Office of the Children's Lawyer

Office Snapshot

  • Location: Toronto
  • Lawyers: 24
  • Articling Students: 2
  • Summer Law Students: 1
  • Types of Law: Civil, Estates, Family, Insurance, Trusts

Who we are

The Office of the Children’s Lawyer (OCL) operates as an independent law office within the Family Justice Services Division of the Ministry of the Attorney General.  We provide legal services to children under the age of 18 in select civil law matters. We are the only office of this kind in the Province of Ontario. As such, we have been involved in a number of leading cases that have impacted on the evolution of the law as it relates to children, as well as on the specific legal interests of the children we represent.

What we do

The Children’s Lawyer and a staff of twenty-four lawyers represent the interests of children in various areas of law including:

  • Civil litigation
  • Estates
  • Child custody and access disputes
  • Child protection proceedings.

The Office of the Children’s Lawyer also has clinical investigators on staff who may be assigned to assist lawyers who represent children in particularly difficult custody and access cases, or to provide a report to the Court according to section 112 of the Courts of Justice Act

The OCL has two major legal areas - property rights and personal rights. The property rights area focuses on civil litigation and estate and trust litigation. The personal rights area is responsible for custody and access and child protection cases.

Property Rights

Civil Litigation

A child is considered by law to be a person under legal disability who cannot sue or be sued without an adult representative in the form of a litigation guardian.  Where a minor child is a party to a court proceeding, The Children’s Lawyer will:

  • Act as litigation guardian of the child and provide legal representation when required to do so by an Act or the Rules of the Court
  • Act as legal representative to a minor who is not a party to the proceeding but has an interest that requires protection, or our office may institute an action in circumstances where the parent or guardian is unable to pursue a claim
  • Review proposed settlements involving minors referred by the Court and contest them, where necessary, on the basis that they are not in the best interests of the injured child.

Estate and Trust Litigation

In the area of estate and trust litigation, The Office of the Children’s Lawyer can act for minors, unborn and unascertained beneficiaries in:

  • Will interpretation
  • Will challenges
  • Applications for removal of trustees
  • Succession Law Reform Act proceedings for support of dependants
  • Variations of trust and sales
  • Encumbrances of property belonging to minors.  

The OCL also reviews estate administration accounts of personal representatives and trustees where a minor has an interest in an estate or trust as well as accounts of a guardian of property for a minor. 

Personal Rights

Custody and Access

Court requests for the appointment of The Office of the Children’s Lawyer to provide children with independent legal representation have increased dramatically over the past several years. When this occurs, The Children’s Lawyer has the discretion to appoint either a legal representative or a clinical investigator, or both, who would:

  • Represent children in custody and access proceedings under the Children’s Law Reform Act and the Divorce Act  
  • Interact with family members, psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, school officials and other persons who may have relevant information about the child-client
  • Negotiate a settlement, where possible.

Child Protection

The Office of the Children’s Lawyer provides independent legal representation for children in protection proceedings under the Child and Family Services Act. Children may be in need of protection for many reasons, including abuse and neglect, and therefore may be removed from their families by the Children’s Aid Society through Court Order. Also, our counsel, often with the assistance of students, handle many of the more difficult and complex cases such as ritual abuse, drug-addicted newborns and challenges under the Charter of Rights and Freedoms.  We also provide legal advice to children over the age of seven and minor parents, whose consent to an adoption is required under the Child and Family Services Act.

