Accessibility for People with Disabilities

Text: Larger | Smaller

Our Commitment

The Ministry of the Attorney General is committed to equal access to justice for all Ontarians. We are working to ensure that people with disabilities can use and benefit from our services and programs equally and free from discrimination in keeping with the following principles:

  • Respect for the dignity and independence of people with disabilities
  • Equal opportunity for people with disabilities to access, use, and benefit from our services or programs
  • Integration of people with disabilities with others, unless alternative ways of providing our service or program are necessary for equal opportunity.

We comply with all Ontario Public Service accessibility policies and are continuously improving accessibility for people with disabilities in our services, programs, information and communications, websites and facilities. Please see our Annual Accessibility Plans to find out about our plans for improving accessibility.

Select a link below to find out more about accessible services for people with disabilities.

Accessible Services Provided by the Ministry of the Attorney General

Ministry staff understand the importance of accessibility for people with disabilities in all our services. Please tell us what you need. We will work with you to determine the type of disability-related assistance or accommodation that can be provided.

If you're going to a courthouse, you may speak with any staff member or contact the courthouse Accessibility Coordinator. Contact information for courthouses and Accessibility Coordinators can be found on the ministry's website in the Court Address Section.

Please provide us with as much advance notice as possible. It may not be possible to provide an accommodation or support unless we receive enough advance notice. If it is not possible to provide your preferred disability-related accommodation, we will work with you to explore different options. In some cases, we will request information about your disability so that we can understand your needs.

The types of accommodation or support that we can provide will depend on your disability, the purpose of your visit to a ministry office or courthouse, and the availability of different types of equipment and services. Here are some examples:

  • Assistive listening devices
  • Real-time captioning or Communication-Access Real Time (CART)
  • Visual language interpretation such as American Sign Language (ASL) or langue des signes québécoise (LSQ). See below for more information about ASL and LSQ interpretation
  • Communication support for people who have difficulty speaking and use alternate ways of communicating
  • Scheduling of meetings or proceedings in rooms that can accommodate your disability
  • Scheduling of meetings or proceedings at times that allow you to deal with your disability or medical-related needs
  • Providing some services by phone or by email in order to meet a disability-related need
  • Accessible or alternative formats of documents, such as electronic formats, large print, audio, and braille. See below for more information about alternative formats

These are examples only and may not be suitable in all cases. Other requests will also be considered if they are needed for disability-related reasons to access and use a ministry service or to participate in a court proceeding. Staff will work with you to determine the most appropriate accommodation.

Please note that judicial officials have authority over court proceedings and what happens in a court room. If you need disability-related accommodation for a court proceeding or to participate in jury duty, a judicial official will usually be informed about your request for accommodation and may need to approve it. The courthouse Accessibility Coordinator can provide information about how to make a request to a judicial official.

Accessibility and Jury Duty

If you have received a Jury Summons and need disability-related help to participate in jury duty, please contact the court office indicated in the upper left corner of your Summons as soon as possible. TTY users who are Deaf or have hearing or speech disabilities may call: 1-877-425-0575 or 416-326-4012.

Every effort will be made to provide necessary accommodations to participate in the jury selection process and to serve on a jury. Adequate time is needed to make arrangements for some types of disability-related accommodations. Refer to Accessible Services Provided by the Ministry of the Attorney General for a list of examples. Please note that the presiding judge will decide whether your request for accommodation will be granted.

More information about jury duty

Sign Language Interpretation

American Sign Language (ASL) and langue des signes québécoise (LSQ) interpreters are available for people who are Deaf for ministry services and all types of court proceedings (civil, small claims, family and criminal).

Please provide as much advance notice as possible and ask for an interpreter as soon as you know you may need one. Adequate time is needed to book the interpreter for the date and time required.

For court proceedings, ASL or LSQ interpreters can be requested by calling the courthouse or through the Accessibility Coordinator. A judge can also order an ASL or LSQ interpreter.

For other ministry services, you may make your request to any staff member or the Accessibility Coordinator.

Contact information for courthouses and Accessibility Coordinators can be found on the ministry's website in the Court Address Section.

