Join Us

The Ministry of the Attorney General (MAG) specializes in almost every area of substantive law and students are able to work closely with experienced counsel on a range of legal matters. You will be exposed to a challenging and rewarding legal career while being involved in important and meaningful work that serves the interest of the public.

There are many more benefits to choosing MAG and the Ontario Public Service (OPS) for your articling or summer law student experience, including:

  • Files assigned to you, with the support of experienced counsel
  • Involvement in high-profiles cases and work that shapes law and policy
  • Extensive and immediate court time, where applicable
  • Competitive salary package
  • Access to mentoring and professional support
  • Significant competitive advantage over applicants outside the government when applying for entry-level counsel positions
  • Being part of an inclusive and respectful organization that was named one of Canada’s Top 100 Employers, one of the Greater Toronto Area’s Top 75 Employers, and one of Canada’s Best Diversity Employers for 2009

No. To be eligible for the Ministry of the Attorney General Summer Law positions, the student must have completed their first or second year of law school at the time the summer law position commences.

If you are studying law abroad and are able to demonstrate that your studies are comparable to the Canadian Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.) degree, you would be eligible to apply to the summer law program. Also, you must be a Canadian citizen, permanent resident of Canada or authorized in writing to work in Canada under the federal Immigration Act to be eligible to apply.

For more information, please visit the Law Society of Upper Canada website or the Career Map for Internationally Trained Lawyers.

MAG regularly attends career fairs at the Ontario and McGill University Law Schools and participates in the Public Interest Day organized by Osgoode Hall Law School and University of Toronto. In addition, MAG lawyers will often attend speaking events at the various law schools throughout Canada.

MAG offices hire in accordance with the Law Society of Upper Canada (LSUC) recruitment procedures, posted on the LSUC website (www.lsuc.on.ca). Generally, articling student application deadlines are in May for positions outside of Toronto and July for positions in Toronto.

For summer law student positions, application deadlines are generally in October and January.

Occasionally, some of our offices will hire students after the LSUC timelines, so please be sure to review the job postings on our website on a regular basis and apply accordingly.

Articling and summer law student opportunities will be advertised in the job postings section of our website. MAG does not have a centralized hiring process for the articling and summer law student positions. Instead, you are required to submit an application directly to each hiring office for the positions that you are interested in applying for.

If you have general program questions, please contact Linda MacDonald-Laberg at (416) 326-4543 or MAG.HR.LawStudents@ontario.ca.

If you have office-specific questions, please contact either the individuals listed within each Office Profile or in the Job Postings. If you wish to speak to a current articling or summer law student, please contact the individual offices and ask to speak to a student.

While grades are important and considered by offices, they are only one of a number of factors used to evaluate applicants. Our offices look for well-rounded individuals, who have a demonstrated interest in public law, qualifications that reflect an interest in the particular area of law practiced by the office/branch, strong oral and written communications skills, extracurricular work and activities, and strong interpersonal skills.

MAG does not pay for the bar admission tuition, nor will a salary be paid to articling students during bar exams. However, as an articling student, you would receive a non-taxable $4,500 educational stipend as part of your compensation package.

MAG does not have a formal rotation program for articling students. However, if you are interested in working in more than one MAG office during your articles or doing a joint article with another organization, please contact either the Strategic Legal Recruitment Consultant at MAG.HR.LawStudents@ontario.ca or the office(s) that you are interested in to discuss the possibility of doing so.

Joignez-vous à nous

Le ministère du Procureur général (MPG) se spécialise dans presque tous les domaines importants du droit et les étudiants sont en mesure de travailler en étroite collaboration avec des avocats expérimentés sur une gamme variée de questions juridiques. Vous pourrez vous familiariser avec une carrière passionnante et enrichissante dans le domaine juridique tout en accomplissant un travail important et significatif qui sert les intérêts du public.

Le MPG et la Fonction publique de l’Ontario (FPO) offrent bien d’autres avantages aux stagiaires et aux étudiants en droit, dont les suivants :

  • Dossiers qui vous sont confiés, avec le soutien d’avocats chevronnés
  • Participation à des cas et à des travaux complexes, contribuant à orienter la loi et les politiques
  • Comparution devant les tribunaux étendue et immédiate, le cas échéant
  • Programme de rémunération concurrentiel
  • Accès à des services de mentorat et à des services de soutien professionnel
  • Avantage concurrentiel considérable sur les candidats externes lors d’une demande de poste de juriste débutant
  • Membre d’une organisation respectueuse n’excluant personne, désignée comme l’un des 100 meilleurs employeurs du Canada, l’un des 75 meilleurs employeurs de la région du Grand Toronto et l’un des meilleurs employeurs prônant la diversité au Canada en 2009.