Our major cases

  • IN THE ESTATE OF C. E. S., deceased [2009] O.J. No. 620:  This was an application by the Children’s Lawyer to be appointed litigation guardian of a six year old child for an order under the Succession Law Reform Act making adequate provision for the child’s support out of the estate of C.S., and for an order that the proceeds of an insurance policy owned by the deceased and naming his brother as beneficiary, be included in the value of the estate to be available to satisfy the claim for support. 
  • Kenora-Patricia Child and Family Services v. M.(A.), [2004] W.D.F.L. 38, 125 A.C.W.S. (3d) 841, 45 R.F.L. (5th) 418 (O.C.J.): This was a child protection matter involving a non-verbal, autistic child.  The Court found that this case demonstrated the appropriateness of representation for non-verbal children, depending on the circumstances of the case, despite their inability to give instructions.  This included the ability of child’s counsel to raise constitutional claims on the child’s behalf, where the circumstances justified doing so. 
  • Children’s Aid Society of Algoma v. D.P., [2007] O.J. No. 3601 (S.C.J.): This was a child protection case involving an appeal by the Attorney General from orders requiring it to produce police and correctional service records to the Children’s Aid Society and establishing terms for further distribution of those materials to the parties. The OCL supported the orders for disclosure. The Court held that there is substantial public interest in supporting the work of Children’s Aid Societies by allowing them to have access to unredacted records. The Court further determined that, provided the general subject matter was relevant, the documents should be produced except for particularly sensitive private material and subject to public policy arguments and privilege, and controls on further dissemination. 
  • Children’s Aid Society of Toronto v. D.P., [2005] O.J. No. 4075 (O.C.A.): This was a child protection matter, which addressed the issue of access following the making of a Crown wardship order.  Although this decision was overturned on other grounds, the Ontario Court of Appeal affirmed the Superior Court’s ruling with respect to the “silent as to access” orders.  The Court of Appeal held that a trial judge cannot circumvent the provisions of ss. 59(2) by making an order that is silent as to access, in order to give the Society the right to determine whether a parent should have access indefinitely or pending an adoption placement.  Where a parent, as in the case before the Court, cannot satisfy the trier of fact that access should be granted, the Court is required to make an order of no access.  The OCL argued the position that was ultimately endorsed by the Court of Appeal on this issue.

What students do

Articling

OCL articling students spend a rotation in each of the property and personal rights areas.

During the property rights rotation, students are involved in various aspects of the civil and estate litigation files including:

  • Drafting pleadings and other related documents
  • Attending motions before Masters
  • Conducting legal research
  • Ascertaining minors' entitlements under a will.

During the personal rights rotation, articling students:

  • Represent children in the Ontario Court of Justice under the supervision of lawyers
  • Assist lawyers in cases before the Superior Court of Justice
  • Interview child-clients, parents and other witnesses
  • Are involved in discussions with lawyers for the parties
  • Consult with various mental health professionals
  • Conduct interim proceedings
  • Utilize dispute resolution skills
  • Assist lawyers on appeals and trials
  • Conduct legal research
  • May assist in drafting facta for appeals.

In both the personal and property rights rotations, articling students have carriage of their own files under the supervision of counsel.

Summer Law

Responsibilities of summer law students may include:

  • Completing research assignments
  • Summarizing cases for use in our internal research database
  • Drafting motion materials
  • Summarizing transcripts
  • Reviewing and organizing complex files
  • Assisting counsel with preparing affidavits of documents
  • Assisting counsel with preparing for trials and appeals.

Summer law students are given many opportunities to accompany counsel to court appearances, meetings with clients and parties, settlement meetings, and mediation.

Our office is involved in a number of high profile cases and students, in addition to providing research assistance, may assist lawyers in preparing for those trials and appeals.  Even if students are not directly involved in assisting on a particular file, efforts are made to expose students to interesting shadowing opportunities and students are given on-going opportunities to participate in continuing legal education both within and outside of government.

Why choose us

For students wishing to gain excellent practical litigation experience, particularly in family law and civil litigation, the OCL gives direct and meaningful exposure to the Court system. Students learn invaluable negotiation skills and mediation techniques, which are utilized when working toward a resolution in the best interests of our child clients. We consider articling to be a period of professional development for our students and seek to expose them to a wide variety of practical legal and educational experiences.

Lawyers within our office are very approachable and take time to provide direction on individual files and training in relevant areas of law and rules of evidence.

