Constitutional Law Branch

Office Snapshot

  • Location: Toronto
  • Lawyers: 23
  • Articling Students: 3
  • Summer Law Students: 2
  • Types of Law: Administrative, Civil, Constitutional, Human Rights

Who we are

The Constitutional Law Branch (CLB) provides advice to the Ontario government regarding constitutional issues pertaining to programs, policies, and legislation as well as constitution reform. While our practice is mostly civil litigation, we often handle significant constitutional issues in provincial prosecutions. We also act as the government’s counsel during constitutional challenges at all levels of court.

Our cases often raise issues of national public importance and therefore tend to garner significant attention. Our practice is fascinating, intellectually challenging and complex. The work requires a flexible, sensitive and creative approach to legal and public policy issues, in addition to a sound knowledge of the law. The concentration of expertise in constitutional litigation and law in the Branch is difficult to find elsewhere in Canada.

What we do

Counsel in the CLB:

  • Provide advice to government on the Constitutional risks associated with new or existing government programs, policies and legislation, and provide risk-mitigation strategies
  • Litigate constitutional cases on behalf of the Government of Ontario (with the exception of criminal cases and aboriginal and treaty rights cases) before tribunals and all levels of court.

Our major cases

CLB counsel have argued many of the leading Constitutional cases that you have studied in law school, including:

  • Auton v. British Columbia: Therapy for children with autism
  • Eldridge v. British Columbia:  Entitlement to sign language interpreters for health services
  • Gosselin v. Quebec: Age discrimination and positive obligation for social assistance
  • Health Services Bargaining Assn. v. British Columbia: The right to bargain collectively
  • Irwin Toy Ltd. v. Quebec: Freedom of expression and advertising
  • M. v. H.: Definition of spouse in the Family Law Act
  • Montréal (City) v. 2952-1366 Québec Inc.: Freedom of expression and use of public property
  • R. v. Kapp: Aboriginal fishing and affirmative action programs
  • Vriend v. Alberta: Sexual orientation and the Alberta Human Rights Code

What students do

Articling

CLB articling students are involved in all stages of a file. Students are given a great deal of responsibility, though counsel are always available for consultation and advice. Specifically, students:

  • Participate with counsel in all phases of actions, applications, and appeals
  • Are called on to draft pleadings and factums, organize and analyze documents, prepare materials for and attend upon motions, and interview and prepare witnesses
  • Are encouraged to develop their litigation skills, and are given ample opportunity to do so by attending with counsel at trials, appeals, pre-trial conferences, motions, and examinations for discovery
  • May have carriage of their own files and the opportunity to make submissions before tribunals or at the provincial court level when appropriate.

Our students also provide in-depth Constitutional research on intellectually stimulating issues.  Where research is done in support of active litigation, students are encouraged to attend any proceedings that take place.  Where possible, we endeavour to bring each of our articling students to the Supreme Court of Canada.

Priority is given to applicants with excellent academic credentials, strong research skills, interest in litigation, and a demonstrated commitment to constitutional law and policy. We believe that creativity is fostered by intelligent open minds, and that candidates from diverse backgrounds with a shared commitment to the highest ideals of public service foster that environment.

Summer Law

We provide summer law students with a stimulating experience in a collegial work environment.  Like our articling students, our summer law students are involved in all stages of our files. Our summer law students are provided with a mentor to provide support, guidance and feedback. Many of our summer law students return to our office for their articles.

Why choose us

"I can't imagine there's anywhere else one could article and get the in-depth look at Constitutional law, and Constitutional practice, that I got at the Constitutional Law Branch. The opportunity to focus on this area of law full time was incredible." Former Articling Student

We do what many law students dream of – Constitutional law – every day.  We offer a work experience not available elsewhere: the opportunity to engage on a daily basis with some of the most important legal and public policy issues arising in the country today.

Our students are supported and evaluated throughout their time with us. While the counsel who assigns work on a file provides day-to-day supervision on that file, we have a mentoring system in place to advise our students on issues as they arise and provide feedback on work performed. Each student mentor is responsible for ensuring the students have a fulfilling, varied, and balanced articling experience. In addition to the MAG-wide educational opportunities, our students can attend a series of junior counsel seminars that provide practical information and advice. Our students may also attend educational programs presented by the Law Society of Upper Canada, the Canadian and Ontario Bar Associations, or the Advocates’ Society.

