Financial Services Commission of Ontario

Office Snapshot

  • Location: Toronto (North York)
  • Lawyers: 19
  • Articling Students: 4
  • Summer Law Students: 1
  • Types of Law: Access & Privacy, Administrative, Contract, Employment, Family, Insurance, Pensions, Provincial Offences Act, Trusts & Estates

Who we are

The Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) was established under the Financial Services Commission of Ontario Act, 1997 (FSCO Act). The Superintendent of Financial Services (Superintendent) is the Chief Executive Officer of FSCO.

The Superintendent is responsible for regulating the Ontario insurance sector; pension plans; loan and trust companies; credit unions and caisses populaires; mortgage brokering sector; co-operative corporations and service providers who invoice auto insurers for statutory accident benefits claims.

The FSCO Legal Services Branch (LSB) provides legal advice and services to the Superintendent.

Please visit the FSCO Website for more information: www.fsco.gov.on.ca

What we do

FSCO LSB is comprised of two practice units:

  • Litigators’ Group
  • Solicitors’ Group

FSCO LSB lawyers:

  • Provide legal advice relating to FSCO’s regulated sectors to the Superintendent
  • Conduct litigation on behalf of the Superintendent before the Financial Services Tribunal, Ontario courts and other Ontario adjudicative tribunals
  • Prosecute offences under FSCO administered statutes
  • Work with Ministry of Finance policy and legal staff on legislative files relating to FSCO’s regulated sectors

Please visit FSCO’s websites for more information:

Our major cases

Some of our major cases include:

  • Monsanto Canada Inc. v. Ontario (Superintendent of Financial Services), 2004 SCC 54, [2004] 3 SCR 152 - a landmark decision requiring that a surplus be distributed to members on the partial wind-up of a defined benefit pension plan
  • Nolan v. Kerry (Canada) Inc., 2009 SCC 39, [2009] 2 SCR 678 - an important decision that clarified that the standard of review on appeals involving the interpretation of pension plans from the Financial Services Tribunal is reasonableness, that plan expenses can be paid out of the pension fund, and that an employer could use a surplus accumulated in a defined benefit portion of its plan to meet its funding obligations for the defined contribution portion of its plan
  • Boucher v. Stelco Inc., 2005 SCC 64, [2005] 3 SCR 279 - non-Ontario members of an Ontario-based pension plan could not contest the Superintendent’s decision with respect to the partial wind-up of a pension plan by means of a challenge in a Quebec court. This matter came to the Supreme Court via the Pension Commission of Ontario, the Divisional Court and the Ontario Court of Appeal
  • Auto Insurance Prosecutions – Along with the Insurance Bureau of Canada, FSCO has worked closely with the various police services to prosecute offences under the Insurance Act involving various clinics and healthcare providers that were improperly invoicing insurance companies for services.

Please visit our website for additional cases: www.fsco.gov.on.ca/en/about/Pages/legal-student-program.aspx

What students do

Our articling students:

  • Have the opportunity to work both independently and with experienced counsel on a range of legal matters
  • Can expect exposure to diverse areas of law that will help to refine their skills and focus their interests
  • Are an integral part of our office and are given significant responsibility from the start of their time with us, including the opportunity to participate with counsel in all aspects of litigation, opinion writing and legal drafting
  • Attend meetings with counsel to learn about client interactions and the development of a file and attend court and tribunal hearings to watch senior counsel in action, particularly on files they have assisted on
  • Are assigned a designated articling principal to provide support and assistance throughout the articling term, including fostering relationships with other counsel
  • Have the opportunity to attend relevant educational programs in addition to MAG-wide articling student educational seminars, including educational programs presented by the Law Society of Upper Canada, the Canadian and Ontario Bar Associations, the Advocates’ Society, and ALOC (Association of Law Officers of the Crown)

Our summer students:

  • Are provided with a stimulating experience in a collegial work environment
  • Like our articling students, are involved in all stages of our files
  • Are assigned a mentor to provide support, guidance and feedback
  • May apply to return to our office for their articles

Please visit our website for more information on this topic: www.fsco.gov.on.ca/en/about/Pages/legal-student-program.aspx