Please note TTY users may use Bell Relay Services to contact a courthouse, Accessibility Coordinators or other ministry offices.

More information about requesting sign language interpreters

Accessible and Alternative Formats of Documents

Over time, the ministry is improving the accessibility of ministry documents for people with disabilities. Please contact us if you need ministry documents or forms in a format that is accessible to you.

The length of time that it takes to prepare the accessible alternative format will vary depending on the length of the document.

We will not charge you an additional fee for the alternative format. If there is normally a fee for a document or to submit a document, then you will be charged the same fee as would be charged to everyone else.

Personal Assistive Devices or Technology, Service Animals, and Support Persons

You may use your own personal assistive devices or assistive technology.

Service animals are welcome in all parts of our premises that are open to the public.

You may also use your disability-related support person. The support person may be asked to sign a confidentiality agreement and the role of the support person may need to be agreed to in advance of the meeting or court proceeding.

Please note, for court proceedings, a judicial official may need to approve the use of some types of assistive devices and technologies, and the role of a support person. The courthouse Accessibility Coordinator can provide information about how to make a request to a judicial official.

Legal Advice

Ministry staff and the courthouse Accessibility Coordinator cannot provide legal advice including advice on legal procedures to any member of the public or any party (including people with disabilities) in a legal proceeding.

If you need legal advice or legal procedural advice, you may speak with a lawyer. The ministry's website provides information about finding a lawyer or a community legal clinic.

Municipal Provincial Offences Act Courthouses

Most Provincial Offences Act (POA) matters are dealt with in courthouses that are operated by municipalities, not in provincial courthouses operated by the Ministry of the Attorney General. For example, municipal POA matters are fines and tickets for speeding, traffic, noise or trespassing issues.

If you want to know about accessibility or disability-related accommodations for a POA courthouse, please contact the court office that is shown on your ticket, summons, or other court document you received.

The types of accommodation that can be provided will depend on your disability, the purpose of your visit to the courthouse, and the availability of different types of equipment and services.

Please visit the municipal Provincial Offences Court contact page for more information about finding a municipal court location near you.

You may also find contact information for courts in the blue pages of your local telephone book under "municipal Provincial Offences Court" or "Court".

Contact us if you need help to find the information you are looking for.

Accessibility of the Ministry's Website

We work to ensure our website is accessible to the widest possible audience, including people with disabilities. We comply with OPS accessibility policies and standards and the World Wide Web Consortium Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0, at Level AA according to the schedule set out in section 14 of the AODA Integrated Accessibility Standards Regulation.

If any information on our website is not accessible to you, you may contact us to request an accessible or alternative format.

Accessible Buildings

The Ministry of the Attorney General owns, operates and leases a number of buildings, spaces and courthouses across the province. Accessibility features vary and are improved as we update our facilities or build new ones. Some areas of a building or courthouse may not be accessible, but our staff will do their best to assist you.

Refer to information above about how to make a request for disability-related assistance and accommodation.

Feedback and Complaints

The Ministry of the Attorney General is committed to continuously improving the accessibility of our services and programs. We welcome feedback and suggestions for improvement.

Feedback can be provided in any of the following ways:

What Do I Include in Feedback?

Please mark correspondence or e-mail with the heading "accessibility feedback".

If your feedback is about a specific incident, please provide as much information as you feel comfortable giving, for example:

  • The date that the incident occurred
  • What happened
  • What made the experience a good experience
  • What went wrong and your suggestions for improvement

You don't have to provide your name if you don't want to. However, providing your name and contact information is required if you would like a response to your feedback.

How Does the Ministry Deal with Complaints?

Ministry staff or a manager will work directly with you to resolve a complaint. If your complaint is about a disability-related accommodation that you require to access and use ministry services, it will be addressed as soon as possible.

When we receive complaints we will try to resolve the complaint directly with you. If it cannot be resolved immediately, it will be acknowledged within two business days, and will be recorded and forwarded for action as soon as possible.

All comments, feedback or complaints received in writing by e-mail, fax, or mail will be answered or acknowledged within 15 business days. If it is not possible to resolve the complaint during that time, the acknowledgement will outline what steps are being taken and whether there will be any further response from the ministry.

