Il s'agit d'une archive du site Web de l'Enquête sur la médecine légale pédiatrique en Ontario, qui a été mise à jour pour la dernière fois en octobre 2008. Il n'y aura pas d'autre mise à jour du document.

Si vous éprouvez des difficultés à accéder à l'information, veuillez contacter le ministère.


  Accueil 
  L'Enquête 
  Commissaire 
  Avocats 
  Avocats employés 
  Personnel 
  Parties 
  Info juridique 
  Transcriptions 
  Questions systémiques 
  Politiques et recherche
  Comité d'experts 
  Calendrier et témoins 
  Observations 
  Médias 
  Communiqués 
  Bureaux 
  Contactez-nous 
  Rapport 


 
  English                     

Politiques et recherche

Une série de tables rondes a eu lieu entre le 11 février 2008 et le 29 février 2008.
Schedule  (21Kb / 4 pages)
Transcriptions

Programme de recherche : Enquête sur la médecine légale pédiatrique  (22 janvier 2007)  (25Kb / 5 pages)
Biographies

La Commission d’enquête a mandaté une série de documents de recherche pour l’aider à remplir son mandat portant sur les questions d’ordre systémique. Certains éminents experts des domaines de la médecine légale et du système judiciaire d’Australie, du Canada, du Royaume-Uni et des États-Unis y ont contribué.

Ils seront affichés sur le site Web de l’Enquête. Les opinions exprimées dans ces documents sont celles de leurs auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de la Commission ou du commissaire.

Certains des experts qui ont préparé les documents de recherche étaient membres des comités des politiques.


Dr. Stephen Cordner and associates (Victorian Institute for Forensic Medicine and Monash University), Evolution, Limits and Controversies of Pediatric Forensic Pathology (Évolution, limites et controverses dans le domaine de la médecine légale pédiatrique)

Ce travail de recherche examine l’évolution de la médecine légale pédiatrique, ses limites et ses problèmes. Il définit les domaines respectifs de la médecine légale, de la pathologie pédiatrique et de la médecine légale pédiatrique. Ses auteurs se penchent sur la pathologie pédiatrique et en particulier sur le rôle de l’autopsie. Ils examinent également l’évolution de la médecine légale axée sur les preuves, en particulier en ce qui touche à certaines circonstances : la mort subite du nourrisson, le syndrome de Munchausen par procuration, le syndrome des enfants battus, les chutes, la suffocation et l’asphyxie.
Affiché  (affiché le 28 novembre 2007 – modifié le 15 février 2008)  (786Kb / 191 pages)

Dr Stephen Cordner and associates (Victorian Institute for Forensic Medicine and Monash University), A Model Forensic Pathology Service (Un service de médecine légale modèle)

Ce document établit une distinction entre la médecine clinique dont l’obligation principale est envers les patients et la médecine légale dont les obligations sont envers le système juridique et les droits des autres. L’auteur du document examine plusieurs questions (la formation, les examens et l’agrément des médecins légistes au Canada) et les compare à d’autres systèmes dans le monde. En particulier, il se penche sur des modèles de médecine légale au Royaume-Uni et en Australie, dont le Victorian Institute for Forensic Medicine. Le document analyse également les normes dans le domaine de la médecine légale, les mesures d’assurance de la qualité et de contrôle. Il réfléchit à l’institution la mieux placée pour exercer ces contrôles. En outre, il examine les relations les plus appropriées entre les médecins légistes et les familles en deuil, la police, les représentants du bien-être de l’enfance, les procureurs, les avocats de la défense, les chercheurs et les médias. Il aborde aussi la question de l’impact de la pénurie de pathologistes, surtout dans le domaine de la médecine légale. Enfin, l’auteur se penche sur les bonnes pratiques à suivre pour les enquêtes sur des morts, dont les sources d’information avant le début de l’autopsie, l’utilisation de protocoles, la rédaction de rapports et la préparation et l’examen des témoignages au tribunal.
Affiché  (affiché le 14 janvier, 2008 – modifié le 28 février 2008)  (692Kb / 157 pages)

