Section 8 - Grading The Test

Test performance will be graded in two ways: globally and focusing on specific details.

Global evaluation:

Global evaluation will assess your performance as a whole on the following two aspects:

  • interpreting skills, and
  • language skills.

Interpreting skills cover preservation of meaning, maintenance of the style and register of the original, and fluency in delivery.

Language skills cover grammar/structure, general vocabulary, terminology, pronunciation and intonation.

Evaluation of details:

In addition to assessing your performance as a whole (globally), the test will measure how you dealt with specific, pre-selected words, phrases or sentences in the texts or discourse. These keywords and phrases, called "scoring units" have been chosen to evaluate the following:

  • grammar,
  • structure,
  • general vocabulary,
  • specialized terminology,
  • idiomatic language,
  • register (level of language: formal, informal and neutral),
  • numbers and names,
  • words or phrases adding precision or emphasis, and
  • words or phrases likely to be omitted due to their position.

Global evaluation and evaluation of details will each account for 50% of every exercise.


The three tasks that you will be tested on - sight translation, consecutive interpreting, and simultaneous interpreting - will be weighted as follows in the calculation of the final score:

  • Sight translation - 20%
  • Consecutive interpreting - 40%
  • Simultaneous interpreting - 40%

This weighting is based on the importance of each of these tasks in the court setting.

In order to be accredited, you will be required to obtain 70% in the overall weighted score as well as 70% in each of the tasks.

The 70% score is based on best practices internationally and is the score required historically by MAG.

‹ Previous page | Next page ›