The Criminal Appeal Process in Ontario

Information for Victims of Crime

For a list of common legal terms, please click here.

Table of Contents

The offender in my case is appealing the conviction and the sentence. What does that mean?

In Canada, anyone found guilty of breaking the law may ask a higher court to review what happened at the trial. This is called an appeal. An offender may file an appeal against the conviction and/or the sentence. The Crown may also appeal against an acquittal or a sentence but, generally speaking, the Crown's right to appeal is much more restricted than that of the offender.

In which court will the appeal be heard?

The court will be different depending on the type of crime. Cases that usually have less serious penalties are called "summary conviction offences." These cases are appealed to the Superior Court of Justice, and are heard before a judge of that court in the community where the trial was conducted.

Cases that usually have more serious maximum penalties, such as murder, are called "indictable offences", and are appealed to the Court of Appeal for Ontario, which usually sits at Osgoode Hall, 130 Queen St. West, Toronto.

What happens when there is an appeal against a conviction?

The appeal court will look to see if the trial was conducted properly. This means that the court will consider, for example, whether the trial was fair or whether there were any significant errors made during the trial. The appeal court may also look at what happened during the trial to see that there is sufficient evidence to support the conviction.

Can the Crown appeal an acquittal or a sentence?

The Crown may appeal an acquittal, but the Crown's right to appeal is not as broad as the accused's right to appeal and is very limited. The Crown must show there was a significant error of law. An example of an error of law may occur when important evidence is wrongly excluded at the trial. The Crown may also appeal the sentence but such appeals are also very limited because appeal courts will not usually interfere with the trial judge's decision on sentencing.

What happens when there is an appeal against the sentence?

When asked to review the sentence, the appeal court will consider whether or not the sentence is fair. The appeal court will look at the nature of the crime, the impact of the crime on the victim, the background of the offender and the sentences imposed in similar cases.

What is a hearing?

After the transcripts of the trial are available and an appeal book and factum are prepared, the court of appeal will set a date to hear the appeal. The appeal court will listen to oral arguments of the appellant and the respondent. This is called a hearing.

What kind of decisions can be made by an appeal court?

  1. Dismissal
    If the appeal court finds that the trial was properly conducted, and the evidence supports the conviction, the court may dismiss the appeal.If the appeal court finds that an error was not significant, the appeal court may dismiss the appeal even though there was an error.The appeal court may dismiss an appeal against a sentence if the court is satisfied that the sentence fits the crime.
  2. New trial ordered
    The appeal court may set aside the conviction and order a new trial if it finds that the trial was not fairly or properly conducted.The appeal court may set aside the acquittal and order a new trial where there is a significant error of law.
  3. Substitute a verdict of guilt
    In a small number of cases, the appeal court may overturn an acquittal, find the offender guilty of an offence and then sentence the offender. This power to substitute a verdict of guilt is only available when the offender has been tried by a judge sitting without a jury. Where a jury has acquitted the accused, the appeal court's powers are limited to ordering a new trial.
  4. Acquittal
    If the evidence does not support the conviction, the appeal court may find the offender not guilty of the charge.
  5. Vary the sentence
    The appeal court may change the sentence and either increase or lower the sentence, or remove or add penalties (such as a fine or probation).

When will the appeal be heard?

The length of time varies with each case. The appeal court must have the trial transcripts, and a record of what happened at the trial including the appeal book. The appellant and the respondent must also file written arguments on the evidence and the law. In rare cases there may also be a need for further police investigation if new evidence is brought forward.

May I attend the hearing?

Anyone can attend appeal hearings, including victims of crime and their families. Victims may wish to bring a friend or family member to court for emotional support.

Does the offender attend the hearing?

In the case of a solicitor appeal, an offender who is in custody does not usually attend the appeal. In the case of inmate appeals, the offender usually attends and argues his/her own appeal.

Will the offender remain in custody before the appeal is heard?

A jail sentence continues even if an offender brings an appeal against the conviction and/or the sentence. However, the offender may ask to be released from custody until the appeal is heard. If they are released on bail, they will be subject to conditions of the court that may include, for example, having no contact with the victim. The offender may be required to return to jail the day before the hearing of the appeal.

A hearing is held when an application is brought by an offender to be released prior to the appeal. If the offender is released, and the case involved serious personal injury or trauma, you will be notified either through the office of Crown Attorney who tried the case, the police force, or both.

Does the appeal court hear evidence?

The role of the appeal court is not to hear the trial again. Witnesses are generally not called in an appeal hearing and you are not required to testify. However, in some limited cases, the appeal court may consider new evidence if it is very significant.

Will my privacy be protected during the appeal process?

If the trial judge made an order for a publication ban, the order will generally continue throughout the appeal process as well.

Whom do I contact to find out what is happening during the appeal process?

