2003–2004 Accessibility Plan

Table of Contents

Introduction

In 2001, there were an estimated 1.5 million people in Ontario with self-disclosed disabilities. This number is expected to increase as the population ages.

In December 2001, the Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2001 (ODA) was passed into law. Its purpose is to improve opportunities for people with disabilities and to provide for their involvement in the identification, removal and prevention of barriers to their full participation in the life of the province.

One of the requirements under the ODA is that Ontario government ministries, municipalities, hospitals, school boards, colleges, universities, and public transportation organizations develop annual accessibility plans to make programs, services and buildings more accessible to people with disabilities. The plans must be made available to the public.

In the Speech from the Throne, delivered on November 20, 2003, the Ontario Government confirmed its commitment to working with Ontarians with disabilities on meaningful legislation that will allow them to fully participate in building a stronger province.

This document is the first annual accessibility plan for the Ministry of the Attorney General. The plan describes improvements to accessibility that the ministry has made to date and its commitments for the balance of the 2003-2004 fiscal year.

Report on Achievements

While there have been strides towards increasing the accessibility of ministry/secretariat services, the greatest emphasis has been on improving the accessibility of buildings and facilities, especially courthouses.

With more than two hundred and fifty locations across the province, the Ministry of the Attorney General has been continually updating and improving existing facilities to remove barriers, and has developed architectural guidelines for court house planning to ensure that new construction is barrier-free.

Buildings Structures and Premises

  • In 2003, the Law Library, located at the head office of the Ministry of the Attorney General (MAG), was constructed to Ontario Realty Corporation (ORC) barrier-free guidelines, including a ramp in the front lobby, with full consultation with people with disabilities.
  • MAG Emergency Evacuation Procedures include procedures for employees who need special assistance. Procedures are posted on the ministry intranet site.

Goods and Services

  • In the 2002-03 Business Plan, all business areas were informed about accessibility requirements. All proposals were assessed for accessibility/disability impacts, and inclusion of accommodation information.
  • Senior ministry/secretariat management and all other relevant staff have been advised of the need to consider accessibility issues in the acquisition of all goods and services.
  • TTY service for persons who are hearing impaired or deaf is provided through a dedicated central line.
  • Providing information to various community groups has increased community awareness of the rights of persons who are blind to bring guide dogs into establishments under Blind Persons' Rights Act.
  • The identification card issued under the Blind Persons' Rights Act was improved by including braille telephone numbers to call if a guide dog is not allowed to enter an establishment.

Internet Sites and Publications

  • Ministry/secretariat Internet sites have been updated to make them accessible to people with disabilities as required under section 6 of the Ontarians with Disabilities Act. The sites comply with the internationally recognized Priority One and Two accessibility standards developed by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) and their Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI). The websites were completely recoded and modifications were made to incorporate compatibility with text reader technology, ease of navigation for people who rely on alternative pointing devices, graphics supported by alternate text, high contrast colours and colour schemes to accommodate persons who are visually impaired or colour blind and a fully-proportional site that allows users to enlarge or shrink font sizes.
  • All court forms are available in accessible format on the Ministry of the Attorney General website ( www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca).
  • Procedures are in place to provide ministry publications in accessible formats, upon request.

Employees

  • Procedures are in place to ensure that employees and job applicants receive accommodation as required.
  • Accommodation has been provided for a number of employees through the government’s Employment Accommodation Fund for People with Disabilities. These include workstation modifications to address mobility issues, IT equipment and technical aids for employees with visual and hearing impairments, building modifications to address dexterity/mobility limitations, job coaching and the provision of attendant care.
  • Ergonomic assessments are provided to staff upon request from managers. Information is maintained on the intranet site outlining the availability of this service.
  • One hundred and seventy five managers have completed training to increase their understanding of the Government’s obligations to accommodate the accessibility needs of its employees and job applicants who have disabilities.
  • Human Resources Consultants, Employee Relations Consultants, and managers of the HR Branch participated in workshops on employee accommodation.