Professeur Lorne Sossin (Université de Toronto), Accountability and Oversight for Death Investigations in Ontario (Responsabilité et surveillance des enquêtes sur les morts en Ontario)

Ce document examine les mécanismes de responsabilisation et de surveillance, ainsi que les ententes institutionnelles et législatives qui ont influencé la pratique de la médecine légale pédiatrique en Ontario, de 1981 à aujourd’hui. L’auteur analyse la Loi sur les coroners, le Bureau du coroner en chef, le rôle de l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens, et le rôle de l’ombudsman. Il se penche sur l’évolution des enquêtes sur des morts d’enfants en Ontario, en mettant l’accent sur les mécanismes de surveillance et de responsabilisation des pathologistes pédiatriques, aussi bien ceux qui sont employés par le Bureau du coroner que ceux qui travaillent sur mandat. Le document de recherche examine également le rôle que l’affiliation des pathologistes pédiatriques avec des hôpitaux universitaires et des facultés universitaires aurait sur ces mécanismes de surveillance et l’indépendance de la médecine légale.
Affiché  (affiché le 28 janvier, 2008 – modifié le 20 février 2008)  (265Kb / 72 pages)

Bruce MacFarlane c.r. (Université du Manitoba), Wrongful Convictions: The Effect of Tunnel Vision and Predisposing Circumstances in the Criminal Justice System (Condamnations injustifiées : l’effet d’une vision rétrécie et de circonstances prédisposantes dans le système de justice criminelle)

Ce document se penche sur la question de savoir si les leçons tirées des erreurs judiciaires devraient ou non être appliquées à l’équipe d’enquête sur une mort, dont l’interface entre les médecins légistes et la police, les procureurs et les préposés à la protection de l’enfance. L’auteur examine les circonstances prédisposantes à la commission d’erreurs judiciaires, dont l’impact de crimes horribles ou de tragédies, des suspects ayant des antécédents de mauvaise conduite, le comportement des suspects et la « normalité » de leurs réactions face à la mort. D’autres facteurs potentiellement prédisposants sont analysés, comme, par exemple, le statut socio-économique, le patrimoine autochtone et des problèmes de santé mentale. Le document de recherche examine le rôle d’une vision réduite et la corruption pour une noble cause comme des motifs expliquant les erreurs judiciaires. L’auteur se demande si ces motifs sont utiles pour évaluer l’impartialité et la qualité des enquêtes sur des morts d’enfants. Il tient compte de la question des renseignements que le pathologiste doit recevoir au sujet des suspects possibles de la part de la police ou des agences de protection de l’enfance, de la possibilité d’impartialité communiquée par des renseignements erronés et des documents qui circulent entre divers acteurs du secteur de la justice criminelle et les médecins légistes. L’auteur s’est attaché à décrire les recours possibles afin d’éviter une vision rétrécie ou la partialité dans les enquêtes sur des morts d’enfants.
Affiché  (21 janvier, 2008)  (329Kb / 90 pages)

Dr Randy Hanzlick (Emory University et médecin légiste du comté de Fulton), Options for Modernizing the Ontario Coroner's System (Option de modernisation du système du coroner de l’Ontario)

Ce document examine le système du coroner de l’Ontario à la lumière des bonnes pratiques et du système de médecine légale américain. L’auteur décrit brièvement le système du coroner de l’Ontario et expose l’historique des systèmes du coroner et du médecin légiste aux États-Unis. Il aborde la question du financement et des coûts par habitant des systèmes d’enquête sur des morts, de la législation sur les modèles de médecine légale, et des similitudes et différences entre les systèmes du coroner et du médecin légiste. Le document analyse des questions propres à l’Ontario, dont le rôle des coroners nommés, le rôle des enquêtes du coroner et la prestation de services d’enquête sur les morts dans une grande province.
Affiché  (14 janvier, 2008)  (251Kb / 53 pages)

