French Language Services in the Ministry of the Attorney General’s Adjudicative Tribunals

General

What is an adjudicative tribunal?

Adjudicative tribunals conduct hearings and make decisions on a variety of subjects covering hundreds of statutes to resolve disputes regarding the obligations, rights and responsibilities of an individual, business or corporate body, independently of government.

The Ministry of the Attorney General (MAG) has adjudicative oversight for 19 adjudicative tribunals, boards and commissions grouped under three clusters:

Adjudicative tribunals operate as alternatives to the courts, but exercise a similar function in making decisions about rights and entitlements. Tribunal processes are less costly, simpler, speedier and less formal than the courts.

MAG’s adjudicative tribunals are independent in their decision-making, and are accountable to the government and subject to all Management Board of Cabinet Directives and Policies, which includes the delivery of French Language Services.

Obligations

Under which Act do adjudicative tribunals have obligations to provide French Language Services?

Section 5. (1) of the French Language Services Act states that: “A person has the right in accordance with this Act to communicate in French with, and to receive available services in French from, any head or central office of a government agency […]”.

Section 1. (b) indicates that “government agency” means “a board, commission or corporation the majority of whose members or directors are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council”.

In accordance with the French Language Services Act, adjudicative tribunals, which are considered government agencies under the Act, must offer French Language Services.

What services do adjudicative tribunals have to offer in French?

The French Language Services Act requires that adjudicative tribunals provide French Language Services to the public. This responsibility includes the services provided to the public by the adjudicative tribunal as well as all materials and communications (e.g., telephone, forms, correspondence, brochures, websites, etc.).

Signs, literature, information and advice should always be available in French. The public should also be made aware that services in French are available through an active offer of service.

These services should be:

  • consistently offered at the earliest opportunity
  • clearly visible and available
  • easily accessible and publicized, and
  • equivalent in quality to services offered in English

Adjudicative tribunals should ensure that French-speaking staff are available on a proactive, permanent and reliable basis whether services are delivered by tribunal staff or on behalf of them by a private sector service provider.

Do designated areas apply to adjudicative tribunals?

Adjudicative tribunals are required to provide their services in French in accordance with the French Language Services Act. The Act also states that “a person has the right in accordance with this Act to communicate in French with, and to receive available services in French from, any head or central office of a government agency […]”.

As most services of an adjudicative tribunal are offered in one location, French Language Services must still be offered if the tribunal is not located in a designated area.

Do parties have the right to be heard in French?

Parties can choose to be heard in either English or French.

Do parties and officials have the right to speak and to be understood in French?

Linguistic requirements will be met at proceedings where all officials and parties can both understand and be understood in either French or English.

Who pays the costs attributable to meeting linguistic requirements?

Where there is no legal or other requirements, costs attributable to meeting linguistic requirements must be paid by the tribunal and cannot be passed along to parties.

Why is it important to ensure that the obligations of adjudicative tribunals under the French Language Services Act are met?

In addition to the importance of providing equal access to tribunal services in French, procedures should reflect the principle that meeting the tribunal’s obligations under the French Language Services Act is one of the components of providing a fair hearing.

What are the consequences if the adjudicative tribunals fail to offer French Language Services?

Failure to meet the legislative obligations could impact on the fairness of proceedings with resulting inconvenience for citizens and for the Government of Ontario, investigation by the Ombudsman, the French Language Services Commissioner or recourse to the courts. Moreover, confidence in the proceedings within the Francophone community could be undermined.

Provision of French Language Services

Each of the Ministry’s three adjudicative tribunal clusters has developed its own French language services policy to help facilitate their compliance with the provisions of the French Language Services Act and to help support the provision of quality services in French which meet the needs of the Francophone communities in Ontario.

Each of the cluster’s French language services policy should be consulted for more specific details on the provision of services in French within them.

Back to:

Lignes directrices à l’intention des tribunaux administratifs

Généralités

Qu’est-ce qu’un tribunal décisionnel?

Un tribunal décisionnel est un organisme autonome et indépendant du gouvernement provincial dont la responsabilité consiste à régler les différends entre la province de l’Ontario et ses citoyens.

Le ministère du Procureur général (MPG) exerce une compétence sur 19 tribunaux décisionnels, conseils et commissions qui sont répartis entre trois regroupements :

Les tribunaux décisionnels fonctionnent en tant que solutions de rechange aux tribunaux judiciaires, mais ils exercent une fonction similaire dans la prise de décisions concernant les droits et privilèges. Les processus des tribunaux décisionnels sont moins coûteux, plus simples, plus rapides et moins formels que ceux des tribunaux judiciaires.

