The Office of the Children's Lawyer

Text size: larger | smaller

Please note: the page will print without the top and left navigation bars and in black and white only.

The Office of the Children's Lawyer represents children under the age of 18 in court cases involving custody and access and child protection, as well as in civil, and estates and trusts cases.

The Office of the Children's Lawyer employs both lawyers and clinicians (social workers), who work on a fee-for-service basis across the province. Clinicians prepare reports for the court and help lawyers who are representing children.

Custody and access

Court cases involving child custody and access usually involve a child's parents, but they can also include other family members. Sometimes the court needs independent information about the child's needs, wishes and interests and asks the Children's Lawyer to help. The Children's Lawyer determines what services, if any, will be provided, and can assign:

  • a lawyer to represent the child
  • a clinician to write a report for the court
  • lawyer and a clinical investigator to represent the child and a clinician.

Child protection

If a children's aid society believes a child needs protection because of neglect or abuse, or believes that a child is at risk of suffering harm, it can start a court application called a protection application.

A children's aid society may remove a child from his or her family, either temporarily or permanently. A children's aid society can also ask the court to allow it to supervise a child's care while the child is left with his or her parents, or other members of the child's family or community.

Once a court case has started, the court may direct the Office of the Children's Lawyer to assign a lawyer to represent the child. In child protection cases, the Office must assign a lawyer if requested by the court.

For more information, visit Children's Lawyer Involvement in Child Protection

Civil cases

Children can't sue or be sued in their own name in civil cases. If there is no adult willing and able to present the child's claim, the court can require the Office of the Children's Lawyer to act as a litigation guardian (someone who makes decisions for a child in court proceedings).

The Children's Lawyer also reviews proposed settlements of civil cases in which children are involved, but only if it is asked to do so by a judge.

For more information, see frequently asked questions about the role of the Children’s Lawyer in civil matters.

Estate/Trust cases

The Children's Lawyer represents child beneficiaries in some estate and trust cases.

For more information, see frequently asked questions about the role of the Children’s Lawyer in estate matters.

More Resources

Forms

Bureau de l'avocate des enfants

Le Bureau de l'avocate des enfants représente des enfants de moins de 18 ans dans des affaires judiciaires qui portent sur les droits de garde et de visite et la protection de l'enfance, ainsi que dans des affaires civiles et des affaires de successions et fiducie.

Le Bureau de l'avocate des enfants emploie des avocats et des enquêteurs cliniques (travailleurs sociaux), qui travaillent selon une formule de rémunération à l'acte dans toute la province. Les enquêteurs cliniques préparent des rapports pour le tribunal et secondent les avocats qui représentent des enfants.

Droits de garde d'enfants et de visite

Les affaires judiciaires mettant en jeu le droit de garde et le droit de visite ont généralement pour parties les parents de l'enfant en question, mais d'autres membres de la famille peuvent également être parties. Parfois, le tribunal a besoin de renseignements indépendants au sujet des besoins, des désirs et des intérêts de l'enfant. Il fait alors appel aux services de l'avocat des enfants. L'avocat des enfants détermine quels services, le cas échéant, il devra fournir et peut assigner :

  • un avocat pour représenter l'enfant;
  • un enquêteur clinique pour rédiger un rapport à l'attention du tribunal;
  • un avocat et un enquêteur clinique pour représenter l'enfant.

Protection de l'enfance

Si une société d'aide à l'enfance estime qu'un enfant a besoin de protection, parce qu'il souffre de négligence ou de mauvais traitements, ou qu'il risque de subir un préjudice, elle peut demander au tribunal, par voie de requête, d'établir si l'enfant a besoin de protection.

Une société d'aide à l'enfance peut retirer un enfant de sa famille, à titre temporaire ou permanent. Une société d'aide à l'enfance peut également demander au tribunal de lui permettre de surveiller les soins fournis à l'enfant si ce dernier est laissé chez ses parents ou d'autres membres de sa famille ou dans la collectivité.

Une fois qu'une instance judiciaire est entamée, le tribunal peut ordonner au Bureau de l'avocate des enfants d'assigner un avocat pour représenter l'enfant. Dans les affaires de protection de l'enfance, le Bureau doit assigner un avocat si le tribunal en fait la demande.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez la section consacrée à l'intervention de l'avocate des enfants dans des affaires de protection de l'enfance.

Affaires civiles

Les enfants ne peuvent pas intenter une action en justice ni être nommés comme défendeurs dans une action en justice, en leur propre nom, dans des causes civiles. S'il n'y a pas d'adulte diposé et capable de présenter la réclamation de l'enfant, le tribunal peut exiger que le Bureau de l'avocate des enfants agisse en qualité de tuteur à l'instance (personne qui prend des décisions pour un enfant dans une instance judiciaire).

L'avocate des enfants peut aussi examiner des propositions de règlement amiable d'affaires civiles qui mettent en jeu des enfants, mais uniquement sur demande d'un juge. Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez la section consacrée aux affaires concernant les droits réels des enfants.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, voir la foire aux questions au sujet du rôle de l'avocat des enfants dans des affaires civiles.

Affaires de succession et de fiducie

L'avocate des enfants représente des enfants bénéficiaires dans certaines affaires de succession et de fiducie.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, voir la foire aux questions au sujet du rôle de l'avocat des enfants dans des affaires de succession.

Plus de ressources

Formulaires