Professeure Kathryn Campbell (Université d’Ottawa) et professeur Clive Walker (Université de Leeds), Comparative Experience with Pediatric Pathology and Miscarriages of Justice in the United Kingdom
(Expérience comparative en matière de médecine légale et d'erreurs judiciaires dans le Royaume-Uni)

Ce document examinera le rôle des médecins légistes dans les tribunaux d’Angleterre et du pays de Galles, ainsi que l’impact de leur témoignage sur des condamnations, dont plusieurs cas de décès d’enfants qui ont conduit à des erreurs judiciaires. Les auteurs du document de recherche expliqueront dans les grandes lignes comment les médecins légistes sont désignés par divers organismes réglementaires et décriront les limites de leur spécialité. Autre thème abordé : le recours aux médecins légistes par les procureurs et par la défense ainsi que le rôle du tribunal (juges et parties) comme gardien ou arbitre de leur spécialité. En outre, le document expliquera les liens entre les processus juridiques qui jugent les opinions des médecins légistes et les autorités de réglementation professionnelle qui déterminent si un médecin légiste n’a pas respecté les normes de la profession. En particulier, les auteurs examineront les leçons tirées du cas de Sir Roy Meadow et sa participation aux dossiers de Sally Clark, Trupti Patel et Angela Cannings. Ils parleront aussi des procédures spécialisées en Angleterre et au pays de Galles (comme par exemple, enquête du procureur général, la Criminal Cases Review Commission et d’autres enquêtes indépendantes) qui ont fait suite aux conclusions que des erreurs judiciaires avaient été commises dans ces cas.
Affiché  (12 novembre 2007)  (256Kb / 58 pages)

Dr Robert Moles, Networked Knowledge, Australie et Dre Bibi Sangha (Flinders University, Australie), Comparative Experience with Pediatric Pathology and Miscarriages of Justice in Australia
(Expérience comparative en matière de médecine légale et d'erreurs judiciaires en Australie)

Ce document de recherche se penche sur la question de la qualification, de la certification et de la supervision des médecins légistes en Australie, ainsi que sur la relation entre les bureaux du coroner et le médecin légiste en chef. Il compare la médecine légale expérientielle fondée sur des années d’expérience à la médecine légale fondée sur les preuves. Les auteurs s’attacheront aussi à établir une comparaison entre les processus d’examen par des pairs utilisés en Australie du Sud pour les médecins légistes et les autres sciences judiciaires, dont la question des examens faits au hasard. Ils étudieront particulièrement l’enquête du coroner (la plupart du temps effectuée par un autre médecin légiste qui est approuvé par un coroner judiciaire) qui a été menée à l’égard des conclusions du Dr Colin Mannock, selon lesquelles trois morts de bébé, en 1992 et 1993, à Adelaide, étaient le résultat de causes naturelles, alors qu’un examen subséquent avait révélé des preuves solides indiquant que les morts n’étaient pas accidentelles. Le document de recherche va donc déterminer comment une médecine légale pédiatrique mal appliquée peut contribuer aussi bien à des résultats négatifs erronés, comme des conclusions erronées de mort naturelle, qu’à des résultats positifs erronés de mort non accidentelle
Affiché  (12 novembre 2007)  (189Kb / 63 pages)

Dre Kathy Gruspier (Université de Toronto, Mississauga), Pediatric Forensic Pathology as Forensic Science: The role of Science and the Justice System (La médecine légale pédiatrique comme science judiciaire : le rôle des sciences et le système de justice)