Si vous étudiez le droit à l’étranger et que vous êtes en mesure de démontrer que vos études sont comparables à celles qui assurent l’obtention d’un baccalauréat en droit (LL.B.) au Canada, vous pouvez poser votre candidature au programme des emplois d’été des étudiants en droit. Vous devez également être un citoyen canadien ou un résident permanent du Canada, ou avoir l’autorisation écrite de travailler au Canada aux termes de la Loi sur l’immigration du gouvernement fédéral.

Pour plus d’information, rendez-vous sur le site Web du Barreau du Haut-Canada ou à la Fiche de carrière pour les personnes formées à l’étranger Avocats.

Le MPG participe régulièrement à des salons de carrières tenus dans les facultés de droit de l’Ontario et à l’Université McGill et participe à la journée d’intérêt public (Public Interest Day) organisée par l’Osgoode Hall Law School et l’université de Toronto. De plus, les avocats du MPG assistent souvent à des colloques tenus dans différentes facultés de droit partout au Canada.

Les bureaux du MPG appliquent les procédures de recrutement du Barreau du Haut-Canada affichées sur le site Web de cet organisme à l’adresse www.lsuc.on.ca. En général, la date d’échéance pour les demandes de stage se situe en mai pour les postes à l’extérieur de Toronto et en juillet pour les postes à Toronto.

Pour les emplois d’été des étudiants, les dates d’échéance pour soumettre une demande se situent habituellement en octobre et en janvier.

Occasionnellement, certains de nos bureaux embaucheront des étudiants après les dates limites du Barreau du Haut-Canada, alors assurez-vous de revoir régulièrement les affichages de postes sur notre site Web pour poser votre candidature aux postes qui vous intéressent. 

Les emplois d’été et les stages offerts aux étudiants en droit seront affichés dans la section Affichage des postes de notre site Web. Le MPG n’a pas de processus centralisé de recrutement pour les stages et les emplois d’été à l’intention des étudiants en droit. Vous devez plutôt soumettre une demande directement à chaque bureau offrant les postes qui vous intéressent.

Pour toute question d’ordre général sur les programmes, veuillez communiquer avec Linda MacDonald-Laberg au 416-326-4543 ou à l’adresse MAG.HR.LawStudents@ontario.ca.

Si vous avez des questions précises sur un bureau, veuillez communiquer avec les personnes indiquées dans chaque profil de bureau (lien à venir) ou dans les affichages de postes. Si vous souhaitez parler à un stagiaire ou à un étudiant occupant un emploi d’été en droit, veuillez communiquer directement avec le bureau concerné et demander à parler à un étudiant.

Bien que les notes soient importantes et que les bureaux en tiennent compte, elles ne constituent que l’un des facteurs utilisés pour évaluer les candidats. Nos bureaux recherchent des personnes bien équilibrées qui ont montré de l’intérêt envers le droit public et qui ont des qualifications traduisant un intérêt envers le champ de pratique du bureau ou de la direction, d’excellentes aptitudes aux communications orales et écrites, des travaux et des activités parascolaires et d’excellentes aptitudes aux relations interpersonnelles.

Le MPG ne paie pas les frais d’examen du barreau et ne verse aucun salaire aux stagiaires durant les examens du barreau. Toutefois, en tant que stagiaire, vous recevrez une allocation d’études non imposable de 4 500 $ dans le cadre de votre programme de rémunération.

Le MPG n’offre pas officiellement une telle possibilité à ses stagiaires. Toutefois, si vous souhaitez travailler dans plus d’unbureau durant votre stage ou encore faire un stage conjointement avec une autre organisation, veuillez communiquer avec le conseiller ou la conseillère en perfectionnement stratégique du personnel juridique à l’adresse MAG.HR.LawStudents@ontario.ca ou avec les bureaux qui vous intéressent pour discuter d’une telle possibilité.