Program Information

Whether you want to specialize in a unique area of the law or have the opportunity to explore multiple practice areas, the Ministry of the Attorney General (MAG) Articling, Summer Law and Aboriginal Law Summer Student Programs will give you an opportunity to engage in meaningful work that serves the interests of the public.

As an articling, summer law or Aboriginal law summer student with MAG, you will be exposed to the workings of government and the process of law reform. You will have access to mentoring and professional support, and opportunities to liaise with multiple practice areas and professionals as you refine your skills and interests.

Our articling, summer law and Aboriginal law summer student programs offer various opportunities to work with experienced counsel on a range of legal matters, in addition to the opportunity to work independently on files assigned to you.

The MAG Articling, Summer Law and Aboriginal Law Summer Student Programs will help prepare you for a successful legal career in your chosen area of practice.

Summer Law Program

Summer law students, employed from May until August, are an integral part of an expert legal team. As a summer law student with the Ministry of the Attorney General, you will have the opportunity to develop practical legal skills and to make a significant contribution to the projects you work on.

Whether you find yourself doing legal research, drafting pleadings or facta, assisting in the preparation of court cases, or assisting with the development of new legislation, you will have the opportunity to learn from some of the country's best legal minds, be challenged, and make a difference.

Your summer placement will provide you with a window into future employment possibilities as a Ministry of the Attorney General articling student and as counsel. Your experience will help you in your journey to become a successful and contributing member of the legal community.

Compensation

  • Basic salary
    • First year: $16.40 per hour ($594.50 per week)
    • Second year: $18.40 per hour ($667.00 per week)
  • Bargaining unit
    • Ontario Public Service Employees Union (OPSEU)

Hireback

Successful summer law students are encouraged to apply for articling positions within the Ministry of the Attorney General. Although the ministry does not offer "guaranteed" articles for summer students, many of our students successfully obtain articles with the office in which they worked, or elsewhere within the ministry.

Eligibility

The Summer Law Student Program is open to first and second year students enrolled in a law school.

Aboriginal Law Summer Program

The Ministry of the Attorney General’s Aboriginal Law Summer Program provides first and second year law students who are knowledgeable and experienced with Aboriginal communities and who have a demonstrated interest in Aboriginal law with an opportunity to work on Aboriginal law and policy issues.

What do students do?

Depending on which office you are assigned to, you will work on an array of Aboriginal legal issues, including:

  • Aboriginal title claims
  • Aboriginal rights claims
  • Treaty claims
  • Consultation issues
  • Self-government assertions
  • Crown obligations under section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982
  • Aboriginal policy development and implementation
  • Managing relationships between the Province, the federal government, and Aboriginal peoples.

How is this program different from the Regular Summer Law Program?

The Aboriginal Law Summer Program and regular Summer Law Program are similar in that students in both programs are involved in doing legal research, drafting pleadings or facta, assisting in the preparation of court cases, or assisting with the development of new legislation. That being said, students participating in the Aboriginal Law Summer Program have the unique opportunity to work on Aboriginal law and policy related issues. Students work closely with their placement offices in supporting the government in developments in the areas of litigation, negotiation and policy initiatives.

Students participate in the government’s efforts to foster new relationships with Aboriginal peoples and to work with their offices in the implementation of the government’s mandate within the Strategic Course of Action. Students will also have the opportunity to collaborate with individuals in other offices to broaden their experiences, while meeting a network of lawyers working on Aboriginal legal issues.

Aboriginal Law Summer Program students receive the same compensation as students within the regular Summer Law Program and are included in the MAG-wide educational opportunities.

In what offices have students been placed in the past?

Aboriginal Law Summer Program students have previously been assigned to the following offices within the Ministry of the Attorney General:

  • Crown Attorney Offices
  • Crown Law Office – Civil
  • Crown Law Office – Criminal
  • Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs
  • Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
  • Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure
  • Ministry of Northern Development, Mines and Forestry
  • Ministry of the Environment
  • Ontario Victim Services Secretariat
  • Policy Division

For more information on each office, please see the office profiles in the Practice Areas section of this website.

How should students apply?

The application deadline for the Aboriginal Law Summer Program opportunities is generally in late January or early February. Aboriginal Law Summer Program positions will be posted on this website, under the Join Us section. In addition, the job posting will be sent to the Law Society of Upper Canada, the Indigenous Bar Association, and Canadian Law Schools. Interested students are asked to review the job posting to confirm the specific application requirements and to submit applications accordingly.