L’auteure, anthropologue judiciaire ayant une formation juridique, compare la pathologie judiciaire à d’autres sciences judiciaires. Elle offre un examen critique de la pathologie judiciaire fondée sur les preuves par rapport à d’autres sciences judiciaires. Elle explore l’hypothèse qu’historiquement le système de justice se fonde sur les conclusions des pathologistes judiciaires bien que ces derniers soient moins bien formés et agréés dans le domaine judiciaire que d’autres experts judiciaires, en partie en raison de leur formation médicale et parce que le sujet de la pathologie ne permet pas la méthode diagnostique de l’essai à double feinte et d’autres méthodes de vérification qui peuvent être utilisées dans d’autres sciences judiciaires. L’auteure se penche sur la qualification des pathologistes judiciaires à titre d’experts devant les tribunaux au Canada et aux États-Unis, et sur les pressions qui pèsent sur eux dans un système judiciaire accusatoire lorsqu’ils témoignent au sujet de questions qui sortent de leur champ d’expertise. Le document de recherche mentionne aussi les témoignages d’autres experts, dont des médecins cliniciens, avec ceux des pathologistes judiciaires dans les cas de morts de bébés et décrit la nature et les limites de leur expertise ainsi que les mesures à prendre pour éviter les témoignages d’expert dans les cas de morts de bébés qui sortent du domaine de compétence de l’expert.
Affiché  (29 janvier, 2008 – modifié le 4 juillet 2008)  (262Kb / 81 pages)

Professeur Gary Edmond (University of New South Wales), The Role of the Forensic Pathologist as Expert Witness (Le rôle du médecin légiste en tant que témoin expert)

L’auteur, un spécialiste des preuves ayant une formation scientifique, examinera la façon dont les témoins experts présentent la science au tribunal. Il situera la médecine légale à la lumière des débats continus au sujet de la nature de l’expertise scientifique, de l’indépendance et de l’objectivité. Il se demandera si la médecine légale, en tant que mélange de droit et de médecine, est constituée différemment que les autres sciences. Il examinera aussi la question de savoir s’il est judicieux d’appeler à témoigner des experts opposés et/ou des experts nommés par le tribunal. L’auteur évoquera les appels récents, au Royaume-Uni, aux États-Unis et ailleurs dans le monde, à la réforme du témoignage d’experts, dont l’organisation de conférences préalables au procès entre experts. Il se penchera également sur l’interaction entre la science de la médecine légale et le fardeau de la preuve dans diverses procédures; par exemple, la norme du doute raisonnable dans les procès pénaux et le faible fardeau de la preuve dans les instances de protection de l’enfance. Le document proposera des moyens, pour le système juridique, de résoudre le problème de la prise de décisions face à l’incertitude de la science et les attentes parfois exagérées de précision et de certitude qui pèsent sur les scientifiques.
Affiché  (12 novembre 2007)  (275Kb / 71 pages)

Le professeur Nick Bala (Université Queens) et le professeur Nico Trocmé (Université McGill), Child Protection Issues and Pediatric Forensic Pathology (Questions de protection de l’enfance et médecine légale pédiatrique)

Ce travail de recherche examine des questions de protection de l’enfance, en particulier celles qui touchent à la sécurité et au bien-être des enfants survivants après la mort d’un bébé. Il évoque les efforts croissants de sensibilisation à la maltraitance des enfants en Ontario et la probabilité de mort ou de maltraitance qui fait suit au décès de causes non accidentelles d’un enfant de la famille. Le document examine les objets et les processus du système de bien-être de l’enfance ainsi que l’éventail des procédures de protection de l’enfance, dont les options autres qu’une appréhension complète. Le document décrit l’interaction entre les procédures de protection de l’enfance et les enquêtes et poursuites criminelles lorsqu’un bébé meurt, dont les questions concernant l’admissibilité des preuves de mauvaise conduite et de médecine légale dans les instances de protection de l’enfance. Le travail évoque aussi les circonstances particulières des peuples autochtones ainsi que leur place dans le système de protection de l’enfance.
Affiché  (21 décembre 2007)  (232Kb / 70 pages)

Le professeur Christopher Sherrin (Université de Western Ontario), Defending a Pediatric Death Case: Problems and Solutions (Défendre le cas d’un enfant mort : problèmes et solutions)