The following distinguished members of the judiciary were former counsel in our office:

  • The Honourable Madam Justice Pawagi, Ontario Court of Justice
  • The Honourable Madam Justice Paulseth, Ontario Court of Justice
  • The Honourable Mr. Justice Atwood, Ontario Court of Justice

Contact us

Office of the Children's Lawyer
393 University Avenue, 14th Floor
Toronto, ON M5G 1E6

Tel: (416) 314-8000
Fax: (416) 314-8050

Bureau de l’avocat des enfants

Aperçu du Bureau

  • Emplacement : Toronto
  • Avocats : 24
  • Stagiaires en droit : 2
  • Étudiants du programme d'emplois d'été : 1
  • Domaine de droit : Civil, successions, famille, assurances et fiducies

Qui nous sommes

Le Bureau de l’avocat des enfants (BAE) fonctionne comme un cabinet d’avocats indépendant au sein de la Division des services de justice à la famille du ministère du Procureur général. Nous fournissons des services juridiques aux enfants de moins de 18 ans à l’égard de certaines questions de droit civil. Nous sommes le seul bureau du genre dans la province de l’Ontario et, à ce titre, nous avons été impliqués dans un certain nombre de procès importants qui ont influé sur l’évolution du droit qui s’applique aux enfants ainsi que sur les intérêts juridiques des enfants que nous représentons.

Ce que nous faisons

Le Bureau de l’avocat des enfants et son personnel composé de 24 avocats représentent les intérêts d’enfants dans divers domaines de droit, y compris les suivants :

  • contentieux civils;
  • successions;
  • litiges en matière de garde d’enfants et de droits de visite;
  • procédures de protection de l’enfance.

Le Bureau de l’avocat des enfants est également composé d’enquêteurs cliniques qui peuvent être affectés aux avocats qui représentent des enfants dans des dossiers particulièrement difficiles en matière de garde et de droits de visite, ou avoir pour mandat de faire rapport au tribunal en vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi sur les tribunaux judiciaires.

Le BAE compte deux principaux domaines juridiques : les droits de propriété et les droits personnels. Le domaine des droits de propriété couvre les questions de contentieux civil et les litiges en matière de succession et de fiducie. Le domaine des droits personnels couvre la garde d’enfants et les droits de visite, ainsi que les dossiers de protection de l’enfance.

Droits de propriété

Contentieux civil

La loi considère un enfant comme une personne en état d’incapacité légale qui ne peut pas intenter de poursuites ni être poursuivie sans être représentée par un adulte qui agit comme tuteur à l’instance. Lorsqu’un enfant mineur est partie à une instance judiciaire, l’avocat des enfants exerce les fonctions suivantes :

  • il agit comme tuteur à l’instance de l’enfant et le représente juridiquement lorsqu’une loi ou les règles du tribunal l’exigent;
  • il agit comme représentant juridique de toute personne mineure qui n’est pas partie à l’instance mais dont les intérêts doivent être protégés, ou lorsque le Bureau pourrait intenter une poursuite dans des circonstances où le parent ou le tuteur se trouve dans l’impossibilité de le faire;
  • il passe en revue les propositions de règlement mettant en cause des enfants mineurs qui lui sont transmises par le tribunal, et au besoin il les conteste si elles ne sont pas dans l’intérêt de l’enfant ayant subi un préjudice.

Litiges en matière de succession et de fiducie

En ce qui a trait aux litiges en matière de succession et de fiducie, le Bureau de l’avocat des enfants peut agir pour le compte de personnes mineures, d’enfants conçus et de bénéficiaires non identifiés, dans les circonstances suivantes :

  • interprétation de testament;
  • contestation de testament;
  • demande de destitution d’un fiduciaire;
  • requête d’ordonnance alimentaire pour personnes à charge en vertu de la Loi portant réforme du droit des successions;
  • modification de fiducies et ventes;
  • charges grevant un bien appartenant à un enfant mineur.

Le BAE surveille également les comptes d’administration de succession des représentants personnels et des fiduciaires lorsqu’un enfant détient un intérêt à l’égard d’une succession ou d’une fiducie, ainsi que les comptes du tuteur aux biens d’un enfant mineur.

Droits personnels

Droits de garde et droits de visite

Au cours des dernières années, le nombre de demandes de représentation juridique d’enfants, émanant de tribunaux et adressées au Bureau de l’avocat des enfants, a augmenté de façon considérable. Dans ces circonstances, l’avocat des enfants peut, à son gré, nommer un avocat ou un enquêteur clinique, ou les deux, pour s’acquitter des tâches suivantes :

  • représenter l’enfant dans le cadre d’une procédure de garde et de droits de visite en vertu de la Loi portant réforme du droit de l’enfance et de la Loi sur le divorce;
  • entrer en communication avec des membres de la famille, les psychologues, les psychiatres, les travailleurs sociaux, les représentants d’écoles et d’autres personnes pouvant être en possession de renseignements pertinents sur le client-enfant;
  • négocier un règlement à l’amiable lorsque c’est possible.