Questions?

If you have general questions about the program, please contact Richard Ogden, Counsel at Crown Law Office-Civil at 416-326-4930 or Christine Perruzza, Counsel at Crown Law Office-Civil at 416-326-4144 or Alexandria Winterburn, Counsel at Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs at 416-212-2274.

Articling Program

Articling students are directly involved in important and prolific work in the public interest. It is excellent training for a career in law and the variety and quality of our work is truly unparalleled!

Articling students are employed for a 10-month period, as determined by the Law Society of Upper Canada. As an articling student with the Ministry of the Attorney General, you may have an opportunity to take an active role in court and to litigate at all levels. You will experience challenging, hands-on, meaningful work on high profile, cutting edge files.

Compensation*

  • Basic salary
    • $1,167.00 per week ($60,684 per annum)
  • Benefits
    • 4% of pay in lieu of health and insurance benefits
  • Vacation & statutory holidays
    • 10 paid vacation days
    • Paid-for statutory holidays within the articling period
  • Attendance credits (short-term sickness)
    • 1.25 credits earned each month the employee is at work
  • Educational stipend
    • $4,500 ($3,000 paid on commencement of the articling period and $1,500 paid in January of articling term)
  • Bar admission processing fee
    • $410 (paid on commencement of the articling period)
  • Bargaining agent
    • Association of Law Officers of the Crown (ALOC)

*A select number of students are excluded from the bargaining group on the basis of their employment in a confidential capacity in matters relating to labour relations. As such, the benefits, vacation and attendance credits for these students are slightly different than listed above.

Hireback

  • Following their articles, all students will be placed in the Ministry of the Attorney General Hireback Pool for a period of two years following their call to the bar date. As a member of the Hireback Pool, students will have a significant competitive advantage over applicants outside the government when applying to entry-level counsel positions.
  • Many students who article with the Ministry of the Attorney General find employment as lawyers either at the office in which they articled or elsewhere in the ministry.

Eligibility

  • To be eligible for the Articling Program, candidates must have either completed law school at the start of the articling period or have received a certificate of qualification from the National Committee of Accreditation. In all cases, candiadates must be registered with the Law Society's Licensing Process in order to be eligible to receive credit.

Articling & Summer Law Student Committee

The Ministry of the Attorney General (MAG) has an active Articling & Summer Law Student Committee made up of lawyers from various legal branches and human resources officials. The committee is involved in the recruitment efforts at all the Ontario law schools as well as McGill and Dalhousie Universities. The Committee also conducts educational training and oversees the student hire-back policy. The Committee is involved in efforts to make each student’s experience working in the public interest a meaningful one.

Educational Opportunities

The Articling & Summer Law Student Committee organizes an orientation for new articling students and hosts a series of half-day educational seminars covering a variety of topics and skills relevant to articling and practicing law within the Ontario government. More specifically, these seminars cover such topics as trial advocacy, current issues in constitutional, criminal, environmental, health, labour and family law. In addition, members of the judiciary, the Law Society of Upper Canada, and senior members of MAG speak at the various educational programs conducted by the committee. While attending these seminars students also have an opportunity to meet and socialize with their student colleagues from across the Ontario Public Service (OPS).

Summer Law students are also provided with the opportunity to attend a half-day educational seminar.

In addition to the programs run by the committee, articling and summer law students have an opportunity to participate in seminars, workshops and social activities organized by their office.

Students are also encouraged to attend educational programs conducted by outside organizations, such as the Ontario Bar Association and the Law Society of Upper Canada.

Law Library and Resources

The Ministry of the Attorney General Law Library provides law students with legal research services and supporting information. The library has an extensive print collection including ministry publications, statutes and law reports from Canada, the United States and the United Kingdom. There is also a wide selection of secondary sources in the form of government documents, textbooks, loose-leaf services, and law journals.

Students also have access to:

  • A number of online databases
  • Reference services
  • Library tours
  • Legal research seminars
  • Inter-library loans/University of Toronto pick-up and return service
  • A reader/printer for both microfilm and microfiche
  • Computers with access to Quicklaw, HeinOnline and WestlaweCARSWELL.

Aperçu du programme

Que vous désiriez vous spécialiser dans un seul domaine du droit, ou explorer de nombreux domaines de pratique, le Programme de stages en droit, le Programme d'emplois d'été en droit et le Programme d'emplois d'été en droit des Autochtones du ministère du Procureur général vous permettront d'exercer un travail valorisant au service de l’intérêt public.