Le document examine la défense, dont l’octroi de l’aide juridique dans les cas criminels faisant suite à la mort d’un enfant. L’auteur analyse plusieurs aspects, dont la question de savoir si les fonds suffisent et s’il existe des experts opposés dans le domaine de la médecine légale pédiatrique. Il aborde également les aspects éthiques et juridiques concernant l’inscription d’un plaidoyer de culpabilité (ou le refus de contester des preuves présentées par la Couronne) à des accusations d’homicide involontaire, d’infanticide ou d’autres infractions moins graves, et de meurtre et aux conséquences d’une accusation de meurtre pour la défense dans ces cas.
Affiché  (27 décembre 2007)  (172Kb / 63 pages)



  

  ©2008 Commission d'enquête sur la médecine légale pédiatrique en Ontario

This is an archive of the Inquiry into Pediatric Forensic Pathology in Ontario website, which was last updated in October 2008 and will not be updated further.

If you have difficulty accessing any material, please contact the ministry.

  About the Inquiry 
  Commission Counsel 
  Staff Lawyers 
  Commission Staff 
  Parties with Standing 
  Legal Information 
  Systemic Issues 
  Policy & Research 
  Expert Panel 
  Schedule & Witnesses 
  Media Releases 


Policy & Research

A series of policy roundtables were held between February 11, 2008, and February 29, 2008.
Schedule  (20Kb / 4 pages)

Research Program: Inquiry into Pediatric Forensic Pathology  (January 22, 2007)  (25Kb / 5 pages)

The Inquiry has commissioned a series of research papers to assist it in fulfilling its systemic mandate. Some of the leading experts on forensic pathology and the legal system from Australia, Canada, the United Kingdom and the United States have contributed.

The opinions expressed in each paper are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily represent those of the Commission or the Commissioner.

Some of the experts who have prepared the papers were members of the policy panels, along with other experts.

Dr. Stephen Cordner and associates (Victorian Institute for Forensic Medicine and Monash University), Pediatric Forensic Pathology: Limits and Controversies

This paper examines the evolution, limits and problems of forensic pediatric pathology. The paper defines the respective fields of forensic pathology, pediatric pathology and forensic pediatric pathology. It examines the process of forensic pathology with special attention to the role of the autopsy. It also examines the development of "evidence-based" forensic pathology. It focuses on the evolution of pediatric forensic pathology, specifically with regard to sudden infant death syndrome, shaken baby syndrome, Munchausen's Syndrome by proxy, battered child syndrome, falls, suffocation and asphyxia.
Posted  (Posted November 28, 2008 -- as amended February 15, 2008)  (786Kb / 191 pages)

Dr. Stephen Cordner and associates (Victorian Institute for Forensic Medicine and Monash University), A Model Forensic Pathology Service

This paper distinguishes clinical medicine with its primary obligation to patients from forensic medicine with its obligations to the legal system and the rights of others. It examines questions of training, examination and certification of forensic pathologists in Canada in comparison to other systems around the world. In particular, it examines models of forensic pathology in the United Kingdom and Australia including that at the Victorian Institute for Forensic Medicine. It also examines standards in forensic pathology, the quality assurance and control measures and considers the appropriate institution to exercise such controls. In addition, it explores the appropriate relationships between forensic pathologists and bereaved families, police, child welfare officials, prosecution, defence counsel, researchers and the media. It examines the impact of the shortage of pathologists and especially forensic pathologists. Finally, it examines best practices for death investigation including information sources prior to commencement of the autopsy, the use of protocols, the writing of reports and preparation and review for testimony in court.
Posted  (January 14, 2008 -- as amended February 28, 2008)  (692Kb / 157 pages)

Professor Lorne Sossin (University of Toronto), Accountability and Oversight for Death Investigations in Ontario