Collection of Information

All government ministries are required by the Accessibility Standards for Customer Service (Ontario Regulation 429/07) to have a process in place to receive feedback on the accessibility of services in order to assess their quality. If you provide personal information when providing feedback or making a complaint, the ministry will only use this information to acknowledge and respond to the submission.

Contact us if you have questions about the use of personal information.

Annual Accessibility Plans

Since 2003 the Ministry of the Attorney General has developed annual accessibility plans as required under the Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2001. You can review these plans to find out how the ministry is improving accessibility over time.

Who Can I Contact?

Telephone: 416–326–2220 or 1–800–518–7901
TTY: 416–326–4012 or 1-877-425-0575
Fax: 416–326–4007
E-mail: attorneygeneral@ontario.ca

Mailing address:
Ministry of the Attorney General
McMurtry-Scott Building
720 Bay Street, 11th Floor
Toronto, ON
M7A 2S9

L'accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées

Taille du Texte : plus grand | plus petit

Notre engagement

Le ministère du Procureur général est déterminé à assurer un accès égal à la justice à l'ensemble de la population de l'Ontario. Nous nous efforçons de fournir des services et des programmes que les personnes handicapées peuvent utiliser et dont elles peuvent bénéficier de façon égale et sans discrimination, et ce, conformément aux principes suivants :

  • Respect de la dignité et de l'autonomie des personnes handicapées.
  • Égalité des chances pour les personnes handicapées d'accéder à nos services ou programmes, de les utiliser et d'en bénéficier.
  • Intégration des personnes handicapées au reste de la clientèle, à moins que d'autres moyens de fournir notre service ou programme ne soient nécessaires pour assurer l'égalité des chances.

Nous respectons toutes les politiques d'accessibilité de la fonction publique de l'Ontario et nous améliorons continuellement l'accessibilité de nos services et programmes, de l'information que nous offrons, de nos communications ainsi que de nos sites Web et installations. Veuillez consulter nos plans d'accessibilité annuels pour en apprendre plus long sur nos plans pour améliorer l'accessibilité.

Cliquez sur l'un des liens ci-dessous pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les services accessibles aux personnes handicapées.

Services accessibles offerts par le ministère du Procureur général

Le personnel du ministère comprend qu'il est important que tous nos services soient accessibles pour les personnes handicapées. N'hésitez pas à nous informer de ce dont vous avez besoin. Nous travaillerons avec vous pour déterminer quel type d'aide ou d'adaptation peut être fourni.

Si vous devez visiter un palais de justice, vous pouvez parler avec tout membre du personnel ou communiquer avec le coordonnateur de l'information sur l'accessibilité du palais de justice. Vous trouverez les coordonnées des coordonnateurs de l'information sur l'accessibilité sur la page liste des adresses des tribunaux du site Web du ministère.

Veuillez nous aviser de vos besoins dès que possible, sinon il pourrait nous être impossible de fournir l'adaptation ou le soutien nécessaire. Si nous ne pouvons fournir l'adaptation privilégiée, nous explorerons d'autres options avec vous. Dans certains cas, nous vous demanderons des renseignements sur votre handicap afin de bien comprendre vos besoins.

Les mesures d'adaptation ou de soutien que nous pourrons offrir dépendront de la nature de votre handicap, de l'objet de votre visite à l'un des bureaux du ministère ou au palais de justice ainsi que de la disponibilité des divers équipements et services. Voici quelques exemples :

  • Appareils de sonorisation assistée
  • Sous-titrage en temps réel ou transcription CART (Communication-Access Real Time)
  • Interprétation visuelle en American Sign Language (ASL) ou en langue des signes québécoise (LSQ), entre autres. Voir ci-dessous pour plus de renseignements sur l'interprétation en ASL ou en LSQ.
  • Soutien en matière de communication pour les personnes qui ont de la difficulté à parler et utilisent d'autres méthodes pour communiquer.
  • Tenir les réunions ou les instances dans des salles qui peuvent accommoder votre handicap.
  • Tenir les réunions ou les instances à des moments qui tiennent compte de vos besoins médicaux ou des besoins associés à votre handicap.
  • Fournir certains services au téléphone ou par courriel afin de s'adapter aux besoins rattachés à un handicap.
  • Fournir des documents accessibles dans d'autres formats, notamment sous forme électronique ou audio, ou en gros caractères ou en braille. Voir ci-dessous pour plus de renseignements sur les autres formats.