The Crown Attorney, the police, or the Victim/ Witness Assistance Program will do their best to keep you informed of the status of the appeal.

In the case of a summary conviction appeal, the local Crown Attorney's Office that handled the trial may also handle the appeal. For information regarding summary conviction appeals, please contact the local Crown Attorney's Office that conducted the trial.

For information on indictable appeals, please contact:
Victim Witness Assistance Program
Ministry of the Attorney General
720 Bay St. - 10 th Floor
Toronto M7A 2S9 - (416) 325-1668

ADDITIONAL SERVICES FOR VICTIMS

The following services can provide more information about the appeal process, the criminal justice system, and other available community services for victims of crime.

Victim/Witness Assistance Program

Program staff provide emotional support and information to victims and witnesses of violent crime throughout the criminal court process. To find out how this service is available to you, contact the Victim/Witness Assistance Program in Toronto at (416) 325-3265.

If you are calling from outside Toronto, you may call the toll free Victim Support Line at 1-888-579-2888 to find the closest Victim/Witness Assistance Program in your area.

Victim Support Line
1-(888)- 579-2888
or in the GTA call (416) 314-2447

The Victim Support line provides information on:

  • where you can find the help you need in your community
  • how the criminal justice system works
  • how to be automatically notified when an offender is scheduled for release (for offenders serving less than two years in custody)

National Parole Board 1-800-518-8817

The National Parole Board can provide information about the release date for offenders who are serving custodial sentences that are two years or more.

Key Terms

Acquittal
When the judge or jury decides that the offender is not guilty.
Appeal
The review by a higher court of what happened at a trial in the lower court. The appeal court may review the conviction, acquittal or sentence given at a trial.
Appeal Books
A book that contains copies of important papers and documents, including exhibits such as photos, which were presented at a trial.
Appellant
The person who starts an appeal.
Conviction
A finding by a judge or a jury that the defendant is guilty of a crime.
Crown Attorney/Crown Counsel
The lawyer who represents the community and introduces the evidence at trial against the defendant. The Crown also acts for the community at the appeal stage.
Defendant
A person who is charged with a criminal offence.
Evidence
Information given to prove that the accused is guilty or not guilty. Evidence can be something someone says, or it can be something physical; for example, injuries, documents, photographs, or clothing.
Factum
The written argument in an appeal.
Inmate Appeal
An appeal filed when the offender is in custody, and is not represented by a lawyer.
Offender
A person who has been found guilty of a criminal offence.
Publication ban
An order of the court that prohibits publication or broadcast of the identity of a complainant or a witness.
Respondent
The person who responds to an appeal.
Sentence
The punishment the judge gives to a person found guilty of a crime.
Solicitor appeal
An appeal where the offender is represented by a lawyer.
Transcript
A printed record of what is said by everyone during a trial.
Verdict
The decision of the judge or jury whether or not the defendant is guilty.

Renseignements pour les victimes d’actes criminels

Pour une liste de termes juridiques courants, cliquez ici.

Table des matières

Le contrevenant dans mon cas interjette appel de sa condamnation et de sa sentence. Qu’est-ce que cela signifie?

Au Canada, quiconque est déclaré coupable d’une infraction à la loi peut demander à un tribunal d’instance supérieure d’examiner ce qui s’est passé au procès. C’est ce qu’on appelle interjeter appel. Le contrevenant peut interjeter appel d’une condamnation ou de la sentence ou des deux. La Couronne peut aussi interjeter appel de la condamnation ou de la sentence ou des deux, mais en général le droit d’appel de la Couronne est beaucoup plus limité que celui du contrevenant.

Dans quel tribunal l’appel sera-t-il entendu?

Le tribunal dépendra du type d’acte criminel perpétré. Les infractions punissables de peines moins graves sont appelées des « 'infractions punissables sur déclaration sommaire de culpabilité ». Dans ces cas, c’est la Cour supérieure de justice qui est saisie de l’appel. L’appel est entendu par un juge de cette Cour, dans la ville où le procès a eu lieu.

Les infractions punissables de peines maximales plus élevées, comme le meurtre, sont appelées des « infractions punissables par mise en accusation ». L’appel qui se rapporte à ce genre d’infractions est interjeté devant la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario, qui siège habituellement à Osgoode Hall, au 130, rue Queen Ouest, à Toronto.

Que se passe-t-il en cas d’appel contre une condamnation?

La cour d’appel examine si le procès s’est déroulé convenablement. Cela signifie que la cour vérifiera, par exemple, si le procès était équitable ou si des erreurs graves ont été commises pendant le procès. La cour d’appel peut aussi examiner le déroulement du procès pour voir si des preuves suffisantes ont été produites pour étayer la condamnation.

La Couronne peut-elle interjeter appel d’une décision d’acquittement ou de la sentence?