À titre de stagiaire, ou d'étudiant au Programme d’emplois d'été en droit ou au Programme d’emplois d’été en droit des Autochtones du ministère, vous vous familiariserez avec les rouages du gouvernement et avec le processus de réforme du droit. Vous aurez accès à un programme de mentorat et de soutien professionnel, et tout en améliorant vos compétences et précisant vos intérêts, vous aurez l’occasion de communiquer avec de nombreux professionnels dans divers champs de pratiques.

Nos programmes de stages en droit, d'emplois d'été en droit et d'emplois d'été en droit des Autochtones offrent diverses possibilités de collaboration avec des avocats d'expérience dans un éventail d'affaires juridiques, en plus de vous donner l’occasion de travailler de façon autonome aux dossiers qui vous sont confiés.

Les programmes de stages en droit, d'emplois d'été en droit et d'emplois d'été en droit des Autochtones faciliteront votre cheminement vers une carrière juridique couronnée de succès dans le domaine de pratique de votre choix.

Programme d'emplois d'été en droit

Les étudiants en droit, que l’on embauche du mois de mai au mois d'août dans le cadre des emplois d’été, constituent partie intégrante d’une équipe d’experts juristes. Comme étudiant en droit, votre emploi d'été au ministère du Procureur général vous offrira la possibilité d'acquérir des compétences juridiques concrètes et d'apporter une contribution tangible aux projets auxquels vous travaillerez.

Que vous procédiez à des recherches juridiques, à la rédaction de procédures ou de mémoires, à la préparation d'instances, ou que vous participiez à l'élaboration d'une nouvelle loi, vous aurez l'occasion d'apprendre auprès de certains des meilleurs experts juristes au Canada, de relever des défis et de faire une différence.

Votre emploi d'été vous ouvrira des perspectives d'emploi comme stagiaire en droit au ministère du Procureur général et plus tard en tant qu'avocat. Votre expérience favorisera votre cheminement en vue d'une carrière réussie dans laquelle vous serez un membre actif de la collectivité juridique.

Rémunération

  • Salaire de base
    • Première année : 16,40 $ l'heure (594,50 $ par semaine)
    • Deuxième année : 18,40 $ l'heure (667,00 $ par semaine)
  • Agent de négociation
    • Syndicat des employées et employés de la fonction publique de l'Ontario (SEFPO)

Réembauche

Nous encourageons les étudiants en droit dont le passage au programme d'été a été fructueux à soumettre leur candidature aux postes de stagiaires au sein du ministère du Procureur général. Bien que le ministère n’offre pas de stages « garantis » aux étudiants du programme d’été, bon nombre de nos étudiants réussissent à décrocher un poste de stagiaire, au bureau où ils ont travaillé ou ailleurs au ministère.

Admissibilité

Le programme d’été est ouvert aux étudiants en droit ayant terminé leur première ou leur deuxième année et qui sont inscrits à une faculté de droit.

Programme d’emplois d’été en droit des Autochtones

Le Programme d’emplois d’été en droit des Autochtones du ministère du Procureur général donne aux étudiants de première et de deuxième année de droit qui possèdent une bonne connaissance des communautés autochtones et une expérience auprès de celles-ci et qui témoignent d’un intérêt marqué pour le droit des Autochtones l’occasion de travailler à des dossiers portant sur le droit et les politiques autochtones.

Que font les étudiants?

Selon le bureau auquel ils sont affectés, les étudiants travaillent à une vaste gamme de questions de droit se rapportant aux Autochtones, dont :

  • Réclamations relatives aux titres ancestraux
  • Réclamations relatives aux droits des Autochtones
  • Réclamations relatives aux traités des peuples autochtones
  • Questions de consultation
  • Revendications d’autonomie gouvernementale
  • Obligations de la Couronne en vertu de l’article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982
  • Élaboration et mise en œuvre de politiques en matière d’affaires autochtones
  • Gestion des relations du gouvernement provincial avec le gouvernement fédéral et les peuples autochtones

En quoi ce programme diffère-t-il du Programme d’emplois d’été en droit?