Why choose us

  1. Our office maintains a collegial atmosphere in which students have the opportunity to thrive personally and professionally.
  2. Students play an integral role in our busy office. We are committed to providing students with the opportunity to participate in exciting and important public sector legal work and to make meaningful contributions to the office by joining committees and participating in MAG and FSCO educational programs.
  3. As an arms-length regulatory agency, FSCO provides articling and summer law students with the opportunity to join a legal team practicing at the leading edge of public law. Students receive a well-rounded and high quality experience.
  4. Whether you are interested in honing your skills through solicitors work or litigation, there is ample opportunity to do so by providing thought-provoking analysis and attending and participating in court and tribunal proceedings with experienced FSCO counsel.
  5. FSCO LSB is a particularly strong choice for students who want to be exposed to a wide variety of legal issues within a relatively small and collegial legal branch. Our office is particularly suited to those looking for a regulatory practice centred on pensions and financial services.

Please visit FSCO’s websites for more information:

Contact us

Scott A. Lamb
Counsel, Financial Services Commision of Ontario
Scott.Lamb@fsco.gov.on.ca
(416) 590- 7024

Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario

Aperçu du Bureau

  • Emplacement : Toronto (North York)
  • Avocats : 19
  • Stagiaires en droit : 4
  • Étudiants du programme d'emplois d'été : 1
  • Domaine de droit : accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels, administratif, contrat, emploi, famille, assurances, régimes de retraite, fiducies et successions, Loi sur les infractions provinciales

Qui nous sommes

La Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) a été constituée en vertu de la Loi de 1997 sur la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (Loi sur la CSFO). Le surintendant des services financiers (le surintendant) en est le directeur général.

Le surintendant assure la réglementation des secteurs suivants en Ontario : l’assurance, les régimes de retraite, les sociétés de prêt et de fiducie, les credit unions et les caisses populaires, le courtage hypothécaire, les sociétés coopératives et les fournisseurs de services qui facturent les assureurs automobiles pour le paiement de demandes d’indemnités d’accident légales.

La Direction des services juridiques (DSJ) de la CSFO fournit des conseils et des services juridiques au surintendant.

Prière de consulter le site Web de la CSFO pour en savoir plus :
www.fsco.gov.on.ca

Ce que nous faisons

Deux équipes de professionnels juridiques composent la DSJ de la CSFO :

  • Le Groupe des avocats plaidants;
  • Le Groupe des conseillers juridiques.

Les avocats de la DSJ de la CSFO :

  • fournissent des conseils juridiques au surintendant dans les secteurs réglementés par la CSFO;
  • conduisent des litiges au nom du surintendant devant le Tribunal des services financiers, les cours de l’Ontario et d’autres tribunaux décisionnels ontariens;
  • intentent des poursuites en vertu des lois administrées par la CSFO;
  • collaborent avec le personnel des services stratégiques et juridiques du ministère des Finances dans les dossiers législatifs qui touchent les secteurs réglementés par la CSFO.

Prière de consulter les sites Web de la CSFO pour en savoir plus :
www.fsco.gov.on.ca
www.fsco.gov.on.ca/fr/about/Pages/legal-student-program.aspx

Nos principales causes

Voici quelques-unes des principales affaires auxquelles nous avons travaillé :

  • Monsanto Canada Inc. c. Ontario (Surintendant des services financiers), 2004 CSC 54, [2004] 3 R.C.S. 152 – une décision historique exigeant la distribution de l’excédent aux cotisants d’un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées lors de la liquidation partielle de celui-ci;
  • Nolan c. Kerry (Canada) Inc., 2009 CSC 39, [2009] 2 R.C.S. 678 – une importante décision qui a conclu que la norme de contrôle lors d’appels concernant l’interprétation des régimes de retraite du Tribunal des services financiers est celle de la décision raisonnable, que les frais relatifs à un régime peuvent être payés à partir de la caisse de retraite et qu’un employeur peut utiliser un excédent accumulé dans le volet à prestations déterminées de son régime pour respecter ses obligations de financement dans le volet à cotisations déterminées;
  • Boucher c. Stelco Inc., 2005 CSC 64, [2005] 3 R.C.S. 279 – une affaire ayant conclu que les participants non ontariens d’un régime de retraite ontarien ne pouvaient contester la décision du surintendant relativement à la liquidation partielle d’un régime de retraite au moyen d’un recours dans une cour québécoise. Cette affaire a été portée devant la Cour suprême par l’intermédiaire de la Commission des régimes de retraite de l’Ontario, de la Cour divisionnaire et de la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario;
  • Les poursuites en matière d’assurance-automobile – de concert avec le Bureau d’assurance du Canada, la CSFO collabore étroitement avec divers services policiers pour intenter des poursuites en vertu de la Loi sur les assurances contre différentes cliniques et des fournisseurs de soins de santé qui facturent abusivement les compagnies d’assurance pour leurs services.