Government-Funded Capital Programs

  • The ministry incorporated ORC barrier-free guidelines into its Province of Ontario Architectural Design Standards for Court Houses in 1999.
  • The ministry addresses the need for accessibility expertise at the onset of planning for capital construction.
  • The ORC, as the ministry’s mandated service provider, addresses accessibility issues at all major courthouse construction projects, to ensure compliance with the Ontario Building Code and the ORC barrier-free guidelines (e.g. the planned Brockville Courthouse meets current barrier-free design guidelines).
  • Consolidated courthouse construction projects undertaken in recent years (e.g. Owen Sound, Chatham,Windsor, Brampton courthouses) have complied with the Ontario Building Code and the ORC barrier-free guidelines. The construction of a dedicated fully accessible courtroom in the Hamilton Courthouse exceeded existing regulations and guidelines.
  • Major court house renovation and relocation projects such as Newmarket and 2201 Finch Avenue West in Toronto also complied with the barrier-free design guidelines.
  • Minor capital projects of substantial size for office space, special project space (i.e. Victim/Witness Assistance Program) and courthouses, have addressed accessibility issues including wheelchair ramps, and accessible washrooms.
  • The ministry incorporates accessibility as a component of its annual Capital Plan.

Ministry/Secretariat Accessibility Plan

  • The ministry/secretariat established an Accessibility Planning Working Group to prepare the 2003-2004 Accessibility Plan. This working group will have an ongoing role in the development of Accessibility Plans in future years.
  • Three members of the Accessibility Planning Working Group participated in ODA training provided by the Accessibility Directorate.

Commitments and Strategies for 2003-2004

In its commitments and strategies, the ministry/secretariats will continue to place an emphasis on providing improved accessibility in its buildings and facilities, especially courthouses. This includes an ongoing strategy of updating existing facilities to remove barriers and the establishment of practices and procedures that will ensure barrier-free construction in new facilities. As new guidelines are made available for barrier-free design, they will be incorporated into ministry/secretariat standards and practices.

Methods to be used to prevent new barriers

The Ministry of the Attorney General will undertake the following activities to ensure that proposals for new acts, regulations, policies, programs and services are assessed with respect to their effect on people with disabilities:

  • Conduct an assessment to address accessibility requirements within operating proposals put forward in the 2004-2005 business planning submissions.
  • Update internal procurement practices to comply with accessibility requirements of new corporate procurement directives.
  • Post Accessibility Plans on the ministry/secretariats Internet and intranet sites in an accessible format.
  • Include Ontarians with Disabilities Act (ODA) training as a requirement in new learning plans for ministry managers.
  • Include ODA information in the employee orientation program on the ministry’s intranet site.

Business areas to be reviewed

Acts and Regulations

For acts or regulations currently under review or going forward, ensure that issues of accessibility and barrier removal to people and programs are included in the review process.

Policies and Programs

Architectural Design Standards for Courthouses

Review the Province of Ontario Architectural Design Standards for Courthouses to ensure continued compliance with existing and new government guidelines for accessibility.

Recruitment Policies

Review processes for employment competitions to identify areas for improvement in quality of service and accommodation for people with disabilities as part of existing government accommodations requirements.

Practices and Services

Human Resources Plan

Ensure that the ministry’s new Human Resources Plan is consistent with the requirements of the Ontarians with Disabilities Act.

Actions to be taken

Barrier Identification and Prevention

The New Lease Project Requirements survey will be updated to incorporate accessibility concerns. Therefore, each time a lease renewal/new lease is reviewed, accessibility requirements will be considered and communicated to ORC.

Minor capital repair and rehabilitation projects will include a survey in the planning process to ensure accessibility concerns are addressed.

Once received, revised ORC guidelines will be clearly communicated within the ministry.

Ministry/secretariat program managers and supervisors will be given guidance on accessibility in all procurement activities, as required under section 5 of the ODA. All staff with responsibility for procurement will receive the "Guidelines for Implementing the Procurement Provisions of the Ontarians with Disabilities Act", once distributed by Management Board Secretariat.

The online training program for ODA will be included as a requirement in all future learning plans for ministry/secretariat managers.

Training on accommodating the accessibility needs of employees and job applicants who have disabilities will be made available to all new managers.