Ce ne sont que des exemples qui ne seront pas nécessairement appropriés dans tous les cas. Toute autre demande d'adaptation en raison d'un handicap sera examinée si elle vise l'accès aux services du ministère ou leur utilisation, ou la participation à une instance judiciaire. Le personnel travaillera avec vous pour déterminer la mesure d'adaptation la plus appropriée.

Veuillez remarquer que les fonctionnaires judiciaires sont responsables des instances judiciaires et de ce qui se déroule dans une salle d'audience. Si vous nécessitez une adaptation en raison d'un handicap pour participer à une instance judiciaire ou assumer la fonction de juré, en général, un fonctionnaire judiciaire sera informé de votre demande et pourra devoir l'approuver. Le coordonnateur de l'information sur l'accessibilité peut vous fournir des renseignements sur la façon de présenter une demande à un fonctionnaire judiciaire.

L'accessibilité et la fonction de juré

Si vous avez reçu une assignation de juré et avez besoin d'aide en raison d'un handicap pour assumer la fonction de juré, veuillez communiquer dès que possible avec le greffe du tribunal indiqué sur le coin gauche supérieur de votre assignation. Les utilisateurs d'un ATS qui sont sourds ou ont un trouble de l'audition ou de la parole peuvent téléphoner au : 1 877 425-0575 ou au 416 326-4012.

Nous déploierons tous les efforts possibles pour mettre en place les mesures d'adaptation nécessaires afin que vous puissiez participer au processus de sélection des jurés et assumer la fonction de juré. Un certain temps est nécessaire afin de prendre les arrangements requis pour certaines mesures d'adaptation relatives à un handicap. Nous vous invitons à consulter la section Services accessibles offerts par le ministère du Procureur général pour une liste d'exemples. Veuillez remarquer que le juge qui préside le procès déterminera si votre demande d'adaptation sera acceptée.

Plus de renseignements sur la fonction de juré

L'interprétation gestuelle

Des interprètes en American Sign Language (ASL) et en langue des signes québécoise (LSQ) sont disponibles afin que les personnes sourdes puissent accéder aux services du ministère et participer à tous les types d'instances judiciaires (instances civiles, instances devant la cour des petites créances, instances en droit de la famille et instances criminelles).

Veuillez nous informer de vos besoins dès que possible et demander la présence d'un interprète dès que vous savez que vous pourriez en avoir besoin. Il faut prévoir un préavis adéquat afin de nous permettre de réserver l'interprète pour la date et l'heure requises.

En ce qui concerne les instances judiciaires, vous pouvez téléphoner au palais de justice pour demander un interprète en ASL ou en LSQ ou en faire la demande auprès du coordonnateur de l'information sur l'accessibilité. Le juge peut également demander un interprète en ASL ou en LSQ.

Pour les autres services du ministère, vous pouvez présenter votre demande à tout membre du personnel ou au coordonnateur de l'information sur l'accessibilité.

Vous trouverez les coordonnées des coordonnateurs de l'information sur l'accessibilité sur la page liste des adresses des tribunaux du site Web du ministère.

Veuillez remarquer que les utilisateurs d'un ATS peuvent utiliser le service de Relais-Bell pour communiquer avec un palais de justice, les coordonnateurs de l'information sur l'accessibilité et les autres bureaux du ministère.

Plus de renseignements sur les demandes pour interprète gestuel

Les documents accessibles et les autres formats

Au fil du temps, le ministère améliore l'accessibilité de ses documents pour les personnes handicapées. Veuillez communiquer avec nous si vous avez besoin de certains documents ou formulaires du ministère dans un format adapté à vos besoins.

Le temps nécessaire pour préparer une version accessible d'un document ou d'un formulaire dépendra de la longueur du document.