This paper examines the accountability, oversight mechanisms, institutional, legislative arrangements that have influenced the practice of pediatric pathology in Ontario from 1981 to the present. It examines the Coroner's Act and, The Office of the Chief Coroner, the role of the Hospital for Sick Children, the role of the College of Physicians and Surgeons, and the role of the Ombudsman. It explores the evolution of pediatric death investigations in Ontario with a focus on the oversight and accountability of the pediatric forensic pathologists, both those employed by the Coroner's office and those used on a fee for service basis. The paper also considers the role that affiliation of forensic pathology with teaching hospitals and university departments could have on the oversight, accountability and independence of forensic pathology.
Posted  (Posted January 28, 2008 -- as amended February 20, 2008)  (265Kb / 72 pages)

Bruce MacFarlane Q.C. (University of Manitoba), Wrongful Convictions: The Effect of Tunnel Vision and Predisposing Circumstances in the Criminal Justice System

This paper examines whether the lessons learned from miscarriages of justice should be applied to the death investigation team, including the interface between forensic pathologists and police, prosecutors and child protection officials. It explores the predisposing circumstances for miscarriages of justice including the impact of horrific crimes or tragedies, suspects with a record for past bad misconduct, the demeanor of suspects and their 'normalcy' of their reactions to death. Other potentially predisposing factors that are examined include low socio-economic status, Aboriginal heritage, and mental health issues. The paper considers the role of tunnel vision and noble cause corruption as explanatory devices for miscarriages of justice and whether they are helpful in assessing the fairness and quality of pediatric death investigations. Consideration has been given to the question of what information the pathologist should receive about possible suspects either from the police or child protection officials, the possibility of bias through irrelevant information and the documentation of the information that flows between various criminal justice actors and forensic pathologists. Attention was paid to possible remedies to prevent tunnel vision or confirmation bias in pediatric death investigations.
Posted  (January 21, 2008)  (329Kb / 90 pages)

Dr. Randy Hanzlick (Emory University and Fulton County Medical Examiner), Options for Modernizing the Ontario Coroner's System

This paper examines the Ontario coroner's system in light of the development of and best practices in American medical examiner systems. It provides a brief description of the Ontario coroner system and a history of coroner and medical examiner systems in the United States. It examines issues of funding and per capita costs of death investigation systems, model medical examiner legislation, and the similarities and differences between medical examiner and coroner systems. It will explore issues specific to Ontario including the role of appointed coroners, the role of inquests and the provision of death investigation services in a large province.
Posted  (January 14, 2008)  (251Kb / 53 pages)

Professor Kathryn Campbell (University of Ottawa) and Professor Clive Walker (University of Leeds), Comparative Experience with Pediatric Pathology and Miscarriages of Justice in the United Kingdom

This paper examines how expert forensic pathologists are used by courts in England and Wales, and the impact of their testimony on convictions, including several pediatric death cases that have resulted in miscarriages of justice. This includes an overview of how forensic pathologists are designated by various regulatory bodies, as well as a consideration of the limits of their expertise. It discusses the use of forensic pathology experts by both prosecution and defense and the role of the court (judges and parties) as gatekeepers and/or referees of this expertise. In addition, the paper explains the relationships between legal processes which adjudge the opinions of forensic pathologists, and the professional regulators which are determining whether a forensic pathologist has failed to maintain professional standards. In particular, the authors consider the lessons learned from the case of Sir Roy Meadow and his involvement in the cases of Sally Clark, Trupti Patel, and Angela Cannings. It also allows consideration of the specialized procedures in England and Wales which handled the response to the findings of miscarriage of justice in those cases, including by the Attorney General and by the Criminal Cases Review Commission and other independent inquiries.
Posted  (November 12, 2007)  (256Kb / 58 pages)

Dr. Robert Moles, Networked Knowledge, Australia and Dr. Bibi Sangha (Flinders University, Australia), Comparative Experience with Pediatric Pathology and Miscarriages of Justice in Australia

