Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services

Office Snapshot

  • Location: Toronto
  • Lawyers: 23
  • Articling Students: 1
  • Summer Law Students: 1
  • Types of Law: Aboriginal, Access & Privacy, Administrative, Commercial, Contract, Corrections, Criminal, Employment, Human Rights, Labour, Policing, Public Safety

Who we are

Counsel working with the Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services (MCSCS) Legal Services Branch (LSB) provide a full range of legal services in the following areas:

  • Policing
  • Firearms
  • Private investigators and security guards
  • Emergency measures
  • Fire services
  • Coroners
  • Human rights
  • Animal welfare
  • Corrections
  • Probation and parole
  • Freedom of information and protection of privacy. 

Our legal branch provides strategic legal advice and assistance to two deputy ministers, all MCSCS divisions and its six agencies.  The ministry employs approximately 15,500 police, corrections, probation and parole officers, medical, forensic and fire professionals, emergency management officers, and civilian and administrative staff who serve communities and regions throughout Ontario. Corrections and policing operate 24/7 throughout the province.

What we do

MCSCS LSB counsel participate in the development of legislation and regulations, prepare and review a wide variety of contracts and other legal documents, and provide legal opinions and advice for their diverse client base. Our counsel represent client interests at court hearings in both civil and criminal jurisdictions, administrative proceedings and coroner’s inquests.

The branch also acts as counsel to the following tribunals:

  • Ontario Parole and Earned Release Board
  • Animal Care Review Board
  • Fire Safety Commission.

In addition, we provide legal advice to the following tribunals:

  • Ontario Civilian Commission on Police Services
  • Ontario Police Arbitration Commission
  • Fire Marshal’s Public Fire Safety Council.

Our major cases

  • Provincial Animal Welfare Act:  We engaged in extensive reformation of the Ontario Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act (OSPCA Act), resulting in the Provincial Animal Welfare (PAWS) Act amendments effective March 1, 2009.
  • Cornwall Public Inquiry: We worked in collaboration with Crown Law Office-Civil (CLOC) on actions relating to claims arising from the Cornwall public inquiry, and other matters relating to policing, fire and correctional issues.
  • Goodwin/Wesley Inquest: As one of the parties with standing, we represented the interests of the Ministry. The inquest into the deaths of two aboriginal men in the Kashechewan reservation jail began on March 23, 2009. It focused on examining the circumstances surrounding the deaths including the cause of the fire, fire suppression efforts, the training of First Nation police officers, the funding of policing infrastructure on reserve and the lack of legislative framework for policing arrangements on reserve.
  • Sunrise Propane Explosion: Working in collaboration with CLOC, we played a key role for the ministry in support of the CLOC litigation team in responding to the class action arising from Sunrise Propane, ensuring the appropriate response was made to the plaintiffs’ requests for documentation and other relief.    
  • Toronto South Detention Centre: MCSCS Contracts and Procurement Group counsel are on the ministry’s first “design-build-finance-and-maintain” contract through Infrastructure Ontario. Construction is estimated to begin in 2010.

What students do

Our students will have the opportunity to work directly with a number of counsel at the branch. Under the supervision and guidance of a principal or mentor, students:

  • Assist counsel with drafting pleadings for the court
  • Prepare responses to human rights complaints
  • Get exposure to various aspects of the legislative process
  • Aid in the production of memoranda of law on a number of topics.

In terms of litigation, students may attend Small Claims Court matters and assist counsel in preparing for inquests, habeas corpus applications, motions, Human Rights proceedings and Animal Care Review Board Hearings.

Why choose us

"My experiences as an articling student at MCSCS Legal Services Branch was excellent. The work I was assigned was varied and challenging and I got to work with lawyers who have a range of interests and styles of practice, all of whom made themselves available to answer any questions I had and always made me feel welcome to attend court or meetings with them. I believe that my experience at MCSCS Legal has prepared me to take the next steps into legal practice." — Former Articling Student

MCSCS LSB is an excellent place for students who want to be exposed to a wide variety of legal issues. We provide a unique opportunity to work in a relatively small legal branch with a disproportionately great variety of work. It is a particularly great place for students with an interest in administrative and regulatory law.