Il n'y a aucuns frais supplémentaires pour obtenir une version accessible ou dans un autre format. S'il y a normalement des frais pour obtenir un document ou soumettre un document en particulier, vous devrez payer les mêmes frais que toute autre personne.

Appareils ou accessoires fonctionnels, technologie et animaux d'assistance et personnes de soutien

Vous pouvez utiliser vos propres appareils ou accessoires fonctionnels et toute technologie d'assistance requise.

Les animaux d'assistance sont bienvenus dans toutes les parties de nos locaux qui sont ouvertes au public.

Vous pouvez également vous faire accompagner de votre personne de soutien. Il pourra lui être demandé de signer une entente de confidentialité. Il se peut aussi que son rôle doive faire l'objet d'un accord préalable à la réunion.

Veuillez remarquer que, pour les instances judiciaires, il est possible qu'un fonctionnaire judiciaire doive approuver l'utilisation de certains types d'appareils ou accessoires fonctionnels et de certaines technologies d'assistance ainsi que le rôle de la personne de soutien. Le coordonnateur de l'information sur l'accessibilité peut vous fournir des renseignements sur la présentation d'une demande à un fonctionnaire judiciaire.

Conseils juridiques

Le personnel du ministère et le coordonnateur de l'information sur l'accessibilité ne peuvent fournir aucun conseil juridique. Cela comprend la fourniture de conseils au sujet d'une instance judiciaire à tout membre du public ou à toute partie (y compris une personne handicapée) à une poursuite judiciaire.

Si vous avez besoin de conseils juridiques ou procéduraux, nous vous invitons à parler avec un avocat. Le site Web du ministère fournit des renseignements pour vous aider à trouver un avocat ou une clinique juridique communautaire.

Tribunaux municipaux qui jugent les infractions à la Loi sur les infractions provinciales

La plupart des affaires qui relèvent de la Loi sur les infractions provinciales (LIP) sont traitées dans des palais de justice administrés par les municipalités, et non dans les palais de justice provinciaux administrés par le ministère du Procureur général. Les affaires municipales qui relèvent de la LIP sont, par exemple, des amendes et contraventions pour excès de vitesse, des infractions aux règles de la circulation ainsi que des affaires de nuisance et d'intrusion.

Si vous désirez obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'accessibilité ou les mesures d'adaptation pour handicap dans un palais de justice qui traite les affaires relevant de la LIP, veuillez communiquer avec le greffe du tribunal indiqué sur votre contravention, votre assignation ou tout autre document judiciaire que vous avez reçu.

Les mesures d'adaptation pouvant être offertes dépendront de la nature de votre handicap, de l'objet de votre visite au palais de justice ainsi que de la disponibilité des divers équipements et services.

Veuillez visiter la page des coordonnées des tribunaux municipaux entendant des infractions à la Loi sur les infractions provinciales pour trouver un tribunal municipal près de vous.

Vous trouverez également les coordonnées des tribunaux dans les pages bleues de votre bottin téléphonique local, sous « Tribunaux municipaux entendant des infractions à la Loi sur les infractions provinciales » ou « Tribunaux ».

Veuillez communiquer avec nous si vous avez besoin d'aide pour trouver ce que vous cherchez.

Accessibilité du site Web du ministère

Nous tentons de nous assurer que notre site Web soit accessible au plus vaste public possible, ce qui comprend les personnes handicapées. Nous respectons les politiques et les normes de la fonction publique de l'Ontario (FPO) en matière d'accessibilité ainsi que les Règles pour l'accessibilité des contenus Web (WCAG) 2.0, niveau AA, du Consortium World Wide Web selon l'échéancier prévu à l'article 14 du Règlement sur les normes d'accessibilité intégrées de la Loi sur l'accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l'Ontario (LAPHO).

Si vous ne pouvez accéder à certains renseignements sur notre site Web, vous pouvez communiquer avec nous pour demander un format accessible ou d'autres formats.

Bâtiments accessibles

Le ministère du Procureur général est propriétaire, gérant ou locataire d'un certain nombre de bâtiments, de locaux et de palais de justice, partout dans la province. Les caractéristiques d'accessibilité de ces installations varient d'un endroit à l'autre et sont améliorées au fur et à mesure que nous modernisons nos installations et en construisons de nouvelles. Certaines parties d'un bâtiment ou d'un palais de justice pourraient ne pas être accessibles, mais notre personnel fera de son mieux pour vous aider.