Distinguished former counsel in our office include:

  • Janet E. Minor, Treasurer of the Law Society of Upper Canada
  • Hon. Justice Robert E. Charney, Ontario Superior Court of Justice
  • Hon. Justice Shaun Nakatsuru, Ontario Court of Justice
  • Hon. Justice John Cavarzan, Ontario Superior Court of Justice
  • Arif Virani, MP for Parkdale-High Park and Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Canadian Heritage (Multiculturalism)
  • The late David W. Mundell, Q.C.
  • Carol Creighton, Q.C.
  • Elizabeth Goldberg, past CEO, Law Foundation of Ontario
  • Tanya Lee, CEO, Law Foundation of Ontario
  • Lori Sterling, Deputy Minister of Labour, Government of Canada
  • Prof. Lorraine E. Weinrib, University of Toronto Faculty of Law
  • Prof. Timothy Macklem, Head of School of Law, King’s College London

Contact us

Joshua Hunter, Counsel
Chair, Constitutional Law Branch Student Committee
joshua.hunter@ontario.ca
416-326-3840

Direction du droit constitutionnel

Aperçu du Bureau

  • Emplacement : Toronto
  • Avocats : 23
  • Stagiaires en droit : 3
  • Étudiants du programme d'emplois d'été : 2
  • Domaine de droit : administratif, civil, constitutionnel, droits de la personne

Qui nous sommes

La Direction du droit constitutionnel conseille le gouvernement de l’Ontario sur les questions constitutionnelles liées aux programmes, aux politiques et aux lois, ainsi que sur la réforme constitutionnelle. Dans notre pratique, nous touchons surtout aux litiges civils, quoique nous nous chargions aussi d’affaires importantes en droit constitutionnel qui s’inscrivent dans le cadre de poursuites provinciales. Dans les cas de contestation constitutionnelle, nous plaidons devant les tribunaux à titre d'avocats du gouvernement, et ce, à tous les paliers du système judiciaire. 

Nos dossiers soulèvent fréquemment des questions d’importance publique nationale et tendent ainsi à susciter beaucoup d’attention. Notre pratique est à la fois fascinante, stimulante sur le plan intellectuel et complexe. Le travail exige une approche souple, sensible et créative à l’égard d’enjeux juridiques et de politiques publiques, ainsi qu’une solide connaissance du droit. La concentration d’experts en droit et en litiges constitutionnels que l’on retrouve à la Direction est pratiquement sans pareille ailleurs au Canada.

Ce que nous faisons

Les avocats de la Direction du droit constitutionnel :

  • conseillent le gouvernement sur les risques constitutionnels liés aux lois, aux politiques et aux programmes du gouvernement nouveaux ou déjà en place, et proposent des stratégies en vue d’atténuer les risques;
  • plaident des causes constitutionnelles au nom du gouvernement de l’Ontario (sauf les affaires criminelles ou en lien avec les droits des Autochtones et les droits issus de traités) devant les tribunaux et tous les échelons du système judiciaire.

Nos principales causes

Les avocats de la Direction du droit constitutionnel ont plaidé bon nombre des causes constitutionnelles clés que vous avez étudiées à l’école de droit, notamment :

  • Auton c. Colombie-Britannique : Financement d’une thérapie pour enfants autistes
  • Eldridge c. Colombie-Britannique : Droit à des interprètes en langage des signes pour l’accès aux services de santé
  • Gosselin c. Québec : Discrimination fondée sur l’âge et obligation positive de mesures d’aide sociale
  • Health Services Bargaining Association c. Colombie-Britannique : Droit de négocier collectivement
  • Irwin Toy Ltd. c. Québec : Liberté d’expression et publicité
  • M. c. H. : Définition du terme « conjoint » dans la Loi sur le droit de la famille
  • Montréal (Ville) c. 2952-1366 Québec Inc. : Liberté d’expression et utilisation de la propriété publique
  • R. c. Kapp : Pêches autochtones et programmes d’encouragement à l’action positive
  • Vriend c. Alberta : Orientation sexuelle et Code des droits de la personne de l’Alberta

Ce que font les étudiants

Stage :

Les stagiaires en droit de la Direction du droit constitutionnel participent à toutes les étapes des dossiers. Les étudiants assument d’importantes responsabilités et peuvent toujours bénéficier des conseils des avocats. Plus précisément, les étudiants :

  • participent avec les avocats à toutes les étapes des instances, requêtes et appels;
  • sont appelés à rédiger des actes de procédure et des mémoires, à organiser et à analyser des documents, à préparer des dossiers de requêtes et comparaître pour celles-ci, et à interviewer et préparer les témoins;
  • sont encouragés à développer leurs compétences en matière de plaidoirie, ce qu’ils ont l’occasion de faire en accompagnant les avocats aux procès, appels, conférences préparatoires, requêtes et interrogatoires préalables;
  • peuvent s’occuper de leurs propres dossiers de façon autonome, et donc comparaître et plaider devant les tribunaux ou en cour provinciale, le cas échéant.