Prière de consulter notre site Web pour connaître d’autres affaires auxquelles nous avons travaillé : www.fsco.gov.on.ca/fr/about/Pages/legal-student-program.aspx

Ce que font les étudiants

Nos étudiants stagiaires :

  • ont la chance de travailler à la fois de manière indépendante et en équipe, avec des avocats d’expérience dans un éventail de dossiers juridiques;
  • peuvent s’attendre à intervenir dans divers domaines du droit, à perfectionner leurs compétences et à préciser leurs intérêts;
  • font partie intégrante de notre division et se voient attribuer d’importantes responsabilités dès le début de leur stage auprès de nous, y compris la participation, avec les avocats, à tous les aspects du règlement des litiges ainsi que de la rédaction d’avis et de textes juridiques;
  • assistent à des réunions avec les avocats pour s’instruire au sujet des interactions avec les clients et de la préparation d’un dossier, ainsi qu’à des audiences devant des tribunaux pour voir des avocats chevronnés en action, plus particulièrement dans les affaires auxquelles ils ont travaillé;
  • sont jumelés avec un directeur de stage particulier, qui les appuiera et les aidera tout au long du stage, y compris pour l’établissement de liens avec d’autres avocats;
  • ont la possibilité de participer à des programmes éducatifs pertinents, outre les séminaires d’études destinés aux stagiaires de l’ensemble du ministère du Procureur général, y compris les programmes proposés par le Barreau du Haut-Canada, l’Association du Barreau canadien, l’Association du Barreau de l’Ontario, l’Advocates Society et l’Association des avocats de la Couronne.

Nos étudiants occupant un emploi d’été :

  • ont la chance de vivre une expérience stimulante dans un milieu de travail convivial;
  • participent à toutes les étapes des dossiers que nous préparons, à l’instar de nos étudiants stagiaires;
  • sont jumelés avec un mentor, qui les appuiera, les guidera et leur fournira une rétroaction;
  • peuvent poser leur candidature dans le cadre d’un stage pour revenir travailler à la DSJ.

Prière de consulter notre site Web pour en savoir plus :
www.fsco.gov.on.ca/fr/about/Pages/legal-student-program.aspx

Pourquoi choisir notre Bureau

  1. Notre division veille au maintien d’un climat convivial, propice à la réussite des étudiants sur les plans personnel et professionnel.
  2. Les étudiants sont appelés à jouer un rôle de premier plan dans notre équipe constamment occupée. Nous nous engageons à offrir aux étudiants la possibilité de prendre part à d’importants et stimulants dossiers juridiques dans le secteur public, et à apporter des contributions utiles à notre division en devenant membres de comités et en participant aux programmes éducatifs du MPG et de la CSFO.
  3. En tant qu’organisme de réglementation indépendant, la CSFO offre aux étudiants en droit stagiaires ou occupant un emploi d’été la chance de joindre une équipe de professionnels juridiques à la fine pointe du droit public. Nos étudiants bénéficient d’une expérience de qualité et bien équilibrée.
  4. Vous aurez amplement l’occasion de parfaire vos compétences en ce qui a trait au règlement de litiges ou au travail de conseillers juridiques en général, si tel est votre souhait, en vous livrant à des analyses percutantes et en assistant ou en participant à des procédures judiciaires ou administratives avec des avocats chevronnés de la CSFO.
  5. La DSJ de la CSFO est une option particulièrement intéressante pour les étudiants désireux de toucher un vaste éventail de questions juridiques au sein d’une équipe conviviale et relativement restreinte. Notre division offre une expérience qui conviendra particulièrement aux étudiants désireux de se spécialiser dans une pratique de réglementation axée sur les régimes de retraite et les services financiers.

Prière de consulter les sites Web de la CSFO pour en savoir plus :
www.fsco.gov.on.ca
www.fsco.gov.on.ca/fr/about/Pages/legal-student-program.aspx

Pour communiquer avec nous

Scott A. Lamb
Avocat, Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario
Scott.Lamb@fsco.gov.on.ca
416 590-7024