Improved accessibility in communications

The ministry/secretariats will research and identify appropriate training program for receptionist/public inquiry staff and others working directly with the public, so that staff understand the full scope of the definition of ‘disability’ and ‘barriers to accessibility’ as defined under the ODA.

Information on procedures for responding to requests for publications in accessible formats will be made available to ministry/secretariat staff through the intranet site.

Improved accessibility of facilities

All new construction/planning will continue to comply with the Ontario Building Code and address all ORC guidelines for accessibility.

The ministry’s Province of Ontario Architectural Design Standards for Court Houses will be revised to include any new accessibility guidelines issued by the government.

The ministry will continue to incorporate accessibility as a component of its annual Capital Plan.

Improved accessibility in technology

All new material posted to the ministry/secretariat’s Internet site will continue to be accessible by people with disabilities and conforms to Priority One and Two accessibility standards developed by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) and their Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI).

Information on how to use the ministry/secretariat’s TTY phone line and how the number is provided/advertised to the public will be made available to ministry/secretariat staff through the intranet site.

For more information

Questions or comments about the ministry’s accessibility plan are always welcome.

Please phone:

General inquiry number: 416-326-2220
TTY number: 416-326-4012
E-mail: jus.g.mag.webmaster@jus.gov.on.ca
Ministry website address: www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca

Visit the Ministry of Citizenship’s Accessibility Ontario web portal at: www.gov.on.ca/citizenship/accessibility. The site promotes accessibility and provides information and resources on how to make Ontario a barrier-free province.

Alternate formats of this document are available free upon request from:

Publications Ontario
880 Bay Street, Toronto, ON
M7A 1N8.
Tel: (416) 326-5300
Out of town customers except Ottawa call: 1-800-668-9938
In Ottawa, call (613) 238-3630 or toll-free 1-800-268-8758
TTY Service 1-800-268-7095

Queens Printer for Ontario

Print Version: ISSN 1708-5578
Online Version: ISSN 1708-5586

Ce document est disponible en français.

Plan d’accessibilité 2003-2004

Table des matières

Introduction

En 2001, environ 1,5 million d’Ontariennes et d’Ontariens disaient avoir un handicap. On s’attend à ce que ce nombre augmente, compte tenu du vieillissement de la population.

En décembre 2001, la Loi de 2001 sur les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LPHO) a été adoptée. Cette loi vise à offrir davantage de possibilités aux personnes handicapées et à obtenir leur concours pour déterminer, éliminer et prévenir les obstacles qui les empêchent de participer pleinement à la vie de la province.

La LPHO exige entre autres que les ministères du gouvernement de l’Ontario, les municipalités, les hôpitaux, les conseils scolaires, les collèges et universités et les organisations de transport en commun élaborent tous les ans des plans d’accessibilité pour rendre leurs programmes, services et édifices plus accessibles aux personnes handicapées. Ces plans doivent être mis à la disposition du public.

Dans le Discours du Trône du 20 novembre 2003, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a réitéré son engagement de collaborer avec les personnes handicapées de la province afin d’élaborer une loi importante qui leur permettra de participer pleinement à l’édification d’un Ontario plus fort.

Le présent document est le premier plan d’accessibilité annuel du ministère du Procureur général. Il décrit les mesures que le ministère a prises jusqu’à maintenant pour améliorer l’accessibilité et ses engagements pour le reste de l’exercice 2003-2004.

Rapport sur les réalisations

Si de grands progrès ont été réalisés pour rendre plus accessibles les services du ministère du Procureur général (MPG), l’accent a été mis principalement sur l’amélioration de l’accessibilité des immeubles et des installations, et plus particulièrement celle des palais de justice.

Le Ministère, présent dans plus de deux cent cinquante lieux à travers l’Ontario, a continuellement rénové et amélioré les installations existantes pour en supprimer les obstacles, et a défini des lignes directrices architecturales pour s’assurer que les nouvelles constructions sont accessibles à tous.

  • En 2003, la Bibliothèque de droit, située dans le bureau central du MPG, a été construite selon les lignes directrices de la Société immobilière de l’Ontario (SIO), avec notamment une rampe d’accès dans le hall d’entrée, après consultation avec des personnes handicapées.
  • Les procédures d’évacuation d’urgence du MPG comportent des procédures spécifiques pour les employés qui ont besoin d’une aide spéciale. Les procédures sont diffusées sur le site Intranet du Ministère.