Nos stagiaires effectuent également des recherches approfondies sur des questions constitutionnelles stimulantes sur le plan intellectuel. Quand les recherches ont pour but de faire avancer le dossier d’une affaire en instance, les stagiaires sont encouragés à assister à toutes les procédures qui ont lieu. Dans la mesure du possible, nous essayons d’amener chacun de nos stagiaires à la Cour suprême du Canada.

La priorité est donnée aux candidats ayant d’excellents résultats scolaires, de solides aptitudes en recherche, un intérêt pour les litiges et un engagement prouvé envers le droit constitutionnel. Nous croyons que la créativité se nourrit d’une combinaison d’intelligence et d’ouverture d’esprit et que les candidats de divers horizons partageant le même engagement pour les plus hauts idéaux de service public favorisent cet environnement.

Programme d’emplois d’été :

Nous offrons aux étudiants du programme d’emplois d’été une expérience stimulante dans un milieu de travail à l’esprit collégial. À l’instar de nos stagiaires, nos étudiants du programme d’emplois d’été participent à toutes les étapes de nos dossiers. Chaque étudiant est jumelé à un mentor qui lui fournit soutien, orientation et rétroaction. Bon nombre de nos étudiants du programme d’emplois d’été reviennent à notre bureau pour effectuer leur stage.

Pourquoi choisir notre Bureau

« La Direction du droit constitutionnel est le lieu idéal pour poser un regard en profondeur sur le droit constitutionnel et la pratique du droit constitutionnel. D’avoir la possibilité de se consacrer à temps plein à ce domaine du droit a été une expérience formidable. » – Ancien stagiaire en droit

Notre travail de tous les jours, c’est ce dont rêvent nombre d’étudiants en droit : le droit constitutionnel. Nous offrons une expérience de travail impossible à trouver ailleurs : la possibilité de prendre part quotidiennement à des débats visant les questions de droit et de politique publique les plus importantes à être soulevées au pays aujourd’hui.

Nos étudiants sont appuyés et évalués tout au long de leur passage chez nous. Les stagiaires, dont la supervision quotidienne est assurée par les avocats qui leur attribuent les différents dossiers, peuvent aussi compter sur un système de mentorat, grâce auquel ils peuvent bénéficier des conseils d’avocats chevronnés pour trouver des solutions aux difficultés qu’ils rencontrent; le mentor fait aussi des commentaires sur le travail du stagiaire. Chaque mentor a la responsabilité de s’assurer que son stagiaire vit une expérience variée, équilibrée, complète et enrichissante. En plus des occasions de formation offertes à la grandeur du ministère du Procureur général, nos étudiants peuvent assister à une série de séminaires pour avocats juniors, qui fournissent des renseignements et des conseils pratiques. Nos étudiants peuvent également suivre les programmes de formation offerts par le Barreau du Haut-Canada, les Associations du Barreau canadien et du Barreau de l’Ontario ou l’Advocates’ Society.

Ancien avocats distingué de notre bureau sont :

  • Janet E. Minor, Trésorières du Barreau du Haut-Canada
  • L’honorable Robert E. Charney, Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario
  • L’honorable Shaun Nakatsuru, Cour de justice de l’Ontario
  • L’honorable John Cavarzan, Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario
  • Arif Virani, Député de Parkdale-High Park et Secrétaire parlementaire de la ministre du Patrimoine canadien (Multiculturalisme)
  • Le défunt David W. Mundell, Q.C.
  • Carol Creighton, Q.C.
  • Elizabeth Goldberg, ancien chef de la direction, Fondation du droit de l’Ontario
  • Tanya Lee, chef de la direction, Fondation du droit de l’Ontario
  • Lori Sterling, Sous-ministre du travail, Gouvernement de Canada
  • Prof. Lorraine E. Weinrib, faculté de droit de l'Université de Toronto
  • Prof. Timothy Macklem, Chef de la faculté de droit, King’s College London

Pour communiquer avec nous

Joshua Hunter, avocat
PrĂ©sident, Comité des emplois d’été des étudiants et des stages en droit, Direction du droit constitutionnel
joshua.hunter@ontario.ca
416-326-3840