Le Programme d’emplois d’été en droit des Autochtones et le Programme d’emplois d’été en droit ont des points communs. En effet, les étudiants des deux programmes participent aux recherches juridiques, à la rédaction d’actes de procédure ou de mémoires, et contribuent à la préparation des dossiers judiciaires ou à la création de nouvelles lois. Cela dit, les étudiants qui participent au Programme d’emplois d’été en droit des Autochtones ont l’occasion exceptionnelle de traiter essentiellement des questions touchant le droit et les politiques autochtones. Ils travailleront en étroite collaboration avec les bureaux auxquels ils sont affectés afin d’aider le gouvernement dans différents dossiers en matière de contentieux, de négociation et de politiques.

Les étudiants seront appelés à prendre part aux efforts du gouvernement en vue de promouvoir de nouvelles relations avec les peuples autochtones et participeront au sein de leur bureau à la réalisation du mandat du gouvernement dans le cadre du plan d'action stratégique. Ils auront aussi l’occasion de collaborer avec le personnel d’autres bureaux, élargissant ainsi leur expérience, et d’établir des relations avec un réseau d’avocats qui se consacrent aux questions de droit se rapportant aux Autochtones.

Les étudiants du Programme d’emplois d’été en droit des Autochtones touchent la même rémunération que ceux du Programme d’emplois d’été en droit et peuvent bénéficier de toutes les possibilités de formation qu’offre le ministère du Procureur général.

Dans quels bureaux ont travaillé les étudiants par le passé?

Les étudiants qui ont participé au Programme d’emplois d’été en droit des Autochtones ont été affectés par le passé aux bureaux suivants du ministère du Procureur général :

  • Bureaux des procureurs de la Couronne
  • Bureau des avocats de la Couronne - Droit civil
  • Bureau des avocats de la Couronne - Droit criminel
  • Ministère des Affaires autochtones
  • Ministère de l'Énergie et de l'Infrastructure
  • Ministère du Développement du Nord et des Mines
  • Ministère de l'Environnement
  • Secrétariat ontarien des services aux victimes
  • Division des politiques

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ces différents bureaux, veuillez consulter leur profil sous la rubrique Champs de pratique du présent site Web.

Présentation des demandes

La date limite pour soumettre une demande dans le cadre du Programme d’emplois d’été en droit des Autochtones est généralement à la fin de janvier ou au début de février. Les postes offerts dans le cadre du Programme d’emplois d’été en droit des Autochtones seront affichés sous la rubrique Joignez-vous à nous de ce site Web. De plus, les avis de postes à pourvoir seront aussi transmis au Barreau du Haut-Canada, à l’ Association du Barreau Autochtone ainsi qu’aux facultés de droit des universités canadiennes. Les étudiants intéressés sont priés de lire attentivement l’offre d’emploi concernée pour en connaître les exigences particulières et de soumettre leur demande après en avoir pris connaissance.

Des questions?

Si vous avez des questions de nature générale à propos du programme, veuillez communiquer avec Richard Ogden, avocate, Bureau des avocats de la Couronne – Droit civil, au 416-326-4930, ou avec Christine Perruzza, avocate, Bureau des avocats de la Couronne – Droit civil, au 416-326-4144, ou avec Alexandria Winterburn, avocate, ministère des Affaires autochtones, au 416-212-2274.

Programme de stages en droit

Les stagiaires participent directement à des travaux importants et prolifiques dans l'intérêt public. Il s’agit là d’une excellente formation à une carrière juridique, et la variété et la qualité de notre travail sont absolument inégalables.

Les stagiaires sont engagés pour une période de 10 mois, comme le prescrit le Barreau du Haut-Canada. En tant que stagiaire au ministère du Procureur général, vous pourriez avoir la possibilité de jouer un rôle actif  devant les tribunaux et de participer activement à des litiges à tous les paliers du système judiciaire. Vous vivrez l'expérience de travaux pratiques importants et passionnants, dans des dossiers médiatisés et pointus.

Rémunération*

  • Salaire de base
    • 1 167.00 $ par semaine (60 684 $ par année)
  • Avantages sociaux
    • 4 % du salaire au lieu des régimes de soins médicaux et d’assurances
  • Vacances et congés fériés
    • 10 jours de vacances payés
    • Les jours de congé fériés tombant pendant la période de stage sont rémunérés
  • Crédits assiduité (maladie de courte durée)
    • Crédit de 1,25 jour pour chaque mois de travail de l'employé
  • Allocation pédagogique
    • 4 500 $ (dont 3 000 $ verses au commencement du stage et 1 500 $ au mois de janvier dans la periode de stage)
  • Frais liés à la procédure d’admission au Barreau
    • 410 $ (verses au commencement du stage)
  • Agent de négociations
    • Association des avocats de la Couronne

*Un nombre restreint d'étudiants est exclu du groupe de négociations, compte tenu des fonctions confidentielles attachées à leur poste et qui concernent les relations de travail. À ce titre, les avantages sociaux, vacances et crédits d'assiduité de ces étudiants sont légèrement différents de ceux énumérés ci-dessus.