Biens et services

  • Dans le plan d’activités 2002-2003, tous les secteurs d’activités ont été informés des besoins en matière d’accessibilité. Toutes les propositions ont été passées en revue pour déterminer leurs effets éventuels sur l’accessibilité et intégrer les informations nécessaires sur l’adaptation aux personnes handicapées.
  • Les cadres supérieurs et tout le personnel concerné du Ministère/Secrétariats ont été informés de la nécessité de tenir compte de l’accessibilité dans toute démarche d’approvisionnement de biens et de services.
  • Un service ATS est mis à la disposition des personnes sourdes ou mal entendantes sur une ligne centrale réservée.
  • La diffusion d’informations à divers groupes communautaires a permis de sensibiliser la communauté aux droits des personnes aveugles d’entrer dans divers établissements avec leurs chiens, conformément à la Loi sur les droits des aveugles.
  • La carte d’identité délivrée en vertu de la Loi sur les droits des aveugles a été améliorée par l’ajout, en braille, de numéros de téléphone à contacter dans le cas où un établissement refuserait de laisser entrer un chien d’aveugle.

Sites Internet et publications

  • Les sites Internet du Ministère/Secrétariats ont été remaniés pour les rendre accessibles aux personnes qui ont un handicap, conformément à l’article 6 de la Loi de 2001 sur les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LPHO). Les sites répondent désormais aux critères internationaux de priorités 1 et 2 des lignes directrices établies par le WWW et son Initiative d’accessibilité au Web. Le code des sites Web a été entièrement refait et de nombreuses modifications ont été apportées pour intégrer : la compatibilité avec la technologie de lecture de texte ; une plus grande facilité de navigation pour les personnes qui utilisent des dispositifs de pointage de substitution ; des illustrations comportant du texte de remplacement, des couleurs et des combinaisons de couleurs hautement contrastées pour les personnes malvoyantes ou daltoniennes ; et un concept entièrement proportionnel qui permet aux utilisateurs d’agrandir ou de diminuer le corps du texte.
  • Tous les formulaires juridiques sont disponibles sur des formats de substitution sur le site Internet du ministère du Procureur général ( www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca).
  • Des procédures ont été mises en place pour fournir les publications du Ministère, à la demande, sur des formats de substitution.

Personnel

  • Les procédures mises en place permettent de veiller à ce que le personnel et les postulants à un emploi bénéficient des mesures d’adaptation nécessaires.
  • Le Fonds d’adaptation des emplois pour les personnes handicapées mis en place par le gouvernement a permis d’adopter des mesures d’adaptation pour un certain nombre d’employés, et notamment : des transformations du poste de travail pour résoudre des problèmes de mobilité, des équipements technologiques et techniques pour aider des employés malvoyants ou malentendants, des modifications de locaux pour répondre à des problèmes de dextérité et de mobilité, des formations particulières au poste de travail et le recours à des services auxiliaires.
  • Des évaluations ergonomiques sont fournies au personnel sur demande des chefs de service. Le site Intranet propose en permanence des informations sur la disponibilité de ce service.
  • Cent soixante-quinze chefs ont suivi une formation pour mieux comprendre les obligations du gouvernement de répondre aux besoins d’adaptation de ses employés et des postulants à un emploi qui ont un handicap.
  • Les conseillers en ressources humaines, les conseillers en relations avec le personnel et les chefs de la Direction des ressources humaines ont participé à des groupes de travail sur l’adaptation des emplois.