La Couronne peut interjeter appel d’un acquittement, mais son droit d’appel est très limité. Il n’est pas aussi vaste que celui de l’accusé. La Couronne doit prouver qu’une grave erreur de droit a été commise. Par exemple : des preuves importantes ont été écartées à tort au procès. La Couronne peut interjeter appel de la sentence, mais ce genre d’appel est aussi très limité, car les cours d’appel n’interviennent généralement pas dans la décision du juge de première instance sur la peine.

Que se passe-t-il en cas d’appel visant la sentence?

Pour examiner la sentence, la cour d’appel doit se demander si la peine est juste ou non. Elle étudiera la nature de l’acte criminel, les répercussions de l’acte criminel sur la victime, les circonstances du contrevenant et les peines imposées dans des cas semblables.

Qu’est-ce qu’une audience?

Après la préparation des transcriptions du procès, du cahier d’appel et du mémoire, la cour d’appel fixe une date d’audition de l’appel. La cour d’appel écoutera les plaidoiries orales de l’appelant et de l’intimé. C’est ce qu’on appelle l’audience.

Quel genre de décision peut prendre une cour d’appel?

  1. Rejeter l’appel  
    Si la cour d’appel conclut que le procès a été convenablement conduit et que les éléments de preuve étayent la condamnation, elle peut rejeter l’appel. Si la cour d’appel conclut qu’une erreur a été commise mais qu’elle n’était pas grave, elle peut rejeter l’appel malgré le fait qu’elle a jugé qu’une erreur avait été commise. La cour d’appel peut rejeter un appel contre une sentence si elle est convaincue que la peine est proportionnelle à l’acte criminel.
  2. Ordonner la tenue d’un nouveau procès
    La cour d’appel peut annuler la condamnation et ordonner la tenue d’un nouveau procès si elle estime que le procès n’a pas été conduit d’une façon appropriée ou équitable. La cour d’appel peut annuler l’acquittement et ordonner la tenue d’un nouveau procès si elle est d’avis qu’une erreur de droit grave a été commise.
  3. Substituer un verdict de culpabilité
    Dans un nombre limité de cas, la cour d’appel peut renverser un acquittement, déclarer le contrevenant coupable d’une infraction et lui imposer une peine. La cour d’appel ne dispose de ce pouvoir de substitution d’un verdict de culpabilité que si le contrevenant a été jugé par un juge siégeant sans jury. Si un jury a acquitté l’accusé, la cour d’appel ne peut qu’ordonner la tenue d’un nouveau procès.
  4. Acquitter le contrevenant
    Si les éléments de preuve n’étayent pas la condamnation, la cour d’appel peut conclure que le contrevenant n’est pas coupable des accusations portées contre lui.
  5. Modifier la sentence
    La cour d’appel peut modifier la sentence et augmenter ou réduire la peine, ou supprimer ou ajouter des peines (comme une amende ou une période de probation).

Quand l’appel sera-t-il entendu?

Le délai jusqu’à l’audience varie d’un cas à l’autre. La cour d’appel doit avoir reçu les transcriptions du procès, un dossier sur ce qui s’est passé au procès et le cahier d’appel avant de tenir l’audience. L’appelant et l’intimé doivent également déposer des arguments écrits sur les preuves et la loi. Dans des cas rares, une enquête policière plus approfondie est nécessaire si des preuves nouvelles ont été produites.

Puis-je assister à l’audience?

N’importe qui peut assister aux audiences sur des appels, y compris des victimes d’actes criminels et leurs familles. Les victimes ont la possibilité de se faire accompagner par un ami ou un proche à l’audience comme soutien moral.

Le contrevenant assiste-t-il à l’audience?

Si l’appel est interjeté par un avocat, un contrevenant qui est en détention n’assiste généralement pas à l’audience sur l’appel. Si l’appel est interjeté par un détenu, il assiste généralement à l’audience pour plaider sa cause.

Le contrevenant demeurera-t-il en détention jusqu’à l’audition de l’appel?

La peine d’emprisonnement est maintenue même si le contrevenant interjette appel de sa condamnation ou de sa sentence ou des deux. Toutefois, le contrevenant peut demander d’être remis en liberté jusqu’à l’audition de l’appel. S’il est remis en liberté sous caution, il devra respecter des conditions imposées par le tribunal, comme l’interdiction de toute communication avec la victime. Le juge peut exiger du contrevenant qu’il retourne en prison la veille de l’audience sur l’appel.

Une audience a lieu si le contrevenant demande d’être remis en liberté jusqu’à l’audition de l’appel. Si le contrevenant est remis en liberté et que l’acte criminel qu’il a commis a causé des lésions corporelles graves ou un traumatisme à la victime, celle-ci en sera informée par le Bureau du procureur de la Couronne qui a instruit le cas ou le corps de police qui est intervenu ou les deux.