Protection de l’enfance

Le Bureau de l’avocat des enfants fournit des services de représentation juridique indépendante à des enfants dans le cadre d’instances portant sur la protection de l’enfance en vertu de la Loi sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille. Un enfant peut avoir besoin d’être protégé pour différentes raisons, notamment en cas de mauvais traitements et de négligence, et il peut donc être nécessaire que la Société d’aide à l’enfance le retire de sa famille aux termes d’une ordonnance d’un tribunal. De plus, nos avocats, souvent avec l’aide d’étudiants en droit, se chargent de plusieurs des cas les plus difficiles et complexes tels que les cas de violence rituelle, de nouveau-nés intoxiqués par des drogues et des contestations en vertu de la Chartre des droits et libertés. Nous fournissons également des conseils juridiques à des enfants de plus de sept ans et à des parents mineurs, dont le consentement est exigé en matière d’adoption en vertu de la Loi sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille.

Nos principales causes

  • IN THE ESTATE OF C. E. S., deceased [2009] O.J. No. 620 : Requête de l’avocat des enfants en vue d’être nommé tuteur à l’instance d’un enfant de six ans relativement à une ordonnance en vertu de la Loi portant réforme du droit des successions prévoyant le versement d’une pension alimentaire pour l’enfant à même le produit de la succession de C.S., et pour obtenir une ordonnance stipulant que le produit d’une assurance-vie, souscrite par le défunt et désignant son frère comme bénéficiaire, soit inclus dans la valeur de la succession devant servir au versement de la pension alimentaire.
  • Kenora-Patricia Child and Family Services c. M.(A.), [2004] W.D.F.L. 38, 125 A.C.W.S. (3d) 841, 45 R.F.L. (5th) 418 (O.C.J.) : Cause de protection de l’enfance mettant en cause un enfant autistique ne parlant pas. Le tribunal a statué que cette instance démontrait le caractère approprié de la représentation par avocat des enfants ne parlant pas, compte tenu des circonstances en question, et ce, malgré leur incapacité à donner instructions. Cela comprenait, entre autres, la capacité de l’avocat de l’enfant à formuler des demandes d’ordre constitutionnel au nom de ce dernier lorsque les circonstances le justifient.
  • Société d’aide à l’enfance de Algoma c. D.P., [2007] O.J. No. 3601 (S.C.J.) : Cause de protection de l’enfance portant sur un appel du procureur général d’ordonnances exigeant qu’il remette les dossiers de la police et des Services correctionnels à la société d’aide à l’enfance, et fixant les modalités en vertu desquelles ces documents peuvent être remis aux parties. Le BAE appuyait les ordonnances de divulgation. La Cour a jugé qu’il était largement dans l’intérêt du public de soutenir le travail des sociétés d’aide à l’enfance en leur permettant d’avoir accès à des dossiers non expurgés. De plus, la Cour a établi qu’à la condition que l’objet de la demande soit pertinent, les documents devaient être produits sauf dans le cas de documents personnels de nature particulièrement délicate et sous réserve des arguments et des privilèges d’ordre public, et qu’on en contrôle la diffusion ultérieure.
  • Société d’aide à l’enfance de Toronto c. D.P., [2005] O.J. No. 4075 (O.C.A.) : Décision en matière de protection de l’enfance qui portait sur les droits de visite après que la Couronne ait émis une ordonnance de tutelle. Même si cette décision a été invalidée pour d’autres motifs, la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario a confirmé la décision de la Cour supérieure à l’égard des ordonnances « passant sous silence les droits de visite ». La Cour d’appel a statué que le juge de première instance ne pouvait pas contourner les dispositions du paragraphe 59(2) en émettant une ordonnance qui omet de faire état des droits de visite, afin de conférer à la société d’aide à l’enfance le droit de déterminer si un parent doit avoir des droits de visite définitifs ou temporaires dans l’attente d’un placement en vue d'une adoption. Lorsqu’un parent, comme c’est le cas en l’instance, ne parvient pas à convaincre le juge des faits que des droits d’accès devraient être accordés, le tribunal est tenu d’émettre une ordonnance sans droits de visite. Le BAE a fait valoir ce point de vue qui, en fin de compte, a été avalisé par la Cour d’appel.