Programmes d’immobilisations financés par le gouvernement

  • En 1999, le Ministère a intégré les lignes directrices de la Société immobilière de l’Ontario pour une construction sans obstacle à ses Normes de conception architecturale pour les palais de justice de l’Ontario.
  • Le Ministère tient compte du besoin de compétences en matière d’accessibilité dès le début de la planification de tout nouveau programme d’immobilisations.
  • En tant que fournisseur de services mandaté par le Ministère, la SIO est chargée des questions d’accessibilité pour tous les grands projets de construction de palais de justice, afin d’assurer le respect du Code du bâtiment de l’Ontario et des lignes directrices pour une construction sans obstacle de la SIO (le projet du tribunal de Brockville, par exemple, respecte les lignes directrices actuelles).
  • Les projets de construction de palais de justice entrepris au cours des dernières années (comme à Owen Sound, Chatham, Windsor et Brampton) respectent également le Code du bâtiment de l’Ontario et les lignes directrices de la construction sans obstacle de la SIO. La construction d’une salle d’audience spéciale, intégralement accessible aux personnes handicapées, dans le palais de justice de Hamilton dépasse toutes les réglementations et directives actuelles.
  • Les grands projets de modernisation et de relocalisation de tribunaux, comme à Newmarket et à Toronto (2001, avenue Finch Ouest), respectent aussi les lignes directrices pour une construction sans obstacles.
  • L’accessibilité a également été prise en compte dans les projets d’immobilisations secondaires d’une certaine dimension, destinés à accueillir des bureaux, des projets spécifiques (comme le Programme d’aide aux victimes et aux témoins) et des tribunaux, avec notamment des rampes pour fauteuils roulants et des toilettes accessibles.
  • Le ministère a intégré l’accessibilité à son plan annuel d’immobilisations.

Le plan d’accessibilité du ministère

  • Le Ministère/Secrétariats a créé un Groupe de travail sur la planification de l’accessibilité pour préparer le plan d’accessibilité 2003-2004. Ce Groupe continuera à jouer un rôle dans la préparation des prochains plans d’accessibilité.
  • Trois membres du Groupe de travail sur la planification de l’accessibilité ont suivi la formation sur la LPHO fournie par la Direction générale de l’accessibilité de l’Ontario.

Engagements et stratégies en 2003–2004

Dans ses engagements et ses stratégies pour la période fiscale en cours, le Ministère/Secrétariats continuera à mettre l’accent sur l’amélioration de l’accessibilité dans ses immeubles et installations, et plus particulièrement dans les palais de justice. Cette politique comporte une stratégie d’amélioration permanente des installations existantes afin d’en éliminer les obstacles, et la mise en place de pratiques et de procédures pour que les nouvelles installations soient accessibles aux personnes handicapées. Au fur et à mesure que de nouvelles lignes directrices pour une construction sans obstacle sont définies, elles seront intégrées dans les normes et les pratiques du Ministère/Secrétariat.

Mesures à adopter pour éviter tout nouvel obstacle

Le ministère du Procureur général veilleront à ce que les propositions de lois, règlements, politiques, programmes et services soient évalués en fonction de leurs éventuelles conséquences sur les personnes qui ont un handicap grâce aux initiatives suivantes :

  • Évaluer les besoins d’accessibilité liés aux propositions présentées dans le plan d’activités 2004–2005.
  • Mettre à jour les pratiques d’approvisionnement interne pour respecter les exigences en matière d’accessibilité définies dans les nouvelles directives ministérielles sur l’approvisionnement.
  • Diffuser le plan d’accessibilité sur les sites Internet et Intranet du Ministère/Secrétariats dans un format accessible.
  • Rendre obligatoire la formation sur la Loi de 2001 sur les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario dans les programmes de formation des chefs de service du Ministère.

Secteurs d’activité à étudier

Lois et règlements

Pour les lois ou règlements en cours d’examen ou d’adoption, veiller à ce que les questions d’accessibilité et de suppression des obstacles pour les personnes et les programmes soient intégrées au processus d’examen.

Politiques et programmes

Normes de conception architecturale pour les palais de justice

Examiner les Normes de conception architecturale pour les palais de justice de la province de l’Ontario pour s’assurer qu’elles continuent de respecter les lignes directrices actuelles et futures du gouvernement en matière d’accessibilité.

Politique de recrutement

Étudier les processus des concours de recrutement pour repérer les améliorations à apporter dans la qualité du service et l’adaptation aux personnes handicapées afin de satisfaire les exigences du gouvernement en matière d’adaptation.

Pratiques et services

Le plan des ressources humaines

Vérifier que le nouveau plan des ressources humaines satisfait les exigences de la Loi de 2001 sur les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario.

