Attorney General's Victim Services Awards of Distinction

Victim Services Awards of Distinction Banner

About the award

The Attorney General's Victim Services Awards of Distinction recognize the exceptional achievements of dedicated professionals and volunteers in the field of victim services, as well as the important work of individual victims.

The awards also encourage the sharing of best practices among victim services professionals and volunteers across the province.

The award ceremony is held annually during Victims and Survivors of Crime Week.

Nominate a person or group

The nomination period is now extended to Friday, January 13, 2017.

Download the individual nomination form.

Download the group nomination form.

Detailed instructions that explain how to complete and submit a nomination are included on the forms. For more information, please contact Laura Ostler.

How winners are selected

The completed nomination forms are reviewed by a panel of ministry representatives determined by the Attorney General and members of the Office for Victims of Crime.

Learn more about this award

Learn more about the award and the people and groups it has honoured since 2007:

Frequently Asked Questions

Why did you establish this awards program?

We established the Attorney General’s Victim Services Awards of Distinction in 2006 to recognize the high quality services and supports that people and organizations provide to victims of crime on a daily basis throughout the province.

We also want to recognize the exemplary efforts of individuals who are personally impacted by crime and have raised the profile of victims' issues in Ontario.

How does this program help improve services to victims?

Our government is committed to increasing the effectiveness of victim services across the province. One step in achieving this goal is to help ensure that local agencies know about, and learn from, the successes of exemplary individuals and organizations.

The Attorney General's Victim Services Awards of Distinction provide a valuable opportunity for the people who develop and carry out victim services programs to learn from the experiences of others.

Who is eligible for an award?

Nominees must be an Ontario resident, and may be:

  • individual victims of crime*, their family members, or others personally impacted by crime who have raised the profile of victims’ issues in Ontario
  • volunteers who offer their time and personal resources to help victims
  • professional practitioners and paid victim services providers who have gone above and beyond their duties while providing support to victims of crime
  • programs, groups and organizations that deliver innovative services to victims of crime

There is no age restriction for nominees. Nominations are particularly welcomed for youth who have made exceptional contributions to victim services in their communities.

*Crime means an offence under the Criminal Code (Canada).

Who is not eligible for an award?

The ministry cannot accept self-nominations or nominations for:

  • persons with cases currently before the courts
  • persons who are not residents of Ontario
  • organizations located outside of Ontario
  • employees of federal, provincial and municipal governments and sworn police officers.

Who may submit a nomination?

Any Ontario-based organization or Ontario resident may submit a nomination.

What is the deadline for nominations?

The nomination period is now extended to Friday, January 13, 2017. The deadline for nominations is midnight on Friday, January 13, 2017. All nominations must be submitted in writing and postmarked by that date.

How do I submit a nomination?

If you’d like to submit a nomination, you need to complete a nomination form.

Your nomination form must be signed by either the nominee or an authorized representative of the nominated organization.

Detailed instructions that explain how to complete and submit a nomination are included on the form. For more information, please contact Laura Ostler.

Because original signatures are required, faxed or emailed copies of the completed forms will not be accepted.

Please mail or courier your completed nomination form to:

Attorney General's Victim Services Awards of Distinction
Ministry of the Attorney General
18 King Street East, 7th Floor
Toronto, ON   M5C 1C4

Can individuals nominate themselves?

No, self-nominations will not be accepted. However those who wish to be nominated may wish to seek a sponsor to submit on their behalf.

Ontario residents may be nominated for an award as individuals or as part of larger groups. An individual may not nominate a group if he/she is a member of the group.

Is a person required to be over the age of 18 to be eligible for an award?

No, a person of any age may be nominated. Nominations are especially welcomed for youth who have contributed to victim services in their communities.

How do you ensure that the appropriate individuals and organizations know about the awards program?

Each year, the ministry reaches out to more than 4,000 stakeholders and community groups across the province to announce the call for nominations, and provides information about the awards publicly on the ministry website.

How will the privacy of nominees be protected?

The ministry will only accept nominations if the nominee has consented, in writing, to having his/her name put forward for consideration.

Also, both the nominee and nominator must agree to have their personal information, including name, photograph and other information contained in the application form, released publicly for the purposes of acknowledging a nomination and/or receipt of an award.

Can I fax or email the forms?

No, only the original signed copies of the nomination form, nominee consent form and supporting documents will be accepted. Nominations must be postmarked no later than Friday, January 13, 2017.

Can past winners be nominated again?

Yes, all eligible nominees will be considered for an Attorney General’s Victim Services Award of Distinction.

How are these awards different from the Ontario Victim Assistance Award or other volunteer awards?

The Ontario Victim Assistance Award specifically recognizes police services and their contributions to the field of victim services. The award was developed in 2004 through a partnership between the ministry and the Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police.

The Attorney General's Victim Services Awards of Distinction are the first in the province to specifically recognize the exceptional contributions individuals, volunteers and community groups make to better serve victims across Ontario.

Is there a monetary value to these awards?

No, there is no monetary value to the awards.

How much does this cost? Wouldn’t the money be better spent on providing services to victims?

The cost of the program is very modest. We believe that raising awareness and providing improved services to victims far outweigh the minimal costs involved.