Consultez la section Services offerts par le ministère du Procureur général pour apprendre comment obtenir de l'aide et des mesures d'adaptation pour handicap.

Commentaires et plaintes

Le ministère du Procureur général est déterminé à continuellement améliorer l'accessibilité à ses services et programmes. Nous vous encourageons à nous faire part de vos commentaires et de vos suggestions d'amélioration.

Vous pouvez communiquer vos commentaires et suggestions par l'un des moyens suivants :

  • En personne, par téléphone ou par la poste, à l'endroit où vous avez reçu le service : Liste des adresses des tribunaux.
  • En utilisant le formulaire de commentaires des clients disponible dans les palais de justice.
  • En utilisant notre formulaire électronique.
  • Par téléphone, au moyen d'un ATS ou en écrivant au ministère du Procureur général. Voir les coordonnées indiquées à la fin du document.

Que dois-je inclure dans mes commentaires?

Veuillez inscrire « rétroaction sur l'accessibilité » en objet de votre courriel ou de votre lettre.

Si vos commentaires portent sur un incident en particulier, veuillez donner autant de détails que vous le pouvez, sans que cela vous mette mal à l'aise, par exemple :

  • La date à laquelle l'incident s'est produit.
  • Ce qui s'est passé.
  • En quoi cette expérience a-t-elle été positive.
  • Que s'est-il mal passé et vos suggestions d'amélioration.

Rien ne vous oblige à donner votre nom. Toutefois, si vous souhaitez recevoir une réponse, vous devrez nous fournir votre nom et vos coordonnées pour que nous puissions communiquer avec vous.

Comment le ministère traite-t-il les plaintes?

Un membre du personnel ou un cadre du ministère s'efforcera de résoudre la plainte directement avec vous. Si votre plainte porte sur une adaptation pour handicap pour vous permettre d'accéder à certains services du ministère et de les utiliser, nous prendrons les mesures nécessaires dès que possible.

Lorsque nous recevrons votre plainte, nous essayerons de résoudre le problème directement avec vous. S'il n'est pas possible de le résoudre immédiatement, nous accuserons réception de votre plainte dans les deux jours ouvrables qui suivent, nous en prendrons note et prendrons les mesures nécessaires dans les meilleurs délais possibles.

Toutes les plaintes écrites et tous les commentaires transmis par courriel, par télécopieur ou par la poste, feront l'objet d'une réponse ou d'un accusé de réception dans un délai de 15 jours ouvrables. S'il n'est pas possible de résoudre les questions soulevées dans ce délai, l'accusé de réception expliquera les mesures qui sont prises et précisera si le ministère entend envoyer une autre réponse de suivi.

Recueil de renseignements personnels

En vertu des Normes d'accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle (Règlement de l'Ontario 429/07), chaque ministère de la province est tenu d'avoir établi un processus de rétroaction pour recevoir les commentaires des intéressés au sujet de l'accessibilité de ses services afin d'en évaluer la qualité. Si vous incluez des renseignements personnels lorsque vous présentez des commentaires ou une plainte, le ministère n'utilisera ces renseignements que pour accuser réception de vos commentaires ou plaintes et y répondre.

Veuillez communiquer avec nous si vous avez des questions au sujet de l'utilisation des renseignements personnels.

Plans d'accessibilité annuels

Depuis 2003, le ministère du Procureur général élabore un plan d'accessibilité chaque année, comme l'exige la Loi de 2001 sur les personnes handicapées de l'Ontario. Vous pouvez examiner ces plans pour constater les améliorations apportées au fil des ans.

À qui puis-je m'adresser?

Téléphone : 416 326-2220 ou 1 800 518-7901
ATS : 416 326-4012 ou 1 877 425-0575
Télécopieur : 416 326-4007
Courriel : attorneygeneral@ontario.ca

Adresse postale :
Ministère du Procureur général
Édifice McMurtry-Scott
720, rue Bay, 11e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M7A 2S9