Mesures à prendre

Repérage et prévention des obstacles

Les critères à respecter pour tout projet de nouveau bail seront mis à jour afin d’y intégrer les questions d’accessibilité. Ainsi, chaque fois qu’un renouvellement de bail ou un nouveau bail est examiné, les besoins d’accessibilité seront évalués et communiqués à la SIO.

Pour les projets secondaires de rénovation et de réhabilitation des immobilisations, une étude menée durant le processus de planification permettra de s’assurer que les besoins d’accessibilité sont pris en considération.

Dès leur publication, les nouvelles lignes directrices de la SIO seront largement diffusées dans tout le Ministère.

Les chefs de programmes et les superviseurs du Ministère/Secrétariats recevront les conseils nécessaires pour satisfaire les besoins d’accessibilité dans toutes les activités d’approvisionnement, conformément à l’article 5 de la LPHO. Tout le personnel qui a des responsabilités d’achat recevra les « Guidelines for Implementing the Procurement Provisions » de la LPHO dès que ces lignes directrices auront été diffusées par le Secrétariat du Conseil de gestion.

Le programme de formation en ligne sur la LPHO sera un élément obligatoire de tout nouveau programme de formation destiné aux chefs du Ministère/Secrétariats.

Une formation à l’adaptation nécessaire pour répondre aux besoins d’accessibilité du personnel et des postulants à un emploi qui ont un handicap sera mise à la disposition de tout nouveau chef de service.

Amélioration de l’accessibilité en matière de communications

Le Ministère/Secrétariats recherchera un programme de formation approprié pour les réceptionnistes, les employés affectés aux renseignements au public et toute personne en contact direct avec le public, pour que le personnel comprenne bien toute la portée des termes « handicap » et « obstacles à l’accessibilité » tels qu’ils sont définis dans la LPHO.

Les informations sur les procédures à suivre pour répondre aux demandes de publications sur des formats de substitution seront diffusées au personnel du Ministère/Secrétariats par le biais du site Intranet.

Amélioration de l’accessibilité des locaux

Toute nouvelle construction et tout nouveau projet de construction seront conçus dans le respect du Code du bâtiment de l’Ontario et de toutes les lignes directrices de la SIO sur l’accessibilité.

Les Normes de conception architecturale pour les palais de justice de l’Ontario du Ministère seront revues afin d’y incorporer toute nouvelle ligne directrice sur l’accessibilité diffusée par le gouvernement.

Le Ministère continuera d’intégrer l’accessibilité à son plan annuel d’immobilisations.

Amélioration de l’accessibilité à la technologie

Tout nouveau matériel ajouté au site Internet sera rendu accessible aux personnes qui ont un handicap, et respectera les critères d’accessibilité de priorité 1 et 2 définis par le WWW et son Initiative d’accessibilité au Web.

Des informations sur l’utilisation de la ligne ATS du Ministère/Secrétariats et sur la manière dont la ligne est proposée et signalée au public seront fournies au personnel du Ministère/Secrétariats par le biais du site Intranet.

Renseignements

Les questions et les commentaires sur le plan d’accessibilité du ministère sont toujours les bienvenus.

Renseignements généraux : 416-326-2220
Numéro ATS : 416-326-4012
Courriel : jus.g.mag.webmaster@jus.gov.on.ca
Site Web du Ministère : www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca

Visitez le site Web d’Accessibilité Ontario, ministère des Affaires civiques, à : http://www.gov.on.ca/citizenship/accessibility/indexf.html. Le site promeut l’accessibilité et offre des renseignements et des ressources expliquant comment faire de l’Ontario une province accessible.

Le présent document est disponible gratuitement sur support de substitution à :

Publications Ontario
800, rue Bay, Toronto (Ontario) M7A 1NB
Téléphone : 416 326-5300

Clients d’autres régions, sauf Ottawa, composer sans frais le 1 800 668-9938
À Ottawa, composer le (613) 238-3630 ou, sans frais, le 1 800 268-8758
Service ATS : 1 800 268-7095

© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l’Ontario

Version imprimée : ISSN 1708-5594
Version en ligne : ISSN 1708-5608

This document is available in English.