Réembauche

  • Suite à leur stage, tous les étudiants seront inscrits au bassin de recrutement du ministère du Procureur général pour une période de deux ans suivant la date de leur nomination au Barreau. À titre de membres du bassin de recrutement, s'ils postulent un emploi de premier échelon, les étudiants jouiront d'un important avantage concurrentiel sur les autres candidats externes au gouvernement..
  • Bon nombre d’étudiants qui font leur stage au ministère du Procureur général se trouvent un emploi comme avocats au bureau où ils ont suivi leur stage, ou ailleurs au ministère.

Admissibilité

  • Pour être admissibles au programme de stage en droit, les candidats doivent, au début de leur période de stage, soit avoir terminé leurs études de droit, soit être inscrits au Comité national sur les équivalences des diplômes de droit.

Comité des stages et des emplois d'été en droit pour les étudiants

Le ministère du Procureur général (MPG) s’est doté d’un comité très actif responsable des étudiants et des stages en droit composé d’avocats de divers domaines juridiques et d’officiels des ressources humaines. Le comité participe aux efforts de recrutement dans toutes les facultés de droit de l’Ontario de même qu’à l’université McGill et à l’université Dalhousie. Le comité offre également des programmes de formation et chapeaute la politique de réembauchage des étudiants. Le comité prend part aux efforts visant à s’assurer que l’expérience de tous les étudiants travaillant dans les intérêts du public soit enrichissante.

Possibilités en matière d'éducation

Le Comité des stages et des emplois d'été en droit pour les étudiants assure l’orientation des nouveaux stagiaires et tient une série de séminaires éducatifs d’une demi-journée portant sur une variété de sujets et d’habiletés pertinents dans le cadre d’un stage et d’une pratique du droit au sein du gouvernement de l’Ontario. Plus précisément, ces séminaires portent sur des sujets comme les techniques de plaidoirie et les enjeux actuels en matière de droit constitutionnel, de droit criminel et environnemental ainsi que de droit de la santé, du travail et de la famille. De plus, des membres de la magistrature et du Barreau du Haut-Canada et des dirigeants du MPG prennent la parole lors des divers programmes dirigés par le comité. Durant ces séminaires, les étudiants ont aussi la possibilité de rencontrer des étudiants de toute la fonction publique de l'Ontario (FPO) et de mieux les connaître.

Les étudiants occupant des emplois d’été en droit ont aussi l’occasion d’assister à un séminaire éducatif d’une demi-journée.

En plus des programmes offerts par le comité, les étudiants et les stagiaires en droit ont la possibilité durant l’été de participer à des séminaires, à des ateliers et à des activités sociales organisés par leur bureau.

Les étudiants sont également invités à assister à des programmes éducatifs offerts par des organisations externes, comme l’Association du Barreau de l’Ontario et le Barreau du Haut-Canada.

Bibliothèque de droit et ressources

La bibliothèque de droit du ministère fournit aux étudiants en droit des services de recherche juridique et les documents à l’appui. La bibliothèque dispose d’une riche collection de documents imprimés, dont des publications du ministère et des recueils de lois et de jurisprudence du Canada, des États-Unis et du Royaume-Uni. On y trouve également une vaste gamme de sources secondaires émanant du gouvernement, sous forme de documents, manuels, services de mises à jour sur feuillets mobiles et revues juridiques.

 Les étudiants ont également accès aux outils et services suivants :

  • plusieurs bases de données en ligne
  • des services de référence
  • des visites guidées de la bibliothèque
  • des séminaires de recherche juridique
  • des prêts entre bibliothèques/un service de cueillette depuis et vers   l'université de Toronto
  • un appareil lecteur reproducteur pour les microfilms et les microfiches
  • des ordinateurs avec accès à Quicklaw, HeinOnline et WestlaweCARSWELL dans la Bibliothèque.