Ce que font les étudiants

Stages en droit

Les stagiaires en droit du BAE font une rotation dans chacun des domaines juridiques suivants : les droits de propriété et les droits personnels.

Durant la phase sur les droits de propriété, les stagiaires prennent part à divers aspects des dossiers du contentieux civils et de litiges en successions, y compris aux tâches suivantes :

  • rédaction d’actes de procédure et de documents connexes;
  • comparution à des audiences de motions devant des protonotaires;
  • recherches juridiques;
  • évaluation des droits de personnes mineures aux termes de testaments.

Durant la phase sur les droits personnels, les stagiaires :

  • représentent des enfants devant la Cour de justice de l’Ontario sous la supervision d’avocats;
  • aident les avocats dans des causes devant la Cour supérieure de justice;
  • rencontrent les clients-enfants, les parents et les autres témoins;
  • prennent part à des discussions avec les avocats des parties;
  • consultent divers professionnels de la santé mentale;
  • se chargent des mesures préparatoires;
  • utilisent leurs compétences en matière de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends;
  • aident les avocats dans le cadre d’appels et de procès;
  • effectuent des recherches juridiques;
  • peuvent être appelés à collaborer à la rédaction des mémoires d’appel.

Dans l’une ou l’autre des phases précitées, les stagiaires ont la responsabilité de leurs dossiers sous la supervision d’un avocat.

Programme d'emplois d'été

Les étudiants en droit qui occupent un emploi d’été peuvent avoir les responsabilités suivantes :

  • travaux de recherches;
  • préparation de résumés de jurisprudence destinés à notre base de recherche à l’interne;
  • rédaction de documents de motions;
  • préparation de résumés des transcriptions des débats judiciaires;
  • revue et organisation de dossiers complexes;
  • aide à la préparation d’affidavits de documents pour l’avocat;
  • aide à la préparation de procès et d’appels.

Les étudiants en droit du programme d’emploi d’été ont souvent l’occasion d’accompagner un avocat aux audiences d’un tribunal, de rencontrer les clients et les parties, de prendre part aux rencontres de règlement à l’amiable et de médiation.

Le Bureau prend part à nombre de causes qui retiennent l’attention et les étudiants, en plus d’aider aux travaux de recherche, peuvent être appelés à aider les avocats à préparer ces procès et appels. Même si les étudiants ne participent pas directement à un dossier donné, nous nous efforçons de les exposer à des possibilités d’accompagnement intéressantes en plus de leur offrir de prendre part au processus de formation continue tant au sein du gouvernement qu’à l’externe.

Pourquoi choisir notre Bureau

Le BAE permet aux étudiants qui désirent acquérir une excellente expérience pratique en matière de contentieux, en particulier en droit civil et droit de la famille, d’avoir un contact direct et significatif avec le système judiciaire. Les étudiants acquièrent des compétences et techniques inestimables en matière de négociation et de médiation qui sont utilisées afin d’en arriver à des solutions qui sont dans l’intérêt supérieur de nos clients-enfants. Nous considérons le stage comme une période de perfectionnement pour nos étudiants et tentons donc de les exposer à une large palette d’expériences juridiques et éducatives pratiques.

Les avocats du Bureau sont très abordables et prennent le temps de donner des directives sur les dossiers individuels et d’assurer une formation à l’égard des domaines de droit et des règles de preuve pertinents.

Les membres suivants de la magistrature sont d’anciens avocats du Bureau :

  • Madame la juge Pawagi, Cour de justice de l’Ontario
  • Madame la juge Paulseth, Cour de justice de l’Ontario
  • Monsieur le juge Atwood, Cour de justice de l’Ontario

Pour communiquer avec nous

Bureau de l’avocat des enfants
393, avenue University, 14e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M5G 1E6

Tél. : (416) 314-8000
Téléc. : (416) 314-8050