MCSCS LSB has a remarkable group of alumni, including:

  • The Honourable Madame Justice Denise Bellamy: Currently the presiding commissioner of the city of Toronto's External Contracts Inquiry and Computer Leasing Inquiry, both of which are investigating scandals around bureaucratic and political interference in the city's contract process.
  • Paul Ceyssens: Now in private practice, Mr. Ceyssens is recognized as a Canadian authority on the legal regulation of police. Author of Legal Aspects of Policing (1994), and co-author of Ontario Police Services Act, Fully Annotated (1998), Mr. Ceyssens also chairs the editorial board for the Police Law Reports.
  • Christina Donszelmann: Presently MCSCS Senior Counsel at our Toronto office, Christina is a leader on human rights, administrative and employment law. She is co-author of Law of Administrative Investigations and Prosecutions, Canada Law Book (1999).
  • Kenneth Hogg & Brian G. Whitehead: Presently counsel with MCSCS. Senior counsel, Ken Hogg, works from our Orillia office, located at the OPP headquarters, and counsel, Brian Whitehead, works from our Toronto Office. They co-authored the Guide to Ontario’s Ministry of Correctional Services Act, (2006).

Contact us

Tiana Pollari
Office Manager
Tiana.Pollari@ontario.ca
416-314-3507

Jennifer Khan
Director’s Administrative Assistant
Jennifer.khan@ontario.ca
416-314-1527

Ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels

Aperçu du Bureau

  • Emplacement : Toronto
  • Avocats : 23
  • Stagiaires en droit : 1
  • Étudiants du programme d'emplois d'été : 1
  • Domaine de droit : Autochtones, accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels, administratif, commercial, contrat, services correctionnels, criminel, emploi, droits de la personne, travail, sécurité publique, services de police

Qui nous sommes

Les avocats de la Direction des services juridiques (DSJ) du ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels (MSCSC) fournissent une gamme complète de services juridiques dans les domaines suivants :

  • Services policiers
  • Armes à feu
  • Enquêteurs privés et gardiens
  • Mesures d'urgence
  • Services de sécurité-incendie
  • Coroners
  • Droits de la personne
  • Bien-être des animaux
  • Services correctionnels
  • Probation et libération conditionnelle
  • Accès à l'information et protection de la vie privée

La Direction des services juridiques offre des conseils juridiques stratégiques et de l’assistance à deux sous-ministres, à toutes les divisions du MSCSC et aux six organismes qui en relèvent. Le ministère emploie environ 15 500 policiers, agents des services correctionnels, agents de probation et de libération conditionnelle, médecins, médecins légistes, pompiers et agents de gestion des situations d'urgence et du personnel civil et administratif, qui servent les collectivités et les régions de l’Ontario. Les services correctionnels et policiers fontionnent tous les jours, 24 heures sur 24, partout dans la province.

Ce que nous faisons

Les avocats de la DSJ du MSCSC participent à l'élaboration des lois et des règlements, préparent et révisent une vaste gamme de contrats et d’autres documents juridiques et fournissent des avis et des conseils juridiques à une clientèle variée. Ils représentent les intérêts des clients aux audiences devant les tribunaux, dans des affaires civiles et pénales ainsi que devant les tribunaux administratifs et dans les enquêtes de coroner.

Les avocats de la Direction se présentent également devant les tribunaux suivants :

  • La Commission ontarienne des libérations conditionnelles et des mises en liberté méritées
  • La Commission d'étude des soins aux animaux
  • La Commission de la sécurité-incendie

Ils fournissent, par ailleurs, des conseils juridiques aux tribunaux suivants :

  • La Commission civile des services policiers de l'Ontario
  • La Commission d'arbitrage de la police de l'Ontario
  • Le Conseil public du commissaire des incendies sur la sécurité-incendie