This paper examines the issue of qualification, certification and oversight of forensic pathologists in Australia as well as the relationship between the offices of coroner and the chief pathologist. It compares experiential forensic pathology based on years of experience with evidence-based forensic pathology. It also compares peer review processes used in South Australia for forensic pathologists and the other forensic sciences including questions of blind and random testing. It pays particular attention to the coroner's review (largely undertaken by another pathologist but approved by a judicial coroner) of Dr. Colin Mannock's findings that three baby deaths in 1992 and 1993 in Adelaide were the result of natural causes when a subsequent review found significant evidence to indicate that the deaths were non-accidental. In this manner, this paper determines how faulty forensic pediatric pathology can contribute to false negatives such as false findings of natural death, as well as false positive findings of non-accidental death.
Posted  (November 12, 2007)  (189Kb / 63 pages)

Dr. Kathy Gruspier (University of Toronto Mississauga), Pediatric Forensic Pathology as Forensic Science: The role of Science and the Justice System

The author, a forensic anthropologist with legal training, examines forensic pathology in comparison to other forensic sciences. It offers a critical examination of evidence based forensic pathology in comparison to other forensic sciences. It explores the hypothesis that historically, forensic pathologists have been relied on by the legal system although they have less forensic training, certification and testing than other forensic experts in part because of their medical training and as well, because the discipline of pathology does not permit the use of double blind testing and other methods of verification that can be used in other forensic sciences. The author examines how forensic pathologists are qualified as experts in courts in Canada and the United States and the pressures that they face in the adversarial court system to testify about matters that lie outside of their expertise. The paper also examines how other expert witnesses including clinical physicians often testify along with forensic pathologists in baby death cases and explore the nature and limits of their expertise and steps that can be taken to guard against expert testimony in baby death cases that go beyond the witness's expertise.
Posted  (January 29, 2007 -- as amended July 4, 2008)  (262Kb / 81 pages)

Professor Gary Edmond (University of New South Wales), The Role of the Forensic Pathologist as Expert Witness

The author, an evidence scholar with a background in science, examines how expert witnesses present science to the court. It situates forensic pathology in light of ongoing debates about the nature of scientific expertise, independence and objectivity. It poses the question of whether forensic pathology as a hybrid between law and medicine is differently constituted than other sciences. It also examines questions of whether there should be competing experts and/or experts appointed by the court. It examines recent proposals in the United Kingdom, United States and elsewhere for the reform of expert testimony including the use of pre-trial conferences between experts. It also examines how the science of forensic pathology interacts with the burden of proof in various proceedings -- for example, the reasonable doubt standard in criminal trials and lower burden of proof in child protection proceedings. It explores how the legal system should resolve adjudicative questions in the face of scientific uncertainty and the sometimes exaggerated expectations of the precision and certainty of science.
Posted  (November 12, 2007)  (275Kb / 71 pages)

Professor Nick Bala (Queens University) and Professor Nico Trocmé (McGill University), Child Protection Issues and Pediatric Forensic Pathology

This paper examines child protection issues, in particular, those relating to the safety and best interests of surviving children after a baby's death. It examines rising awareness of child abuse in Ontario and what is known about the likelihood of subsequent death or abuse after one child in a family has died from non-accidental causes. It considers the purposes and processes of the child welfare system and the range of dispositions open in child welfare proceedings including options short of full apprehension. It also reviews the interaction of child protection proceedings with criminal investigations and prosecutions in baby death cases including questions concerning the admissibility of both bad conduct and forensic pathology evidence in child protection proceedings. Some attention is devoted to the particular circumstances of Aboriginal people and their involvement with the child protection system.
Posted  (December 21, 2007)  (232Kb / 70 pages)

Professor Christopher Sherrin (University of Western Ontario), Defending a Pediatric Death Case: Problems and Solutions

This paper examines defence representation including legal aid funding in criminal cases arising from pediatric death. It explores whether there is sufficient funding for and the availability of competing expertise in the area of forensic pediatric pathology. It also examines ethical and legal questions concerning the entry of guilty pleas (or the refusal to challenge evidence presented by the Crown) to manslaughter, infanticide or other lesser included offences, to murder charges and the implications of a murder charge for the defence in such cases.
Posted  (December 27, 2007)  (172Kb / 63 pages)


  ©2008 Inquiry into Pediatric Forensic Pathology in Ontario