Freedom of Information

Text: Larger | Smaller

The Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act provides individuals with a right of access to records and personal information under the custody or control of Ontario government ministries and agencies. The Act also has privacy protection provisions concerning the collection, use, disclosure, retention and disposal of personal information. Further information about the Act is available from the Management Board Secretariat - Corporate Freedom of Information and Privacy Office and the Information and Privacy Commissioner/Ontario.

The Ministry of the Attorney General Freedom of Information and Privacy Office provides access and privacy services for the ministry and its agencies, boards and commissions.

How to Make a Request

Requests under the Act must be made in writing. As the Internet and fax machine are not secure means of communication, we are not able to accept requests either by fax or via the Internet. Please print an Access or Correction Request and submit it by mail.

For information about the types of records held by the ministry, you may wish to consult the Directory of Records. When requesting information, please provide specific details about the records you wish to access.

If you are requesting access to personal information records on behalf of a client or another person, our standard Authorization for Release of Personal Information Form should be completed by that individual and included with your access request application form.

An application fee of $5.00 payable to the Minister of Finance is required at the time you submit your request. You may pay by cheque or money order. If you would like to pay by credit card (Visa or Master Card), please write “Pay by credit card” and we will call you to process your request - do NOT include the credit card number / information on the request itself.

Where To Contact Us

Ministry of the Attorney General
Freedom of Information and Privacy Office
720 Bay Street, 5th Floor
Toronto, ON M7A 2S9
Telephone: (416) 326-4300

Bureau de l'accès à l'information et de la protection de la vie privée

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée donne aux citoyens le droit d'accéder aux dossiers et à l'information personnelle conservés ou contrôlés par les ministères et organismes du gouvernement de l'Ontario. La Loi contient également des dispositions relatives à la protection de la vie privée concernant la collecte, l'utilisation, la divulgation, la conservation et l'élimination de l'information personnelle. On peut trouver de plus amples renseignements sur la Loi au Secrétariat du Conseil de gestion - Bureau central de l'accès à l'information et de la protection de la vie privée et au bureau du Commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée/Ontario.

Le Bureau de l'accès à l'information et de la protection de la vie privée du ministère du Procureur général prévoit un accès et des services de protection de la vie privée au ministère et dans ses organismes, conseils et commissions.

Comment faire une demande

Les demandes formulées en vertu de la Loi doivent l'être par écrit. Nous n'acceptons pas les demandes envoyées par Internet, ce moyen de communications n'étant pas sûr. Vous pouvez présenter votre demande par la poste ou par télécopieur. Vous pouvez imprimer une Demande d'accès ou de rectification à cette fin.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les types de fichiers détenus par le ministère, vous pouvez consulter le répertoire des dossiers. Lorsque vous demandez des renseignements, veuillez préciser les détails sur les dossiers auxquels vous désirez avoir accès.

Si vous demandez d’accéder à des reseignements personnels au nom d’un client ou d’une autre personne, cette personne doit remplir notre formulaire d’autorisation de divulgation de renseignements personnels, que vous devez joindre à votre demande d’acces à des renseignements personnels.

Un droit de demande de 5 $ à l'ordre du ministère des Finances est requis au dépôt de votre demande. Vous pouvez payer par chèque, mandat ou carte de crédit (Visa ou MasterCard).

Où nous contacter
Accès à l'information et de Protection de la vie privée
Ministère du Procureur général
720, rue Bay 5e étage
Toronto ON M7A 2S9
Téléphone: (416) 326-4300
Télécopieur: (416) 326-4307