Nos principales causes

  • Loi ontarienne sur le bien-être des animaux : Nous avons pris part à l’importante modification de la Loi sur la Société de protection des animaux de l’Ontario (loi sur la SPAO), qui a mené à la promulgation, le 1er mars 2009, de la Loi ontarienne sur le bien-être des animaux.
  • Enquête publique sur Cornwall : Nous avons travaillé en collaboration avec le Bureau des avocats de la Couronne - Droit civil (BAC - Droit civil) dans des procès liés aux plaintes découlant de l’Enquête publique sur Cornwall et dans d’autres dossiers touchant aux services policiers et correctionnels et les services des incendies.
  • Enquête Goodwin-Wesley : À titre de partie ayant qualité pour agir, nous y avons représenté les intérêts du ministère. L’enquête sur le décès de deux hommes autochtones dans la prison de la réserve de Kashechewan a débuté le 23 mars 2009. L'enquête devait examiner les circonstances des décès, y compris la cause de l'incendie, les efforts de suppression du feu et la formation des agents de police des Premières nations, le financement de l’infrastructure policière de la réserve et l’absence de cadre législatif régissant les ententes sur la prestation de services policiers dans les réserves.
  • Explosion à Sunrise Propane : Travaillant de concert avec le BAC - Droit civil, nous avons joué un rôle clé pour le compte du ministère, en secondant l’équipe du contentieux du BAC - Droit civil dans le cadre du recours collectif intenté contre Sunrise Propane, afin de répondre de façon appropriée aux demandes de documentation et autres demandes présentées par les plaignants.  
  • Centre de détention du Sud de Toronto : Les avocats du groupe Contrats et Approvisionnement du MSCSC prennent part à la conclusion, par le ministère, du premier contrat « conception-construction-financement-entretien », par l’entremise d’Infrastructure Ontario. La construction doit débuter en 2010.

Ce que font les étudiants

Les étudiants auront l’occasion de travailler directement avec un certain nombre d'avocats à la Direction. Sous la direction et les conseils d'un maître de stage ou d’un mentor, ils :

  • Aident les avocats à préparer des plaidoiries
  • Préparent des réponses aux questions de droits de la personne
  • S’initient aux divers aspects du processus législatif
  • Contribuent à la rédaction d'exposés du droit sur un certain nombre de sujets.

En ce qui concerne les poursuites, les étudiants peuvent assister aux audiences devant la Cour des petites créances et aider les avocats à préparer les enquêtes, requêtes d'habeas corpus, motions, instances relevant des droits de la personne et audiences devant la Commission d'étude des soins aux animaux.

Pourquoi choisir notre Bureau

« Mon stage à la Direction des services juridiques du MSCSC a été extrêmement enrichissant. Les tâches qui m’étaient confiées étaient aussi stimulantes que variées. J’ai eu l’occasion de travailler avec des avocats possédant des intérêts et des styles différents, toujours prêts à répondre à mes questions et qui m’encourageaient à les accompagner au tribunal et aux réunions auxquelles ils assistaient. Je crois que mon expérience à la DSJ du MSCSC m’a bien préparé à ma carrière en droit. » — Ancien stagiaire

La DSJ du MSCSC est l’endroit rêvé pour les étudiants qui souhaitent toucher à une grande variété de questions juridiques. Nous leur offrons l’occasion de travailler dans une direction des services juridiques qui, malgré sa taille relativement restreinte, traite des dossiers extrêmement variés. Notre bureau convient particulièrement aux étudiants qui s’intéressent au droit administratif et réglementaire.

La DSJ du MSCSC compte un groupe remarquable d’avocats, anciens ou encore en poste, dont :

  • L’honorable Madame la juge Denise Bellamy : Elle a présidé les commissions d’enquête sur l’impartition et la location d’ordinateurs à Toronto, chargées de faire la lumière sur des scandales entourant l’ingérence bureaucratique et politique dans l’octroi de contrats par la ville.
  • Paul Ceyssens : Me Ceyssens, qui travaille maintenant en cabinet privé, est considéré au Canada comme une autorité en matière de réglementation des services de police. Il est l’auteur de Legal Aspects of Policing (1994), et coauteur de Ontario Police Services Act, Fully Annotated (1998). Il est également président du comité de rédaction des recueils de jurisprudence Police Law Reports.
  • Christina Donszelmann : Me Donszelmann occupe actuellement le poste d’avocate principale au bureau de Toronto du MSCSC. Elle est une spécialiste des droits de la personne, du droit administratif et du droit du travail. Elle est coauteure de Law of Administrative Investigations and Prosecutions, Canada Law Book Inc. (1999).
  • Kenneth Hogg et Brian G. Whitehead : Avocats au MSCSC. Me Ken Hogg, qui occupe actuellement le poste d’avocat principal, travaille dans notre bureau d’Orillia, situé dans le quartier général de l’OPP, tandis que Me Brian Whitehead est avocat à notre bureau de Toronto. Ils ont coécrit Guide to Ontario’s Ministry of Correctional Services Act, (2006).

Pour communiquer avec nous

Tiana Pollari
Chef de bureau
Tiana.Pollari@ontario.ca
416-314-1527

Jennifer Khan
Adjointe administrative au directeur
Jennifer.khan@ontario.ca
416-314-1527