris le gouvernement, sera, exception faite de ce qu'exige la loi, à sa seule discrétion.