La cour d’appel entend-elle des preuves?

Le rôle de la cour d’appel n’est pas de refaire le procès. En général, des témoins ne sont pas appelés à une audience sur un appel. Cependant, dans certains cas limités, la cour d’appel peut tenir compte de nouvelles preuves si elles sont très importantes.

Ma vie privée sera-t-elle protégée pendant le processus d’appel?

Si le juge du procès a rendu une ordonnance d’interdiction de publication, cette ordonnance demeurera en vigueur pendant le processus d’appel.

Qui dois-je contacter pour savoir où en est le processus d’appel?

Le procureur de la Couronne, la police ou le Programme d'aide aux victimes et aux témoins feront tout leur possible pour tenir la victime informée de l’avancement de l’appel.

En cas d’appel en matière de poursuites sommaires, le Bureau du procureur de la Couronne local qui a traité le procès pourrait aussi s’occuper de l’appel. Pour des renseignements sur des appels en matière de poursuites sommaires, il est recommandé de contacter le Bureau du procureur de la Couronne local qui a traité le dossier au procès.

Pour des renseignements sur des appels en matière d’actes criminels punissables par mise en accusation, contacter le :
Programme d'aide aux victimes et aux témoins
Ministère du Procureur général
720, rue Bay, 10e étage
Toronto M7A 2S9 - 416 325-1668

SERVICES ADDITIONNELS POUR LES VICTIMES

Les services et programmes suivants peuvent fournir des renseignements sur le processus d’appel, le système de justice criminelle et d’autres services communautaires ouverts aux victimes d’actes criminels.

Programme d'aide aux victimes et aux témoins

Le personnel du programme fournit un soutien émotionnel et des renseignements aux victimes et témoins d’actes criminels violents pendant les procédures pénales. Pour savoir comment avoir accès aux services, contacter le Programme d'aide aux victimes et aux témoins à Toronto, au 416 325-3265.

Pour des appels hors de Toronto, composer la Ligne d’aide aux victimes, gratuitement au 1 888 579-2888, pour savoir où se trouve le bureau du Programme d'aide aux victimes et aux témoins le plus proche.

Ligne d’aide aux victimes
1 888 579-2888
Dans la région du grand Toronto : 416 314-2447

La Ligne d’aide aux victimes fournit des renseignements sur :

  • les services locaux destinés aux victimes;
  • le fonctionnement du système de justice pénale;
  • les avis communiqués automatiquement à la victime en cas de remise en liberté du contrevenant (pour les contrevenants qui purgent une peine d’emprisonnement de moins de deux ans).

Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada : 1 800 518-8817

La Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada communique la date de mise en liberté des contrevenants qui purgent une peine d’emprisonnement de deux ans ou plus.

Glossaire

Acquittement
Décision prise par le juge ou le jury déclarant que le contrevenant n’est pas coupable.
Appel
Examen par un tribunal d’instance supérieure de ce qui s’est passé au procès devant un tribunal de première instance. La cour d’appel peut examiner la condamnation, l’acquittement ou la sentence au niveau du procès.
Cahier d’appel
Recueil contenant des copies de documents importants, dont des pièces (p. ex., des photos), qui ont été produits au procès.
Appelant
Personne qui interjette un appel.
Condamnation
Constatation d’un juge ou d’un jury selon laquelle le défendeur est coupable d’avoir commis un acte criminel.
Procureur/avocat de la Couronne
Avocat qui représente la société et présente les preuves au procès contre le défendeur. Le procureur ou l’avocat de la Couronne représente aussi la société à l’étape de l’appel.
Défendeur
Personne accusée d’une infraction criminelle.
Preuve
Renseignements présentés qui prouvent que l’accusé est coupable ou non coupable. La preuve peut être des propos de quelqu’un ou quelque chose de matériel, comme des blessures, des documents, des photographies ou des vêtements.
Mémoire
Plaidoiries écrites dans un appel.
Appel d’un détenu
Appel interjeté par un contrevenant en détention qui n’est pas représenté par un avocat.
Contrevenant (ou délinquant)
Personne déclarée coupable d’une infraction criminelle.
Interdiction de publication
Ordonnance du tribunal qui interdit la publication ou la diffusion de l’identité d’un plaignant ou d’un témoin.
Intimé
Personne qui répond à un appel.
Sentence
Décision du juge qui énonce la peine imposée à une personne reconnue coupable d’une infraction criminelle.
Appel d’un avocat
Appel interjeté par l’avocat d’un contrevenant.
Transcription
Dossier imprimé de tout ce qui a été dit pendant le procès.
Verdict
Décision du juge ou du jury déclarant que le défendeur est coupable ou non.