Les tribunaux décisionnels du MPG sont indépendants dans leur prise de décisions et sont responsables envers le gouvernement et assujettis à toutes les directives et politiques du Conseil de gestion du gouvernement, incluant la prestation des services en français.

Obligations

En vertu de quelle loi les tribunaux décisionnels ont-ils l’obligation d’offrir des services en français (SEF)?

Le paragraphe 5 (1) de la Loi sur les services en français établit que : « Chacun a droit à l’emploi du français, conformément à la présente loi, pour communiquer avec le siège ou l’administration centrale d’un organisme gouvernemental […] et pour en recevoir les services».

L’alinéa 1 b) indique que le terme « organisme gouvernemental » signifie « un conseil, une commission ou une personne morale dont la majorité des membres ou des administrateurs sont nommés par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil ».

Par conséquent, les tribunaux décisionnels, qui sont considérés des organismes gouvernementaux, doivent offrir des services en français en vertu de la Loi sur les services en français.

Quels sont les services que les tribunaux décisionnels sont tenus d’offrir en français?

La Loi sur les services en français exige que les tribunaux décisionnels offrent des services en français au grand public. Cette responsabilité comprend aussi bien les services fournis au public par le tribunal décisionnel que les documents et communications (p. ex. téléphone, formulaires, correspondance, brochures, sites Web, etc.

L'affichage, la documentation, l'information et les conseils devraient toujours être disponibles en français. Le public devrait également être informé que les services en français sont disponibles par le biais de l'offre active de services.

Ces services devraient être :

  • invariablement offerts à la première occasion
  • clairement visibles et disponibles
  • facilement accessibles et annoncés
  • d’une qualité équivalente à celle des services offerts en anglais

Les tribunaux décisionnels doivent veiller à ce que des services en français soient disponible de façon proactive, permanente et fiable, que les services soient fournis par le personnel du tribunal ou en son nom par un fournisseur de services du secteur privé.

Les régions désignées s’appliquent-elles aux tribunaux décisionnels?

Comme c’est le cas des services offerts par le gouvernement de l'Ontario, les tribunaux décisionnels sont tenus de fournir leurs services en français conformément à la Loi sur les services en français. Toutefois, la Loi stipule aussi que « chacun a droit à l’emploi du français, conformément à la présente loi, pour communiquer avec le siège ou l’administration centrale d’un organisme gouvernemental […] et pour en recevoir les services ».

Étant donné que dans la plupart des cas, les services d’un tribunal décisionnels sont offerts dans un endroit seulement, cela signifie que les SEF doivent être fournis même si le tribunal n’est pas situé dans une région désignée et qu’il dessert celle-ci.

Les parties ont-elles le droit d’être entendues en français?

Les parties peuvent choisir d’être entendues soit en anglais ou en français.

Les parties et les agents officiels ont-ils le droit de parler le français et d’être compris en français?

Dans une instance, les exigences linguistiques sont satisfaites lorsque tous les agents officiels et les parties peuvent se comprendre et être compris en français ou en anglais.

Qui paie les frais encourus pour satisfaire les exigences linguistiques?

En l’absence d’exigences prescrites par la loi ou autres, les frais encourus pour satisfaire les besoins linguistiques doivent être payés par les organismes, les conseils et les commissions et ne peuvent pas être transférés aux parties.

Pourquoi est-ce important de veiller à ce que les obligations des tribunaux décisionnels en vertu de la Loi sur les services en français soient remplies?

En plus de l’importance de fournir un accès égal aux services du tribunal en français, le principe selon lequel le respect des obligations du tribunal en vertu de la Loi sur les services en français est l’une des composantes qui doit se refléter dans les procédures d’une audience équitable.

Si un tribunal décisionnel n’offre pas de SEF, quelles peuvent être les conséquences?

Le fait de ne pas satisfaire aux obligations légales peut avoir des répercussions sur l’équité des instances, ce qui peut occasionner des inconvénients pour les citoyens et pour le gouvernement de l'Ontario, des enquêtes de l’ombudsman, des plaintes auprès du commissaire aux services en français ou des recours devant les tribunaux. En outre, la confiance de la communauté francophone envers les instances peut être ébranlée.

Prestation de services en français

Chacun des trois regroupements de tribunaux décisionnel du Ministère a élaboré sa propre politique sur les services en français afin de faciliter leur conformité à la Loi sur les services en français et d'appuyer la prestation de services en français de qualité qui répondent aux besoins des communautés francophones de l'Ontario.

Chacune des politiques de services en français du regroupement devrait être consultée pour plus de détails sur la prestation de services en français au sein de chaque regroupement.

Voir aussi